Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nature of Monkey is irrepressible!!
This started out as a concept for an animated movie created using the unreal graphics engine, but ended up being an interactive gaming experience. The reason this info is important to the prospective buyer, is that the story, and the FMV cut scenes that tell it, are clearly the focus of the project. Andy Serkis provides the likeness, voice, and motion capture for the lead...
Published on 9 Oct 2010 by D. Lloyd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice Environment, good sound and voice acting.
Played it for a good while to know the ins and outs of the game and how it will progress.

I would have given it 4 stars but it just needs that extra polish to stop the characters rolling near the edge of a cliff and jumping/jiggering up just when walking up a curb. Decent combat mechanic and nice storyline.

I love how unique it is, there really isn't...
Published 6 months ago by Adam


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Nature of Monkey is irrepressible!!, 9 Oct 2010
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This started out as a concept for an animated movie created using the unreal graphics engine, but ended up being an interactive gaming experience. The reason this info is important to the prospective buyer, is that the story, and the FMV cut scenes that tell it, are clearly the focus of the project. Andy Serkis provides the likeness, voice, and motion capture for the lead character, and once again proves himself to be the premier actor for being able to convey emotion through the CGI medium.

The story is a very clever and well adapted version of 'Journey to the West' (anyone over 30 years old may know this story from 'Monkey', or 'Monkey Magic' the popular dubbed chinese show of the late 70's), and the quality of the script and story mean that the use of Alex Garland's name is not just for hype, he has clearly spent some time and effort bringing a quality seldom seen in these elements of a video game.

The gameplay is, at first glance, and from the demo level, very much a god of war derivative, but as the game expands, it quickly becomes apparent that this comparison is not accurate. The game it most resembles in game play is the reboot of 'Prince of Persia' that was released a couple of years ago. You control an athletic physical character, who has to help a largely AI female character through physical obstacles, whilst she in turn, uses her special abilities to help your character solve various puzzles/traps and fight certain big bosses. There are even similar energy orbs to collect in order to unlock and purchase upgraded weapons/abilities. The gameplay and combat is, by its nature, very forgiving - you cannot fall off structures, you dont really have to time or aim jumps/leaps very specificaly, and combat is basic 2 button combo's that create a flash range of animations on screen. This will mean that for a lot of 'hardcore' gamers, this will feel too easy and linear, which is probably a fair argument, but again, this game is more concerned in telling its story and showing you the future-earth that the team have created, and as such, the gaming remains fun, and pitched just right to maintain the games cinematic flow.

Whilst I am of a forgiving nature towards this game's quirks, I do wish that there had been more work done to polish the camera control, as the angles it tracks can be terrible, and controlling it with the analogue stick can be jerky and unresponsive, and I would have liked the platforming elements to have been more skill dependant, so its far from perfect or refined in some respects.

But it is something to be judged as a whole, and that whole is something more than a game. It is a beautiful, engaging and utterly charming interactive adventure through a unique and exciting world. The boldness of vision, Imagery and quality of storytelling is to be applauded and enjoyed, and the gameplay is solid, if not earth-shattering. I love it, and think it would take a real killjoy not to find it a great way to spend a weekend's gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SINGLE PLAYER GAME IN A LONG TIME!, 9 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game after playing the demo and was really intruiged by the story line! WOW! this game takes you along on a fantastic story and the ingame acting and dialogue is some of the best i have ever come across in a game. The characters are so believable due to the dialogue and the motion caption of facial expression that was used in this game which grabs and haves you really caring about what happens within the game. Later levels the dialogue between Monkey and Pigsy is fantastic and brought a smile to my face many a time. Don't think its just a button masher because this won't get you very far without dying later in the game, you have to be tactical with how you use monkeys staff and the combo moves youv'e upgraded. Then theres the graphics which are really fresh and vibrant and make a wonderfull change to the mundane colours which are used in many a game these days. In short i simply could not put this game down due to the excellent in game acting, dialogue and wonderfully paced action i just hope it does well enough that they make a follow up. I am a compulsive game trader i buy complete and trade for the next new title constantly but this is one game im hanging onto as i have read that there is some meaty DLC on the way a and i just have to play more of monkey and co!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, good characters; gameplay is the weak link, 13 Oct 2010
By 
Peter J. Gasston (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game looks great. The earlier levels in particular are bright and verdant, with amazing blue skies and long views over beautiful landscapes; later levels start to get metallic and rusty and are less impressive, although still a visual treat.

The acting in the cut scenes is fantastic, and you develop a real empathy for the principal characters. The story is somewhat blah, but not too bad.

The gameplay... well, there are three aspects to it: combat, puzzles, and climbing.

The combat is frantic but repetitive; there are only a few combos to learn, and you learn them early on. From then on it's just button mashing.

The puzzles aren't really head-scratchers, and are mostly clearly signposted and easy to work out.

The climbing is too linear. You can't jump anywhere where there isn't a handhold so it's impossible to fall to your death, there is usually only one route to the destination, and so it becomes a case of just pointing your stick in the direction you want to go and jumping.

So the gameplay is the weak link, but despite all this I enjoyed the game. The design & characterisation helped a lot, and the story moved along at a rapid clip, set pieces were well-structured; it wasn't too hard, wasn't too easy. It reminded me a lot of the Prince of Persia series, of which I'm a fan.

I'd recommend it overall, but am quite aware that it's shortcomings will be more painful to other people than they were to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 5 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Where to start...I'm really stuck, there's too many good things to say about this game. This game is easily the best I have played in years and I plan to complete it many more times. The voice acting/facial movements and expressions are the best I have ever seen in a game so far...and that's really saying something. The graphics and scenery are extremely beautiful and the fighting style (though slightly repetitive) is really fun as well. The acting is so great in the game that for the first time ever, I was actually so involved with the story that I nearly cried at some parts! Not to mention that I got really upset at the end when it was over, I really wanted to see more. Trust me when I say, it's worth buying this game right now; you won't regret it at all. I absolutely loves seeing a change in emotion from the characters as the story progressed. (Hopefully that doesn't spoil a thing for you) Anyways, I could probably say a lot more but it's all jumbled up in my head right now and I think I'm going to go earn some achievements on this game. ;) Seeya!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enslaved is a Hidden Gem !, 27 Jun 2011
By 
C. Stephens (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After all the overly hyped games that have come out over the past year which have turned out to complete tripe ie Homefront and Brink. Enslaved is a complete gem, great gameplay, great graphics and great acting. Its a shame that games like this get overlooked. I would recommend anybody to pick this up especially at the price its going for now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Captured my Heart, 21 Oct 2010
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There are a decent proportion of gamers who don't really care about having a story as they play. This is clear in slurry of mindless action games that make it to the store shelves. This is not me, as I am a gamer who grew up with the cerebral and story filled games of Lucasarts et al. I like my action heroes to have a reason to want to pull the trigger, and this is exactly what Ninja Theory does with Enslaved. You play as Monkey in this third person action platformer. You are attached to a girl named Trip who holds a device that means if she dies you die. The relationship starts of tensely with captor and captive, but as the game progresses their relationship blossoms.

Enslaved has some of the best character development I have seen since `Heavy Rain', but it is still a little short of that masterpiece. It has great open vistas, but the Unreal Engine is used which means there is some texture pop up and jagged edges throughout. The fighting parts of the game are solid enough, if a little uninspiring. It is left to the platforming segments were Monkey comes to the fore and you can see why he got his nickname. As a pure gaming experience Enslaved is a very solid, but its interesting characters drives it up another star. The issues with unoriginal content and graphical fidelity means it is just shy of being awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grand journey, 19 Oct 2010
By 
The Reviewer (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Okay, Enslaved isn't a perfect game. The lock-on system isn't always as accurate as you'd like, occasionally the camera can be a bit awkward and every now and then the frame-rate stutters along. So that's the bad points done. Now just ignore everything that I've just written. Enslaved is simply a brilliantly enjoyable game with some of the finest voicework and character facial expressions I've seen. Plus it is also genuinely funny. The environment is beautiful to look at - from the lush greenery and epic vistas from atop mountains to flying over a city. This game is just a pleasure to play. Great characters and great storytelling. Enslaved is a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Game, 11 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. R. Harper "StThrobber" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I found this game as a "people who bought Castlevania bought this" kind of recommendation on Amazon. I bought both games, and to be honest, I didn't much like Castlevania at all. Having read reviews of this I decided that I would give it a try.

I think it's an outstanding game with a bit of everything thrown in.

When the visuals started and showed the blue skies etc, it reminded me of the excellent Bulletstorm and to be fair, it has a lot of that kind of humour thrown in.

The acting is good, and I was surprised to find out the main character Monkey's voice was that of Andy Serkis, but fair do's, he does a very good job.

The combat sequences have all been discussed in detail by other reviewers, but I'll just say if anyone is looking for a really good game at a bargain price, then buy this and hopefully, there might yet be a sequel because I think it really deserves one

If there is one thing that I could criticise the game for it's that sometimes, parts of it become just a bit of a hard slog to get through, but once you do, it's worthwhile. There are other games that have suffered from this and I've just given up on them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enslaved Xbox 360 + DLC Pigsy's Perfect 10, 14 Aug 2011
By 
R "R" (London, England.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Thoroughly enjoyed playing through Enslaved, even more than I thought I would, having played the demo.

The game looks terrific and plays well.

Nice flowing combat action with a little problem-solving thrown in.

The button combinations for special moves aren't in the ridiculously Street-Fighter-esque vein, so allow actual combinations of different blows more easily.

NB. The DLC - Pigsy's Perfect 10 - is a different sort of game. While still involving a little action, in the form of sniping, mostly, there is far more problem solving. However, enjoyed this as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting game, 12 Jun 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a fun single player game. What makes it different from other games is it's use of motion capture that brings the characters to life. I cared about the characters and believed in their relationships because you could see realistic facial expressions and body language. The gameplay itself is not too difficult - everything is pretty linear so its hard to get lost. This means more time for storyline etc.

My biggest complaint would be that it's quite short. It could easily be completed in a weekend.

tl;dr: Perfect game to rent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3ff5258)

This product

Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360)
Enslaved: Odyssey to the West (Xbox 360) by Namco Bandai (Xbox 360)
9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews