Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying just for the original album alone
Without wishing to sound hackneyed or somewhat trite, 1977 saw Nazareth still within their 'glory days' both commercially and artistically. Manny Charlton has since commented that he was beginning to feel a little stretched as a guitarist and indeed after no less than nine invariably diverse studio albums in the short space of just 6 years that's more than understandable...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by Adam Neil

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Salovo's version of Expect No Mercy
Expect No Mercy When I put this cd on the player I was very disappointed with its obviously muffled sound. I thought, probably it just seemed to me and for comparison decided to listen to the same album released on the Snapper Classics, 2005; here the sound was absolutely normal, then I put again this Salvo version, and again heard this very bad sound.
The second bad...
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by Igor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying just for the original album alone, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Adam Neil (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
Without wishing to sound hackneyed or somewhat trite, 1977 saw Nazareth still within their 'glory days' both commercially and artistically. Manny Charlton has since commented that he was beginning to feel a little stretched as a guitarist and indeed after no less than nine invariably diverse studio albums in the short space of just 6 years that's more than understandable! It's my view that Nazareth with the addition of Zal Cleminson a year later reached their absolute pinnacle. But for now let's get onto 'Expect No Mercy'...

For fans like me who already had 'Expect No Mercy' prior to the Salvo re-issue, the jewel in the crown is owning the original rejected album which was previously unheard with the exception of 'Greens' and 'Desolation Road' (released as B sides). This long overdue release contains some real nuggets including the blistering 'Life Of A Dog' which features an awesome snarling McCafferty vocal.

It's hard to say which are the definitive versions of 'Shot Me Down' & 'Gone Dead Train' after listening to the standard album for all these years. Both of these tracks in their original forms [rejected by A&M label executives] bordered on country rock, not something I'd usually be partial to however the band sure did pull it off exceptionally well. Personally I like both.

Although I think the suits at A&M were right to deny the twee 'Moonlight Eyes' and the unfinished 'Can't Keep A Good Man Down' just listen to the rejected mixes of 'Kentucky Fried Blues' along with 'Revenge Is Sweet' + 'New York Broken Toy' and it's abundantly clear how much more powerful they are than the approved cuts. Sonically superior and a whole lot heavier they rip right out of your speakers! There's a lot of extra guitar parts that really enhance these tunes, credit to Manny Charlton for remixing the old studio tapes (it sounds terrific).

The audiophile in me has one slight criticism and that's the sound on a couple of tracks 'Gimme What's Mine' & 'Busted' is a tad muddy compared to the old vinyl however these are minor gripes next to a release that represents fantastic value for money and does not stop me awarding the full 5 stars. With the exception of those two tracks everything else I've heard Salvo remaster from the back catalogue has been excellent.

I'll end this review by saying if you haven't heard the following LP [1978's 'No Mean City'] you're in for a real treat, it's even better than 'Expect No Mercy' and hasn't been bettered since.

Adam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Nazareth,Expect No Less...., 11 Sep 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
Nazareths 9th album(in a remarkable 7 years) returned the band to a grittier ,more rockier sound,possible due to criticism of the previous slicker sounding 'Play 'n' The Game' from 1976,no matter the reason and the scrapping of the first attempt,this is a likeable album.Housed in a Frazetta sword n sorcery sleeve(he would become more prominent with Molly Hatchet)your immediately expectant of a heavy rock tour de force and while the title track and the likes of 'Revenge is Sweet','gimme Whats Mine' deliver,there is more to this disc and repeated listens will deliver enjoyment for years.

You want blues then seek out the likes of 'Busted' and the self explanatory 'Kentucky Fried Blues' while the more sedate strains of 'Shot Me Down' and 'Place In your Heart' while etch themselves in your head and you'll sing along with a grin on your face.

Urban legend had it that the scrapped version(unbelievably without the title track!) was a harder version and the released product a compromised version,well certainly there is no evidence of that presented by the alternative versions,worth listening to but ultimately diluting the overall album,it might have been better had they been presented as a second disc.

Still another quality disc from a severely under rated band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Vaults, 30 Mar 2011
By 
G. De Ste Croix (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
Nazareths excellent 10th album gets a makeover. Naz fans will be keen to get their paws on this one as it has the bonus second disc of the "legendary" first take of EnM. Strangely enough the first version of the album didn't include the title track, which is the best track on it!! Overall its a bit of a mixed bag in terms of musical style. Theres the full on rock axe attack of the title then you get the country and western track with Place in Your Heart! Confusing eh? However this makes for a great overall package with Nazareth demonstrating that they are no one trick pony. Stand out tracks are Expect No Mercy; Gone Dead Train; Kentucky Fried Blues, and Revenge is sweet, which will satisty the hard rockers amongst you. The remainder is mid tempo rock with a sprinkling of ballads. If you like the harder rock side of Nazareth i'd reccommend No Mean City over this one. As for the bonus disc i'd say its for the hardcore fans only rather than the uninitiated. Great reissue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great metal from a great band., 6 July 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
At this point nazareth was making really great hard rock. The stupid british scene was dominated by punk , which was ok but lacking in the real musicianship that this and well most other types of music had. Still smart brits and the rest of the world knew that this was better and had some really good songs like 'expect no mercy', 'shot me down' and 'gimme what's mine'. There isn't a bad song on this effort. I have several versions of this one and they all sound great to me. good stuff here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this album!, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
This cd was bought as a present and was greatly received.No problems, bad comments or critisisms to report which is all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review cd, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
cd in great condition music just as great as I remember nazereth were allways a great group and this cd shows their talent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Salovo's version of Expect No Mercy, 11 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Expect No Mercy (Audio CD)
Expect No Mercy When I put this cd on the player I was very disappointed with its obviously muffled sound. I thought, probably it just seemed to me and for comparison decided to listen to the same album released on the Snapper Classics, 2005; here the sound was absolutely normal, then I put again this Salvo version, and again heard this very bad sound.
The second bad thing is that the sleeve of this cd, which I should call "belt", is very inconvenient in use, you've got to take out the disc from it either touching its working side with fingers, or using thin fabric gloves which is necessary here, the disc does not have a protective inner sleeve. I have almost all Salvo's Nazareths, and except for this one they sound fine, but they all have the same very inconvenient sleeves, very rough inside, and probably because of this I found thin scratches on some discs when first opened them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Expect No Mercy
Expect No Mercy by Nazareth
Buy MP3 Album£5.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews