Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb wide-angle converter
This converter is designed for use with the 16mm f/2.8 lens for the Sony NEX cameras. It attaches to the front of the lens through a bayonet attachment which is hardly noticeable on the lens, and clicks into place, to prevent incorrect mounting and eliminate any danger of it being mis-aligned or turned while in use.

To my amazement, the first results with this...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by TRA

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lens cap drops off
This might sound like a minor problem but it is a real nuisance.
First it dropped off twice and was found. The third time it was lost. It should be redesigned.
Published 7 months ago by Carl E Eriksson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extends the use of 16mm compact lens, 17 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
This w/a converter is of excellent quality good central definition and although any loss of sharpness on the extreme edges of the 16mm is not improved it certainly is no worse and with a slight masking of the image using the converter a much improved image is the result. Recommended and at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did I not get this before ?!, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Seriously, i was a bit sceptic at first, although the reviews were good, but wasn't till i saw some youtube footage of the 5N with it that I made up my mind !
Lens is of a very high quality, sturdy build, and you can see immediately where your money has gone: into a well crafted product. The stills quality with it is amazing, very clear, and it lives full time in my bag now (which might tip me over the edge to buy a new bigger bag!). For video, i absolutely love it ! It creates a brilliant cinematic feel to any movie, and has a very slight fish-eye effect to it (only very minimal). Image is sharp, and well contrated. I have yet to see if the corners contain any softness, but at first glance i couldn't see any. I did, however, noticed a tiny bit of CA in my stills (towards the corners), but nothing worrying, and to be honest that's just nitpicking.
All in all, well worth the money, and don't wait around like me: buy it !
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to the NEX-5, 7 Mar 2012
By 
A. J. Cable (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
I bought this lens to add to the 16mm pancake and it is fantastic. It improves the wide angle very well and will probably stay on this lens. Feels like a quality product. I had a Panasonic G1 before this and to buy a wide angle lens for that was arounf £600. That was one of my reasons for selling that and I have never looked back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This may not be Sony's sharpest lens for the nex ..., 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
This may not be Sony's sharpest lens for the nex but it is essential for shooting in tight spaces where there isn't much room to maneuvre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i prefer the fish eye lens, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
A great lens, 'but' i also have the Fish eye lens…so this wide lens often doesn't get a look in, but its a nice back up to have ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Works extremely well with the 16mm lens and a good buy if you cannot aford the Sony Ultra-wide lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent buy!., 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Fits like a glove with a reassuring click on to the Sony SEL16mm. Lens cap and base cap, plus a handy little zipped circular pouch. A quality purchase indeed. Highly recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Perfect, just what I needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent angle of shot, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Maybe its just me, but I was always happy with the 16mm pancake lens for the sony nex f3, but when I read the reviews about the ultra wide converter and it had dropped substantially in price, I decided to get one. It is a marvellous addition for the pancake and takes a great shot in average light. For some reason, if its pointed towards the light source, even slightly, the meter does not seem to be able to compensate for the glare. Other than that, it is so portable and great for indoors, its a must include in the bag lens, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very versatile, read on., 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
This adapter is actually made for the SEL18f28 "as if you don't know by now!"

Many people have asked "on the net" will this fit the SEL20f28?
It dose in fact fit nicely on the SEL20f28,
ok it won't give the same wide angle as on the 18f28, but wow what an add on.
I have not noticed any degradation by using on the SEL20f18 and I did look for it.

Se my review for the SEL20f28.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews