Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessity for PS3 owners!
This game is a necessity for playstation 3 owners. This newly released platinum version weighs in at around half the price of the original title. For what is a really low price you get an absolute amazing game. Graphics and gameplay are second to none and are what you come to expect from the amazing developer "NaughtyDog" mastermind behind the original "Uncharted Drakes...
Published on 26 Jun 2010 by DMC

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing graphics, not much else.
I'm rather late to the party with this game but I picked it up second hand based on its reputation as one of the best games of this generation. I had played a demo of the first one and was unimpressed but had heard that the 2nd was a huge step up so I thought it would still be worth trying. Unfortunately I have to agree with most of the other reviews under 4 stars. I...
Published 18 months ago by TJH


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessity for PS3 owners!, 26 Jun 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is a necessity for playstation 3 owners. This newly released platinum version weighs in at around half the price of the original title. For what is a really low price you get an absolute amazing game. Graphics and gameplay are second to none and are what you come to expect from the amazing developer "NaughtyDog" mastermind behind the original "Uncharted Drakes Fortune" and "Crash Bandicoot" games. Don't take my word for how good this game is, instead redirect your browser to Metacritic where it was named as the most critically acclaimed game of 2009. It also won Game of the Year awards on IGN, Giant Bomb, AIAS, X-Play, Game Developers Choice Awards and the Spike Video Game Awards for the year 2009. Need I really say more, if your a fan of third-person adventure games than I cant recommend this game highly enough. Look forward to a sequel in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never a dull moment, 27 July 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
UNCHARTED 2 is in my opinion one of the greatest games to ever come out for the PS3.

THE GRAPHICS are amazing. There's alot of static objects in the world, and it's not like you can blow down houses Red Faction-style, but when a game looks as pretty as Uncharted 2, it doesn't really matter. I acctually died several times because of the scenery at particular places. Not because of bad design, on the contrary, because it just looks so mind-boggingly beautiful, you're eyes might end up looking at the scenery when you should be looking at the dude shooting at you. The animations are also particularly well done, especially on Drake and during cut-scenes, but because of these great animations, some of the enemy animations in the game might stand out in a bad way, particularly the death animations. They're not bad, in fact, they are really good, they're not just as believable and polished as the rest of the animations. Though, to be fair, the only game acctually pulling of believable death animations that i can think of right now, is Killzone 2, so it's probably something all shooters should work on.

THE GAMEPLAY is a good mix of duck and cover shooting gameplay, climbing around gameplay, and solving environmental puzzles, all stiched together by breath-taking set-pieces. Every aspect of the gameplay has been refined from the first Uncharted-game. The climbing has mainly been improved by all the different locations and objects you climb on, from trains to buildings to statues and the likes. The puzzles are a bit more clever this time around, and you have the possibility to flip through Drake's journal to figure things out, instead of Drake automatically showing you the only page you need for a puzzle like he did in the first game. Still though, the puzzles aren't really that hard, and they never get to the point of being frustrating. Personally, I would welcome even more difficult puzzles. The shooting gameplay is probably what has improved the most. In the first Uncharted you was almost encouraged to just find one piece of cover and stay there, popping out to kill the bad guys who ALWAYS came in two or three waves. In Uncharted 2, a number of things are improved. Firstly, most covers can be blown up, and if not, the enemy is painfully accurate with grenades, and deadly effective with trying to flank you if you don't watch your sides. This means you need to move alot more around the map, finding good coverspots, and sometimes even flanking your enemies. The main cover system has also been tweaked, so it's easier to drop in and out of cover. There's also alot of new weapons and gadgets in this game, like for instance the riot shield, which can be wielded with the pistol of your choice. The best improvement in my opinion though, is the fact that every enemy now have eyes. This means that you can sneak up behind an enemy if he has not spotted you, and perform a stealth kill. In the first game, the enemies just reacted to a trigger when you where close enough, resulting in every shoot-out feeling the same. This time around you can stealth kill your way to a better vantage point, or maybe you're lucky and you're able to stealth kill the enemy soldier with the rocket launcher, suddenly turning the table on whose got the best firepower. In some areas it's even possible to stealth kill every single one, never even needing to draw your guns. The only problem with this, is that the soldiers must have forgotten their glasses at home, because in some areas you can practically stand right beside them without them lifting an eyebrow. The melee fighting is also better, though it's mainly just to bash one button to punch, and then remember to bash another to dodge before the enemy slow-mo punches you back. What sets it all together though, is the set-pieces. Just like in the God of War-series, Uncharted is filled with them. From collapsing building, to collapsing bridges, to jumping from truck to truck to running across a train. There are all these blockbuster moments, or as Cliffy B would have called them, watercooler moments, where something jaw-dropping is happening in front of you. It's like playing in a Hollywood movie, and this is why, as my title says, there's never a dull moment.

THE MUSIC is also great and suits the game perfectly, giving it that treasure hunter vibe. The music plays along with most of the emotions in the game, but adds a little dash of epicness on top, just to make sure the hair on your back won't get to rest for long.

THE PRESENTATION is probably only matched this generation by METAL GEAR SOLID 4 and is polished so well it makes other great games look as if they were rushed. The cut-scenes are especially well done, with all the little details of hand gestures and facial expressions being awesomely well done, time after time. The camera angles are also great giving you that hollywood feel to it, and is only outmatched by MGS4 and Hideos mastery of the camera.

OVERALL you have probably already bought this game, and if not, it should be because you don't have a Playstation 3 because this game is essential to every PS3 owner. And if you're thinking: that's great and all, but you haven't mentioned anything about trophies, and i can't play a game unless it extends my internet willy, then first of all, you're not really clever, and secondly, the game is packed with trophies from everything like treasure hunting to headshots, to stealth kills and so on. And for you Multiplayer fanatics out there, the multiplayer in Uncharted 2 is also fantastic and not just tacked on. Buy it now, you'll thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply brilliant, 8 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I had previously heard that this was a good game, but until playing it, I didn't realize how much.

Everything about this game is brilliant: the musical score, the 'acting', the graphics, the storyline. You actually care about Nathan Drake and the characters around him.

The best single-player game I have ever played in the thirty years I have been playing console games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Among Thieves - at this price it's a steal, 30 Aug 2010
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
If Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was a rough diamond then this is the finished article, cut and polished to within an inch of perfection and displayed in a Bond Street jeweller's window. Excellent gameplay, a great story, brilliant characters and epic landscapes make this one of the best games I have played.

Opening with a battered and bloody Nathan Drake hanging on for dear life off a train that itself is hanging over the edge of a cliff, this is a roller coaster and globe-trotting ride from the opening. Teaming up with an old buddy (Flynn) and the sultry Chloe, our hero is soon off to Turkey to relieve a museum of one of its artefacts containing clues to the location of Shangri-La and the secret it hides. This one didn't go to plan and the not-so mighty Flynn leaves the unfortunate Drake to rot in jail before he is liberated by old pal Sully and the worldwide hunt for bad guys and treasure begins in earnest.

Fans of the first game will be pleased to see the re-union with Eleena (she's the game's Jennifer Aniston to Chloe's Angelina Jolie in this) part way through and it is the characterisation and script coupled with the often jaw-dropping scenery that make this such a great game. A stand-out moment for me was when Drake woke almost from the dead in a mountain village and just slowly walked through the beautifully rendered scenery, taking it all in. You could almost taste the mountain air. No gunplay, no jumping off trains - just a casual and immensely enjoyable stroll; a welcome relief from the intense action either side of it. The train ride (that shows how he arrived at the opening scene) is epic, ditto the assault on the monastery though I will admit I did have ruined-temple fatigue towards the end.

Comparisons with Tomb Raider are still valid with classic Lara locations such as Borneo and the Himalayas "borrowed" for this but Naughty Dog has raised the bar massively with this offering. TR still rules as far as the quality of puzzles go and Ms Croft's moves are sleeker, better controlled and more athletic but Drake win's the combat scenes hands down with some great stealth and intense set pieces. Ditto the cut scenes and humour. My only slight criticism is the sound, his guns "clicking" rather than booming.

Overall, this is a great gaming experience, not ground-breaking but definitely one of the best of the action-adventure genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You must play this game if you are an action/adventure fan., 12 July 2011
By 
T.Wah (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Single-player Review

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves improves on many of the things players have come to love from the first game. The first thing players will notice when they start their journey is that not much has changed in terms of how the game controls which is not necessarily a bad thing since Uncharted: Drake's Fortune had great platforming controls. Those who played the first game will feel right at home with the controls and the subtle detail of Nathan Drake's motion while new players will easily warm up to it after the first few chapters.

Uncharted 2 is a direct sequel to Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, continuing the adventures of Nathan Drake, only this time the plot sports more characters, locations and crazy twists. The game centres on the mystery surrounding the convoy of 13th century explorer Marco Polo which will send Nathan on a hunt over a large number of different locations across the globe. While on this journey, Nathan will interact with a wide variety of characters, some new and some familiar. The characters are played out very well and it is very easy to fall in love with them and see what perspectives they are coming from.

While the entire look of the game has not changed much, the detail of the world and character models have been amped up quite significantly and the introduction of motion blur and depth of field has resulted in the game having a much more realistic and grittier finish. Overall this game is just a treat to watch.

This time round combat unfolds much more fluidly with a variety of new weapons and reworked mechanics. Players now use only the square button for melee combos while the triangle button is used for parrying when the enemy tries to fights back. Though simpler, the changes to the melee mechanics gives melee combat a cleaner, more satisfying feel. Grenades no longer need to be equipped before use and the six-axis aiming is replaced with the use of the right-stick. The core gunplay mechanics remain the same as it was in the first game but now you can use the R3 button to zoom-in when aiming which allows for more precise shots. While all weapons have a standard zoomed-in aim, certain weapons have special ones such as the FAL red-dot sight. Players will also find `one-off use' weapons, such as Gatling-guns and riot-shields, and non-mobile turrets which add yet another layer of variety to the combat which helps keep it fresh.

While all the weapons encountered in the game feel unique and have their own pros and cons, a common problem with stronger weapons is that they tend to have a significantly lower ammo cap than those on the weaker ones. This tends to favour the decision to stick with weapons that have a higher ammo cap which often results in the player finding him/herself in a gunfight equipped with weapons that are poorly suited for the situation which can be very taxing especially in the later parts of the game.

Players will experience a large variety of fast paced action-heavy sequences, from large scale gun fights to hopping from one moving truck to another. These sequences are a blast to watch and play through but there are times when it feels like the game controls are not suited for these sequences: like hanging on to a ledge when players meant to run off it without jumping which leaves them in a postion open to enemy fire and potentially death. To make matters worse there are occasions where the game checkpoints feel too far back making you repeat a lot of the same sequences you really should not be doing. The game does offer a save feature but it is ultimately pointless and does not solve the checkpointing issues as the game automatically saves when you try to load an earlier save point while in-game.

Being a visually rich game, it is very easy to get lost in the world of Uncharted 2 in more than one way. While getting lost in the setting and characters is good, getting lost in what to do next is frustrating. The game does have a hint feature which basically tells you where to go next. While this works most of the time, players may sometimes find that the problem is not where the exit is but rather how to make their way towards it, in which case the hint system is rendered useless.

Fortunately, most of the flaws detailed above are only encountered 2-3 times through the entirety of the game making it very easy to have more of a good time playing the game rather than dwelling on its shortcomings.

Overall Uncharted 2: Among Thieves improves on everything you loved from its predecessor: satisfying combat, a beautifully rendered world, great lovable characters and of course a memorable adventure. Definitely check this out if you are a fan of action/adventure games.

Rating: 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazing graphics, not much else., 15 May 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm rather late to the party with this game but I picked it up second hand based on its reputation as one of the best games of this generation. I had played a demo of the first one and was unimpressed but had heard that the 2nd was a huge step up so I thought it would still be worth trying. Unfortunately I have to agree with most of the other reviews under 4 stars. I haven't finished the game yet, I probably will as it's meant to pretty short, but I just don't feel much desire to keep playing it.

There's just not a lot to get excited about other than the graphics and animations. Admittedly these are incredible, definitely some of the best I've seen, but that alone isn't really enough to keep me playing a game. I would much rather play a game with worse graphics if it keeps my attention, challenges me, and is fun to play. Sadly this isn't the case with Uncharted.

All of the gameplay elements (and by all I mean the 3 elements that there are - climbing/platforming, simple puzzles and cover based shooting), have been done better elsewhere already, so the only real reason for playing is to find out what happens in the story and to enjoy the effects and graphics. I'm happy to play a game for a good story, but I still need to have fun along the way, and personally, I just find it hard to derive fun from looking at nice graphics.

Of course I did know a bit about this game before I got it, and I knew that there would be some shooting and fights, but I didn't realise that almost all of the gameplay is basically just that. I'm happy to play a cover based shooter if it's good, but this one is just nowhere near as good as something like Gears of War. I'm not an xbox fanboy or GOW nut but I do like the way you can move between cover on that game, it just feels natural and easy. Getting to cover on this feels too loose and isn't very fluid if you want to move from cover to cover, most of the time you just end up standing up straight again before moving to the next cover, and almost every time I press to get to cover, he does a roll instead. The guns are ok but not particularly well detailed or fun to use, just average.
This wouldn't be so bad if the shooting wasn't so frequent. I thought this game would have more exploration and tricky climbing parts but in fact it's about 50% shooting at waves of enemies with the rest being cut scenes and a bit of climbing around.

With the platforming and climbing aspects of the game I would say that it is a real shame that there is only ever one route you can take. The climbing isn't so bad, although it's not as smooth and fun as Assassins Creed or God of War, or even the old Tomb Raider games, but mainly it's just annoying when it looks like you should be able to climb most of the things around you, but in fact there's only really one path every time and one or two objects that will get you going in that direction. I know the game is a linear, story game rather than open world, but in these beautiful looking levels they could have put a bit more thought into the actual design of the levels. I mean even COD games which are among the most linear games there are, have multiple paths to reach the same objective most of the time and you would be able to go through different buildings and climb over different walls etc to get there.

The puzzles are ok but pretty easy and if you don't solve it within about 10 seconds then the game tells you the answer anyway.

I understand that this is basically the closest experience there is to playing a movie, and I'm ok with that, I just don't find the playing aspect of it particularly fun compared with other similar games. I remember playing Tomb Raider Anniversary on PS2 and absolutely loving the climbing and traps and stuff, with the very occasional shootout. If this was an updated version of that I would be pretty happy, but the climbing and jumping isn't very fluid, and there's just too much boring shooting. When there are shooters like COD, GOW, Killzone, Battlefield, Bioshock, Dead Space etc that are all much better at it, I just wonder why they bothered to put so much of that in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLY THE BEST!!, 4 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing the first Uncharted and being blown away by it, i instantly bought the second. I'm about half way through and don't want it to end. The first one was amazing, but this is on another level!!

How anyone can give this less than 5 stars i don't know. I mostly play driving sims and a few first person shooters, although they all get a bit repetative.

Purchasing Uncharted 1 and now 2, i have purchased what i beleive to be the best game i have ever played. The storyline, graphics, gameplay etc are all spot on. I realy can't find any fault with this game.

The action is intense, the story line is like your in a movie and the atmosphere is intoxicating. There are puzzles to solve like in Tomb Raider which arn't to hard but you do have to use your head. There is also the fantastic climbing and jumping which you have to do to get through the levels, which i think makes this game so unique.

The great thing with Uncharted 2 is that you travel all over the world in the adventure, which gives stunning scenary in different locations.

There is a variety of weapons from pistols to grenade launchers and the hand to hand combat is great with slow-mo fighting when punching and dodging punches from the enemy.

All in all this game is a must!! And for around £15.00 Platinum it's the bargain of the century!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better...way better than I thought it would be, 28 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted 2 was the first game I purchased to my PS3; following general reviews I anticipated a first class experience and now after I've finished it I can only agree and say that this is a magnificent piece of digital art. The whole experience of Uncharted 2 feels right and balanced, with epic music and graphics that take you inside the story the second you start playing it. To classify this game as a FPS would be wrong, since you will be doing so much more than this throughout the always changing chapters, each of them having their unique and impressive way of sucking your senses into your TV, leaving you always eager to know what will happen next.
I can go on and on about Naughtydog Studio's masterpiece but I can only recommend to get this game and live it yourself. Am I getting the new Uncharted 3 coming soon this year? HELL YEAH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone must experience this!, 10 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
After playing the first Uncharted game I was a bit concerned about buying the second as I must admit I didn't really like the first. However, due to the good reviews I bought it cheap and wow was I amazed. The graphics and game play have just set a new bench mark for consoles! The story was also good, you can tell the developers spent most of their time on this. The only negative point I will say is that I wouldn't advise spending more than £20 on it, this is because I completed the story line in about 10 hours, now to me as a serious gamer, that's just a day of gaming, if I spent £40 I'd be disappointed because the games life span just isn't long enough. Despite not being a long game, it has been one of the best games I've played in a long time. I look forward to seeing if Uncharted 3 turns out to be just as mind blowing as this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3), 3 Jan 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
The game is fun and has lots of action, climbing, shooting with a few not-too-hard puzzles. Fairly easy to complete even on hard, but it is enjoyable to play a chapter a day and complete it within a couple weeks. Graphics are good, gameplay is smooth, loading time is bearable and the story is quite interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves - Platinum Edition (PS3)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews