Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rotring pencil
This pencil goes along way to reviving the style of the old and much loved Rotring 600 pencils, in some areas it is better. The old ones had a nose that holds the lead, it was not retractable, consequently mine got bent after falling to the floor at Heathrow in a dash for a plane for Africa, I was able to straighten it out later.
This one is shinier but the...
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by Mr. M. Yeats

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice enough pencil, but not my first choice.
This pencil is nicely finished and comfortable to use. It is well-balanced too, with sufficient weight to give a good 'feel', but not so heavy that it is cumbersome and tiring.

However, it is for me far less attractive in reality than it appears online. I definitely prefer the Graphgear pencils (Pentel GraphGear 500 Auto Mechanical Pencil 0.7mm): these are just...
Published 11 months ago by S. J. Williams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice enough pencil, but not my first choice., 5 Dec 2013
By 
S. J. Williams "stevejw2" (Leeds, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
This pencil is nicely finished and comfortable to use. It is well-balanced too, with sufficient weight to give a good 'feel', but not so heavy that it is cumbersome and tiring.

However, it is for me far less attractive in reality than it appears online. I definitely prefer the Graphgear pencils (Pentel GraphGear 500 Auto Mechanical Pencil 0.7mm): these are just as nice to use as far as balance and weight are concerned (only 2 grams lighter). Though less 'sparkly', having a completely matt finish, they are MUCH cheaper (particularly via Amazon marketplace where one can buy 2 or 3 Graphgear pencils for the cost of one marketplace Rotring), are nicely colour-coded for different lead thicknesses, and have the significant advantage, in my opinion of having an easily retractable lead tube. (Just a click of the pocket clip does the job while the Rotring requires the tube to be manually pushed back as the cap is pushed down. It DOES have a cushioned writing tip, but I have noticed little advantage in this.) For me, the only weakness of the Graphgear is that the moveable sleeve which indicates the hardness of the lead in the pencil often is too loose to properly register: but then the Rotring has no potential whatsoever to indicate lead hardness.

I'm sure Rotring enthusiasts will not be disappointed. But for those who simply want a good, reliable, easy to use and attractive pencil which is available in 4 different lead sizes and is relatively inexpensive, buying one of the Graphgear options seems to me to be a no-brainer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rotring pencil, 24 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. M. Yeats (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
This pencil goes along way to reviving the style of the old and much loved Rotring 600 pencils, in some areas it is better. The old ones had a nose that holds the lead, it was not retractable, consequently mine got bent after falling to the floor at Heathrow in a dash for a plane for Africa, I was able to straighten it out later.
This one is shinier but the improvement is in the nose that is now retractable. The beautifully knurled grip is slightly larger. The whole thing is really well made balances well in the hand and will last a lifetime. If you like propelling pencils this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Pleased, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
I am very happy with this new take on the old Rotring pencils. I do miss the option to label which type of lead is in each pencil if there are many in a pot. I did notice that the text on the side rubbed off from being in my pocket but the pencil looks like it will hold up for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rotring Rapid Pro Chrome mechanical pencil, 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
This is an excellent propelling pencil with a very precise mechanism, a stylish chrome finish and a comfortable knurled grip. The Rapid Pro has a nice weight to it - all of these things making the pencil a pleasure to write or draw with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant pencil!, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
Brilliant pencil! Bought as an 18th Birthday present; had liked my black one so much; comfortable, and easy to retract to keep in pocket. Nice cushion feel to writing. Looks classy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous pencil for everyday use by craftsman, student or engineer, 8 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
This is a thoughtfully designed and carefully engineered pencil with perfect weight, good grip and sprung point. Unlike other designs it seldom breaks under normal writing pressure because the point will slightly retract to absorb shocks. 0.7mm is the ideal size for everyday writing/sketching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finely engineered pencil., 8 Dec 2012
By 
M. WALSH - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
The Rotring is beautifully balanced, and has superb fit and finish. By some distance the best mechanical pencil I've found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
The pencil is perfect. But it comes without the box that is shown in the picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
good price and prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars overview, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rotring Rapid PRO Chrome 0.7mm Mechanical Pencil (Office Product)
The pencil is of high quality build, well balanced and easy on the eye. there are no flaws or dislikes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews