Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£10.49

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2010
The film is not to everyone's taste: profanity, violence, vulgarity (and that's all from a ten year-old girl). But the strange mix of the sincere and the subversive that make this film are evident in this score. It is a collaborative effort from a range of excellent composers - John Murphy (28 Days Later), Henry Jackman (Pirates of the Caribbean, The Da Vinci Code), Danny Elfman (any Tim Burton film), Marius Vries (Rufus Wainwright's producer) - yet the eclectic composition does not greatly hinder the effectiveness of the album as a film score - in fact the combination of genre in the film necessitates this. From the bathos of the rousing first track (The Armenian Superhero) it is easy to identify the irony that accompanies much of this music. This is emphasised all the more with the surprise appearance of The Battle Hymn of the Republic (A Punch In The Chest).

The main motif (Flying Home/True Identity et al.) is exactly what one expects from a superhero film - uplifting, blaring brass and sweeping strings. It tries to quell the dichotomy of the film, the struggle between superhero movie and parody, in its authenticity and largely succeeds.

A few tracks are reworkings of already popular film scores; so, for example, 'Strobe' is 'Adagio in D Minor' from the film Sunshine and 'Big Daddy Kills' is 'In the House - In A Heartbeat' from 28 Days Later. But they work perfectly.

The score is not, perhaps, the best as a standalone album, partly due to the collaborative and, therefore, slightly scatty nature of the music, but many of the tracks are enjoyable to listen to without the visuals and, accompanying the film, the tone is pitched perfectly to produce an enjoyable balance between the sublime and the ridiculous.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2011
i just love slapping on the last track "Flying Home", closing my eyes and imagine i'm flying across new york city. :-)
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2014
Loved the first film (second was okay but not as tight!) but who cannot remember the soaring horns of the main them. They are here aplenty in this score, along with the two other themes, in many different variations. This is rarely out of my ears!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2010
An awesome score from a great group of composers. Although unfortunately the credits are completely messed up in the data i.e. they've got the composers mixed up on a lot of tracks. Google it or check John Murphy's facebook page for the correct information.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
When ever I watch a film I always listen to the music in the background, I loved Kick Ass The Score..it really revs you up , I listen to it as I write my book, it sets the tone for what im doing. The music picks you up and takes you places..love it//my only gripe is I wish it was available on a cd..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
Several composers writing to the same style makes this a great collection. You can basically follow the film through while listening to the album. Only criticism is that the tunes that stick in your head from the film are shorter than you realise, but that's my problem rather than anything wrong with the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2012
This has to be the best soundtrack ever - even after six months it's still amazing. Roof Jump and Flying Home are superb but then so is all the rest. Fime was great because of the score.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
All the best pure music soundtracks are within this album and it is well worth the buy if you love/like any of the music in Kick-Ass!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
It's kick ass man instrumental flying home is Arwsome listen to that song over and over again the other album has the words but I prefer just the sounds . A good system is required
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2013
Great soundtrack! Bought it after watching the film, as far as I can tell all the songs are there apart from the Mika credits song
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.79
£0.79

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)