Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars MK vs DC
good game, arrive in very good condition. Good seller. i recommend the shop to other users.
the game itself is ok, for beat em up fans of the MK series.
Published 21 months ago by chappers

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing but not bad
As a fan of both universes, this game of course appealed to me. I was curious to see how they'd do fatalities with the DC characters though!

As far as stories go, it's about the same as any other fighting game i.e. pretty rubbish. Two universes are colliding and that's the excuse for the two groups of fighters meeting. To be fair, no-one plays fighting games...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Mr. N. Wildman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing but not bad, 1 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. N. Wildman "nickwildman2" (Beds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
As a fan of both universes, this game of course appealed to me. I was curious to see how they'd do fatalities with the DC characters though!

As far as stories go, it's about the same as any other fighting game i.e. pretty rubbish. Two universes are colliding and that's the excuse for the two groups of fighters meeting. To be fair, no-one plays fighting games for the story so that's forgivable!

Now, on to the fighting. The style is very similar to the most recent mortal kombat games i.e. heavily combo based. Each character uses their own style of martial arts and it's nice to see actual differences rather than just carbon copies of one base model. The combat is quite satifying with the combos mixed in with the various powers. This works especially well with the DC characters as their powers are a bit more elaborate than the MK lot. That being said, I somehow found it difficult to learn the combos for each character, I was constantly checking the move list. Now, I've never had that problem before with games such as tekken or street fighter IV so I don't know why it was an issue with this game! It must somehow just be less intuitive. Not a big issue though.

The interactive scenery is a nice touch, you are now able to punch/kick your opponent through walls/floors to access new fighting areas. You can even pummel your opponent on the way down! The graphics are fairly good but nothing special. You can see damage appear on the fighters like cuts, ripped clothing etc, which is good.

So, those are good bits, now for the not so good:

The fatalities are laughable. For a game that has Mortal Kombat in the title, you would expect a lot more. They have toned down the fatalities because it would be weird to have DC characters being torn apart but in doing so they have lost the very essence of Mortal Kombat. Playing the original Mortal Kombat you got a sense of gritty realism and adult surroundings. By getting rid of the grusome fatalities and also using the cartoony graphics, they have somehow degraded Mortal Kombat to a kind of child friendly fisty cuffs.

The story mode is as you would expect but with one slight change. You get to fight with every character from one of the universes through one story mode run through. This may seem a good thing but you only get a few fights with each character and that is not enough time to learn his/her moves/strategies. By the time you are comfortable with the character, you have switched to another one. This combined with the counterintuitive movesets made it a frustrating experience for me.

As you get to the later levels, the enemies just get incredibly spammy. If your opponent has any kind if annoying projectile or move that is very very difficult to avoid, you can guaruntee that they will just do that one over and over again. Similarly, the final boss is just a pain. Why do they insist on making the final boss nigh undamagable and at the same time giving them moves that you can't block or avoid? I know the final boss should provide a challenge but when beating them comes down to blind luck rather than skill i.e. you only win if they don't do a certain move a lot, then it's just annoying.

Overall, this game only gets 3 stars from me because it is a fairly bland fighting game. It's enjoyable to play but at the same time it gets boring very quickly indeed. Add that to the other annoyances and it's probably one of those games you'll buy, play through once, not play it again for months then sell it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mk vs Dc.., 15 Jan 2011
By 
S. A. Rutter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
Well... You can't fault the idea. Mk fighters against super heroes, it's a great idea. But does it deliver?

There's a lot of fighting games out there these days, who seem to have passed, an Mk sim, which... Hasn't changed much since it's famous Mk 1 + 2.
The developers have tried to take a different approach with this... Mk was always known for its grim fatalities, gore, blood. Ofcourse that had to change, because it's now against Dc character, fatalities for them wouldn't have been so cruel.

I find the most list is very limited, very much about combos. They've added new aspects to the arenas, you can be pushed through walls to 'Test your strength' (Button bash randomely) Or pushed off a cliff, punching through the air. Which can be fun at first, but gets repetitive.

The story mode is kind of.. Bland, not very imaginitive. But hell, it's still fun to go through.

From Scorpion to the Flash, you have plenty of characters to try out, and learn there moves. Each to there own strengths, eg. Flash is super quick but less damage, whereas Superman is known for his physical power.

Overall fun, Online is a good laugh to test your skills, still plenty of experienced fighters, to welcome the newcomers, a good butt whooping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MK vs DC, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
good game, arrive in very good condition. Good seller. i recommend the shop to other users.
the game itself is ok, for beat em up fans of the MK series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game for a DC fan!, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Miss A. N. Riley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this for my boyfriend, he loves playstation, DC and Mortal Combat. Couldnt be more perfect. Great game. Arrived on time and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PS3 Mortal Kombat, 17 April 2012
By 
Simon Reeves (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
The game arrived on time and exactly as ordered, this game was bought for my son and he enjoys playing along with his other PS3 games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 9 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is fun, love the story mode, but a lot of the characters are umbalenced.
If you want a fun, not serious fighter with a good story mode, this game is a good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 23 Feb 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
Yeah its alright, can get abit boring. I advise you to get a new Mortal Kombat thats coming out it looks hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If like me you are used to Street Fighter (SF), 19 July 2014
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
If like me you are used to Street Fighter (SF), this is not a game for you. The gameplay is totally different from SF. I tried it a few times but never got caught in the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't excpect to much, 22 Feb 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) (Video Game)
Good but i was expecting much more. Compare graphic to Batman: Arkham Asylum, Mortal Kombat is far away back :( Anyway its nice to see two world in on Game. And there is good Story Mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3)
Mortal Kombat Vs DC Universe (PS3) by Warner Bros. Interactive (PlayStation 3)
£16.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews