Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super score for a super film, 25 Jun 2010
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
The film is not to everyone's taste: profanity, violence, vulgarity (and that's all from a ten year-old girl). But the strange mix of the sincere and the subversive that make this film are evident in this score. It is a collaborative effort from a range of excellent composers - John Murphy (28 Days Later), Henry Jackman (Pirates of the Caribbean, The Da Vinci Code), Danny Elfman (any Tim Burton film), Marius Vries (Rufus Wainwright's producer) - yet the eclectic composition does not greatly hinder the effectiveness of the album as a film score - in fact the combination of genre in the film necessitates this. From the bathos of the rousing first track (The Armenian Superhero) it is easy to identify the irony that accompanies much of this music. This is emphasised all the more with the surprise appearance of The Battle Hymn of the Republic (A Punch In The Chest).

The main motif (Flying Home/True Identity et al.) is exactly what one expects from a superhero film - uplifting, blaring brass and sweeping strings. It tries to quell the dichotomy of the film, the struggle between superhero movie and parody, in its authenticity and largely succeeds.

A few tracks are reworkings of already popular film scores; so, for example, 'Strobe' is 'Adagio in D Minor' from the film Sunshine and 'Big Daddy Kills' is 'In the House - In A Heartbeat' from 28 Days Later. But they work perfectly.

The score is not, perhaps, the best as a standalone album, partly due to the collaborative and, therefore, slightly scatty nature of the music, but many of the tracks are enjoyable to listen to without the visuals and, accompanying the film, the tone is pitched perfectly to produce an enjoyable balance between the sublime and the ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 25 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
i just love slapping on the last track "Flying Home", closing my eyes and imagine i'm flying across new york city. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - One of the best scores in years, 22 Jun 2010
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
An awesome score from a great group of composers. Although unfortunately the credits are completely messed up in the data i.e. they've got the composers mixed up on a lot of tracks. Google it or check John Murphy's facebook page for the correct information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection of Kick-Ass music within the film!, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
All the best pure music soundtracks are within this album and it is well worth the buy if you love/like any of the music in Kick-Ass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frickin' Awesome, 24 Nov 2012
By 
T. T. Andrews "T Andrews" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
This has to be the best soundtrack ever - even after six months it's still amazing. Roof Jump and Flying Home are superb but then so is all the rest. Fime was great because of the score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles better than the official soundtrack, 20 April 2014
By 
I. Bowker "Flexiboy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
A really good film score, with some great tunes by John Murphy and others. If you liked the music from the movie get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
Loved the first film (second was okay but not as tight!) but who cannot remember the soaring horns of the main them. They are here aplenty in this score, along with the two other themes, in many different variations. This is rarely out of my ears!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KICK ASS THE SCORE....KICKS ASS, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
When ever I watch a film I always listen to the music in the background, I loved Kick Ass The Score..it really revs you up , I listen to it as I write my book, it sets the tone for what im doing. The music picks you up and takes you places..love it//my only gripe is I wish it was available on a cd..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great collaboration of composers, 5 Sep 2013
By 
A. Hall (Beds. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
Several composers writing to the same style makes this a great collection. You can basically follow the film through while listening to the album. Only criticism is that the tunes that stick in your head from the film are shorter than you realise, but that's my problem rather than anything wrong with the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great soundtrack!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kick-Ass: The Score (MP3 Download)
Great soundtrack! Bought it after watching the film, as far as I can tell all the songs are there apart from the Mika credits song
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kick-Ass: The Score
Kick-Ass: The Score by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews