Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars464
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2011
Brilliant film, cleverly directed and expertly acted. Kept us laughing out loud all the way through, and again 2 nights later! It makes it's point very well, whilst being entertaining all the way through. I'd recommend it for everyone!

Four Lions - Special Edition [DVD]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2011
It has to be said that Four Lions is one of the funniest films I've seen in years, even if it is based on an incredibly controversial subject. The film isn't exactly edgy about this subject, not making a bold statement or getting very political (except maybe a little bit towards the end), but instead chooses to satyr the whole situation completely, simply showing what a terrorist cell would be like if it was made up of nothing but moronic idiots who don't know the first thing about either being a terrorist (i.e. what to bomb, how to bomb it etc) or the very religion that they are bombing things for.

Very black, very controversial, but damn funny!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Didn't like this at all - bailed out after the first half hour and watched something else.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
This film is absolutely hilarious. You have to watch it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2010
I'm a big Chris Morris fan, BrassEye, DayToday, blah.
This film just isn't funny or interesting enough.
A few jokes raise a smile, the explosions are good, but that's it. We have four Baldricks & a slightly more self-aware Baldrick.
Why does Omar want to blow himself up? Why does his wife want him to blow himself up. What about Omar Jr?
No one seems interested in what makes someone want to blow themselves because they've been told to.
It does make suicide bombers look pathetic, but we didn't need that explaining, did we?
Didn't under-appreciated animated sketch show "Monkey Dust" do radical Islamic terrorists with Lancashire accents five years ago? In 3 minute sections, rather than film-length & with a few more laughs?
Strangely, when this came out, the posh papers lauded it as hilarious. I wonder if Chris Morris worship has gone a bit far. This didn't need to be 90 minutes or show at the cinema. Times for CM to do a few 30 minute shows.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2016
bloody awful really. watch 20 minutes and turn off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2011
Having watched the trailer for this film I didn't know how funny it would be considering that occasionally all jokes can be revealed in trailers. However this film was absolutely hilarious I didn't stop laughing from the moment I started watching. There are also some interesting views portrayed in the film and how the persons involved attitudes evolve around all aspects of their lives. I would recommend watching.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2011
This shows that a fantastic script and a good cast are the key elements of a good film. It is littered with great jokes for the 'four lions' - a hapless bunch of jihadis portrayed by hitherto unknown but abundantly talented (and very funny) British actors.

Their hi-jinks conclude in a tense climax in this laugh-out-loud comedy spoof.

Watch it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
Bought this film on the strength of the BAFTA award and can see why it was a worthy candidate, but like some others, felt that it was very uneven (although the good bits are very good)and ultimately very sad. Not a comfortable film to watch and am not likely to watch it very often again, but perhaps a necessary venture?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
There were some comic moments but the mixture of black humour and slap stick were not ready company. That said as far as being a British film it was really enjoyable. I would not universally recommend it nor would I reel it out as a favourite. However I waited a long time to buy this and was glad I did.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)