Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Fame Making Return
I was a little reticent about picking up 'Extras', having found 'Specials' the third instalment of the 'Uglies Trilogy' the weakest of the the three. This combined with the fact the trilogy was now suddenly billed as a quartet, did not bode well. It may have worked for Douglas Adams but as a general rule, revisiting a completed series, produces novels that are shadows...
Published on 7 July 2008 by Quicksilver

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing
Don't get me wrong I am a big fan of the Uglies series and I rate the first 3 books all 5 stars and I completely recommend them. But Extras is a book I regret buying and I wish I had stopped after reading Specials.

The first mistake I made was that I thought that it was going to be following Tally Youngblood because I had bought all 4 books at the same time and...
Published on 24 Aug. 2012 by rachel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What's next?, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Great ending to an amazing series. I bought the books for my daughter and ended up getting dragged into them after she'd raved about the first one. Looking to see what else Scott has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extra's by Scott Westerfield, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is an amazing, imaginative book that lots would enjoy. It is a great conclusion to the whole series and I am glad I found it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is epic, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This book is creative and so well thought out. Absolutely amazing, the author, must be really clever!
Although tally isn't in it the whole way through it is still absolutely great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
A good ending to the series. I have thoroughly enjoyed each book and highly recommend them. A truly talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The uglies, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best books I've ever read , full on suspense always wanting to read more really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic dystopian YA thriller, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
After reading Uglies, Pretties and Specials, I read this book, which is the fourth in the Uglies series. Initially I was put off by it; the story is set in a completely different place, with a completely different protagonist. However, this soon changed and after the first chapters, it becomes clear how Extras links back to the previous books. This book follows on from Specials and the fact that it is set in Japan, rather than the USA, emphasizes how big an effect the events of Specials had on the world.
In this book, the major themes are fame and journalism, but also humanity, like the previous novels. It looks in detail at how fame happens, the negative consequences of it, the jour nalists who make the fame happen and the way a story can be told and interpreted in different ways.
In my opinion, the characters are deeper and more complex than the first three books. I find the protagonist, 15year old Aya Fuse, very relatable and she is a representation of all the 'fame wannabees' out there and a metaphor of the consequences of twisting a story. She is strongly written throughout the book. Her tendancy to lie to find out what she wants is contrasted by another character with a form of brain surgery that makes him tell the truth, no matter how much he doesn't want to. The effect this has is almost comical sometimes. We meet lots of new charcters and also some old ones return.
Overall, the plot is exciting and memorable although it is a little unoriginal at times. This is a very minor issue though. The narrative takes some big twists and turns until it arrives at an unexpected (for me, anyway) ending. There is a lot less calling something bogus than in Pretties and Specials, which is a relief!
It is well written and a fantastic read for those who like YA dystopian thrillers. I am thirteen and I love this book, and I am sure that adults would like this too. The whole series is great if you like the action of The Hunger Games, the (sinister) themes and messages of His Dark Materials, and the kick-ass female leads of Graceling.
I think that if you haven't read Uglies, Pretties and Specials, you could read this, but you would find it much easier to have an idea of Tally's personality to understand why Aya judges her wrong, and to know what the Manifesto was, as this set the Extras ball rolling.
Dnjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best of them all!, 5 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
i read the other three book enjoying them but it was this book that brought the series up. its from a whole new point of view which is refreshing and showed a new side to the former characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read!, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Paperback)
I have all the books in this series (Uglies) and this one is as good as all the rest. If you like distopian stories like The Hunger Games you'll like this too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Paperback)
A the beginning of the novel it is very good and exciting. however, as the story progresses it gets a bit boring and repetitive and at times confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... linked to this one and they really are a great read futuristic take on before the hunger games began ..., 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Extras (Paperback)
I've read all the previous books linked to this one and they really are a great read futuristic take on before the hunger games began 👍
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Extras (Uglies Series Book 4)
Extras (Uglies Series Book 4) by Scott Westerfeld
£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews