Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure essence of Action TV
Any fans who saw Justin Lee Collins'programe "Bring Back The A Team" on Channel 4 this year, would no doubt have found it pretty damn interesting to hear how personalities clashed on the set of this classic series - namely George Peppard (Hannibal) and his alledged ego problems with other cast members. However, it's great to see that none of the off camera disbutes showed...
Published on 3 Dec. 2006 by Tezza

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars If you have a problem, if no one else can help, maybe you've just bought: THE CUT UK DVD RELEASE
Ok, so the A-team, as one of the most popular and consistently entertaining shows of the 80's receives a nostalgic and deserving 5 stars, specifically this season, where it's found it's format and form with some of the best episodes. However this particular release gets one star. Why? Because for some unknown reason Universal decided to use the GERMAN TV MASTERS for the...
Published 1 month ago by Deckard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure essence of Action TV, 3 Dec. 2006
By 
Tezza (Sunny South of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Any fans who saw Justin Lee Collins'programe "Bring Back The A Team" on Channel 4 this year, would no doubt have found it pretty damn interesting to hear how personalities clashed on the set of this classic series - namely George Peppard (Hannibal) and his alledged ego problems with other cast members. However, it's great to see that none of the off camera disbutes showed through at all in the programe. You really do believe that these guys are a solid team who can pretty much handle anything! THe A Team is just top banana - for several reasons. Firstly, unlike many shows that were on TV at the time, it doesn't really follow any particular fashion trend. And this makes it almost timeless. Look at others of the same genre now - Knight Rider, Airwolf etc - and unfortunately, you spend more time giggling at the outragous hair styles and dodgey leather jackets than actually enjoying the show. THe A Team is a bit different though - sometimes you could almost be convinced that it was filmed in the nineties or even more recently. Often the only giveaway is the massive hair styles and mandatory 80's make-up of the damsels in distress who hire the team.

Secondly, the show is essentially based around four brilliantly developed characters. Hannibal, BA, Face and Murdock are simply impossible to replace in their roles, and some of the writing is wickedly humourous (particularly many of Face and Murdocks scenes together). Episodes like "Cup a Joe" and "The Big Squeeze" are fine examples of the team at their best - fistfights like only the A Team could carry off, gunplay that demolishes everything in sight plus sureal comedic performances mainly from Murdock. I think to make a movie of the A Team would be a sad mistake. These guys ARE the A Team!

Most importantly, one big improvement on this seasons boxed set, compared to the previous two, is the re-insertion of the pre-opening title teaser sequences. You know, where you get thirty seconds of a person in trouble, a meaningfull line from Hannibal, a crazy few words from Murdock mixed with a couple of punches and finished off with a big explosion and another quick line from one of the team. I particularly enjoyed Face's "They don't make the bad guys like they used to, do they?" line at the beginning of "skins". I was hugely disappointed to find these sequences missing on seasons one and two. But here, the package is complete. I was about 13 when these episodes first appeared and even I find it quite incredible that they hold together so well, more than twenty years on. Shows like this just do not exist nowadays, so enjoy. Close certain parts of your brain down to avoid plot holes, and unrealisic situations or outcomes, and just enjoy. The makers of this series must surely have loved it when a plan came together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read ... ;), 29 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
If you have a problem and no one else can help ...

...maybee you! ... Can buy this Series! :) ..

Once again the A-Team talke you through many life tretening problems and Tasks!
if your a fan of the others, Buy! :)
It was very Cheap, Very fast delivery! ..

Five Stars! ... I LOVE IT WHEN A PLAN COMES TOGETHER!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
D. Mitchell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Have now bought the whole five series of the A Team. It's great fun to watch. Some of the creations are a little far fetched but who cares...it's all great fun and wonderful to watch! I watched some when they originally aired in the 80's and am enjoying them all over again. Have even introduced my 20 and 23 year old daughters to the wonderful Face, Hannibal, Murdock and BA. The new A Team movie is not a patch on the original. Found myself bored by it and wanting to watch an original episode of the original A Team!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If you have a problem, if no one else can help, maybe you've just bought: THE CUT UK DVD RELEASE, 14 April 2015
By 
Deckard (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Ok, so the A-team, as one of the most popular and consistently entertaining shows of the 80's receives a nostalgic and deserving 5 stars, specifically this season, where it's found it's format and form with some of the best episodes. However this particular release gets one star. Why? Because for some unknown reason Universal decided to use the GERMAN TV MASTERS for the episodes which are sometimes cut and censored. For example, in A BEND IN THE RIVER (part 1) there are 2 shortened scenes resulting in 5:53 minutes of missing footage. Similarly, part two also suffers with 2 shortened scenes resulting in 1:35 minutes of missing footage. You can find specific info linked to from IMDB. But also, as if that's not bad enough, this horrible release also has a much more inferior image quality. The irony is that the German DVD release is actually completely uncut, and uses the proper episode masters!

So if you're a fan, and you want the best out of your A-Team do NOT bother with this release. It's awful. Pick up the region 1 US release, or region any other region 2 set. Note that season 3 is the OINLY season affected this way. All the others are fine. Universal clearly just dropped the ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome beyond measure !!!!!, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes the third season was and is fantastic !!The A team was like a parent to me ,ones I wanted !! The improvisational nature of the show where the characters find themselves in challenging situations to get out of and work so well together despite their differences and have a total can do attitude .Love the crash landing episode when BA is drugged and taken aboard a plane again and and Hannibal makes a deal with him that he completes the mission , he gets his revenge on Face & Murdoch . Two buddies out adventuring he says ,and Murdoch says I think he just threatened me colonel.Buy this masterpiece !!Oh FYI ,despite what some say ,I love the 2010 A team movie !!Open mind needed as it is a movie in a completely different era and ..its a movie and only the original characters could be the originals .The movie characters have aspects of the original dudes , but don`t try to imitate them which is disrespectful.Yes greatness which would probably be perceived by the left as evil nowadays .This TV is about good triumphing over evil and overcoming adversity .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A-Team is the ONLY Team, 30 Jan. 2010
By 
B. Cousins "The Eternal Noob" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a fan of the A-Team since I was a teenager and I have been slowly getting through the series, series 3 shows a marked improvement in the acting of the team and they work together. It is amazing how the think up all the situations the A-Team get into, and thinking up new ideas of vehicles to work on and equipment I feel has kept this series going, the stories have I felt been 99% good, you can hardly ever get 100% :P I saw that there was a boxed set of the A-Team but to be honest, it is cheaper to buy them all seperatly.
The two part episode The Bend in the River was classic, the pirate captain plays a great role and it is funny how it all ends.
Bounty is also a good episode as bounty hunters are after the A-Team and they actually have a good plan to catch em!
The A-Team is one of the best series I have ever watched, and I have heard there may be a film of the A-Team. No matter who they cast or how good the story could be, it will never be the A-Team to my mind :)

5 Star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love It when a DVD comes together., 8 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
The A-Team season 3 is funny, entertaining, and has lots of; very good episodes. Season 1 of the A-Team was quality 9 out of 10 in my opinion. Season 2 was very good and a 7 out of 10 in my opinion, but not as entertaining; as the first season. Season 3 is an improvement on the second season and returns to the variety of different stories, like the 1st season. Every episode is different and unpredictable. The third season returns to it's roots, BA not wanting to fly, the A-team doing jobs for certain rewards. Because in the second season I found it a bit predictable, and the A-team seemed to do all the jobs; without pay. Which seemed confusing because in the first season, they only did jobs; for money or rewards. Anyway this season is a very good dvd, and a must buy for all A-team fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I like it when a plan comes together!, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this season as I have not seen it since ITV showed it in 1994. The only A-Team I had on tape from this season was 'Bend in the River', a feature-length version of a two-part story, included in this DVD in it's original episodic form. Some of the episodes seemed awfully familiar after not seeing them for nearly twenty years. I then realized that the 'Timber' episode is almost an exact retelling of the watermelon story from season one.
Some of the episodes are not the best but it is still better than the remake. A good price for the set but don't get excited about extras as there aren't any, save for a trailer for the 'playback' collection, Knight Rider, Battlestar Galactica, Miami Vice etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong just about!, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
Just about as good as previous seasons, this season for me is the last season where the show was still on top. You can see a very slight decline in some of the weaker episodes, and there were more episodes that were not as good as the others in this season compared to the last season, but overall the episodes were still brilliant! All the action and comedy from previous seasons are still here and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say ... I loved this series when I was growing up and now my kids have the thrill of the action and I get to re-live my childhood. The reproduction quality is really good, and I think contains all the episodes. Well worth the money.. I have bought 2 others in the series and will be buying the remainder in due time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD]
The A-Team: Series 3 [DVD] by George Peppard (DVD - 2010)
£9.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews