Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kassidy to rule the world!, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
Watched these guys on TV at T in the Park and came straight to amazon to buy their album. It's absolutely amazing, and as they themselves have said, there's a song on there for everyone! You'll like at least a few of the songs. I personally love the whole album, I couldn't stop listening to it for weeks after I had bought it. It has fast become a favourite. Check them out before you buy! Not only do they produce fantastic music, they're also a down to earth bunch of lads. 5*Hope St.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixties Revisited - And Its A Good Thing!, 22 Mar 2011
By 
C. Boote (Ludlow, Shropshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
There's nothing too orginal in the sound or style of Kassidy - lots of 60's retro sounds influenced by Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and other bands of that era...but don't let that put you off because they have the knack of writing some 'killer' tunes that get inside your head. As someone with very ecletic musical tastes From AC/DC to Neil Young and pretty much everything in between, I have say this is a great first album. Having seen them live a couple of times I'd recommend getting to see them if they come to a town near you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a find, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
I saw these guys live in Aviemore in May 11. This was totally by chance as had heard there was some live music in a pub nearby. They were amazingly good. Every song they did was awesome. They did some covers too which were brilliant. They are a band to watch for the future. I bought the album afterwards and i find it uplifting, fun and reminds me of a great weekend in Aviemore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising!, 5 Jan 2012
By 
K. D. Evans "kd evans" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
There is not a bad track on this album - try it!! Favourites include The Betrayal, That Old Song,and I Don't Know. Good rock beats and catchy tunes! Long may they last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kassidy keep getting better!!!!!, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
I have seen Kassidy live half a dozen times and they keep getting better and better..... which is incredible as I was hooked from gig 1! Every song on this album is fantastic. A talanted group of guys from Glasgow who will make the big time, USA will love you as much as us Scots!....roll on the next album xHope St
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hope St. Next stop, Success Avenue., 14 Sep 2011
By 
R. Muir "fabricationsHQ" (Prestwick, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
Kassidy - singers/ guitarists Barrie James O'Neill, Chris Potter, Hamish Fingland and Lewis Andrew - seem to have come out of nowhere and caught people unawares with just how strong a debut Hope St. is.

But then Kassidy are a relatively new and young (all in their early 20s) band, formed in Glasgow at the end of 2009 around a mutual love for classic vocal harmony and acoustic guitars.

The band released three well received EP's in 2010 before working on an album.

Kassidy and Hope St. hark back to the days of classic Americana and heavy acoustic folk, with vocal harmonies to the fore.
On this debut release their sound is augmented by drums, electric guitar, some keyboards and a string arrangement or two, but at the core of the album are the vocals, harmonies and ringing acoustic guitars of the foursome.

The album opens with the catchy `Stray Cat' before `That Old Song' creates what could be a four minute soundtrack to any old Wild West story you care to mention.
`I Don't Know' is infectious sing-a-long; `Waking Up Sideways' slows the pace before `The Lost' ups the fast-strumming acoustic tempo again.

And so it continues for twelve songs, classic and quality throwback Americana but set in the modern musical world. Part sixties vocal-guitar folk, part alternative rock. Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young meet the Kings of Leon.

What makes Hope St. all the more remarkable is initial recordings with producer Jim Abiss created something the boys didn't feel represented them as a band.
Scrapping the album (retaining only the alternative rock of `The Betrayal' from the original recordings) they worked with Thomas McNeice (who the band refers to as a fifth member) who knew exactly what was needed.
It took around three weeks to produce what became the confident and ridiculously mature Hope St.

Already a strong attraction on the festival circuit, Kassidy have now found their way to Hope St.
Hopefully Success Avenue is just around the corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous Album, 23 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
Lovely first album from Scottish band Kassidy, absolutely packed with gorgeous melodies and sumptuous harmonies. Their music has touches of the Deep South sound and a folky-rock vibe, with acoustic guitars in abundance. Highlights for me include 'I Don't Know' and the single release 'Waking Up Sideways'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, great album!, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Hope St. (MP3 Download)
Fantastic album full of sing out loud tunes. Not a bad one on there. I've been listening to this almost too much (if thats possible!?)

Would reccomend to everyone. Favourite tracks for me; I Don't Know, Waking Up Sideways, Oh My God and LA Revenge. Although I do love all the tracks on this album.

Great sound, great harmonies, great tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from a great band, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
Kassidy hail from my home country of Scotland and I couldn't be more proud, we scots do turn out some fine musicians. I can't remember when I've loved a band's music so much; I adore every single track they've recorded and play them all, repeatedly! It's an unusual line up of four acoustic guitars and with all four guys singing their harmonies are beyond beautiful. This band has a fresh sound that is impossible to slip easily into any category. There is something for everyone on this album, I highly recommend you buy a copy or two! I defy anyone not to tap their feet and sing along. Kassidy's new album 'Hope Street' is superb; I've added it to my CD collection and I can't stop listening. xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL, 26 Mar 2011
By 
NEVER TOO OLD! (ROBIN HOOD COUNTRY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hope St (Audio CD)
Brilliant first album. Well done boys. Love the vocals - well I just love the whole thing. Hoping to see the band live this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hope St
Hope St by Kassidy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews