Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb wide-angle converter
This converter is designed for use with the 16mm f/2.8 lens for the Sony NEX cameras. It attaches to the front of the lens through a bayonet attachment which is hardly noticeable on the lens, and clicks into place, to prevent incorrect mounting and eliminate any danger of it being mis-aligned or turned while in use.

To my amazement, the first results with this...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by TRA

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars i bought this to go on the 20mm e mount ...
i bought this to go on the 20mm e mount it has a loose fit on the end of the lens,
there is a release button to remove it if it wasn't for that it would keep falling of.
the picture quality is ok stopped down to f 5.6-8 if you are serious about wide angle go for
wide zoom Sony E 10-18mm F4 OSS thats what i am after next.
Published 2 months ago by k e strawbridge


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb wide-angle converter, 7 Jan 2011
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
This converter is designed for use with the 16mm f/2.8 lens for the Sony NEX cameras. It attaches to the front of the lens through a bayonet attachment which is hardly noticeable on the lens, and clicks into place, to prevent incorrect mounting and eliminate any danger of it being mis-aligned or turned while in use.

To my amazement, the first results with this converter show that images have higher resolution WITH the converter than when the 16mm lens is used without it. This shows that the lens and the converter were clearly designed with a view to being used together. Images produced with the converter in place are sharper and appear more contrasty, although this may just be a consequence of the increased sharpness, which in turn may in part be caused by the greater depth of field when the converter is in place.

In evaluating the need, or otherwise, for the converter, it must be borne in mind that the NEX 3 & 5 cameras have an APS-C-sized sensor. For those used to thinking in 35mm "full-frame" film camera terms, when mounted on the NEX, the 16mm lens on its own therefore provides coverage equivalent to a 24mm lens on a 35mm-format camera - nowhere near as wide as one may have thought. Adding this converter, which has a focal-length reduction factor of 0.75×, the resultant actual focal length is 12mm, equivalent to an 18mm lens on a full-frame 35mm-format camera. By any definition, this is a very wide-angle lens.

So, resolution, contrast and colour are excellent. What about chromatic aberrations and distortion? With the 16mm lens on its own, chromatic aberration (colour fringeing) is extremely low. In this respect, the 16mm lens is excellent. Adding the VCL-ECU1 does not result in ANY increase in chromatic aberration. Because of the resolution referred to above, it actually looks LOWER than when the lens is used on its own, and as the two components have been designed to work together, this may in fact be the case.

As regards distortion, there is some barrel distortion with the 16mm lens when used on its own. However, this is so low that it is unlikely to be noticed in real-life pictures unless there are straight lines very near the edges. It is easily correctable with standard software. Adding this converter results in a small increase in distortion, which appears as slight barrel distortion along the long edges of the frame. If you have rectangular shapes near the corner, you may observe that the image also appears to be pulled out slightly into the corners. Correcting for both of these distortions in software is not going to be easy. (If it were, one must presume that the lens designers would have corrected for it at the design stage.)

However, with most interior shots - with lots of vertical lines from walls, furniture, etc - in a real-life situation this very slight distortion is almost certainly not going to be noticed. With such a wide-angle lens, you are more likely to get standard perspective distortion (for instance, converging verticals), which is not a lens fault but a consequence of composition. If you want better than this, you will probably shoot - on a tripod! - with a top-end digital SLR with a wide-angle lens that will cost probably ten times the cost of this converter.

These results were much better than those seen on the web with the only picture that I could find that had apparently been taken with this converter. I assume that it must have been taken with a prototype version of the converter, which was subsequently improved. (We have certainly had to wait for it to become available!)

In normal interior shooting conditions, no vignetting (darkening of the corners) is noticeable with this converter in place. This is a remarkable result. Tests outdoors with a clear blue sky (not yet carried out), may show some variation in brightness, which one would expect to improve with stopping down of the lens.

The instructions warn that if the lens-converter combination is used with the tiny attachable flash, the converter may cast a shadow on part of the image. I have not tested this yet, but doubt if the flash would provide adequate coverage for such a wide angle anyway (nor would most flashes with most cameras).

The converter is supplied in a very smart, round, zip-up hard case that should provide excellent protection when it is off the camera. The petal-shaped lens hood or shade is an integral part of the lens, and front and rear caps are provided.

If you are shooting with a NEX 3 or 5 (or thinking of getting one), the combination of the 16mm lens and this converter will give superb wide-angle shooting, for interiors and cityscapes (with the limitations indicated above), landscapes, etc. Combined with the tiny camera body, this makes a superb back-up wide-angle outfit for people with very demanding expectations of image quality. For some people it will also be a superb main (or only) outfit - although these people are likely also to find a need for a longer lens (probably the excellent 18-55mm "standard" lens) for much general photography.

This converter has great build quality and optically is much better than expected. It is unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lens attachment, 4 April 2012
By 
Gordon R. Macgregor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Now that the price has come down I was more inlined to purchase this attachment. I am really pleased to say that the comments mase by several other reviewers regarding the improvement of image quality are absolutely true. I was surprised by this but pleasantly so. Although I specifically bought the lens for landscape shots it is also quite fun to use in closer environments; not quite a fisheye lens but you can deliberately accentuate the distortion for some good effects. The only serious criticism I have is that because of the integral lens cowl there is no means of attaching a filter, even a basic polariser which I would like to do for landscape shots. I will update performance after my visit to the Grand Canyon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful for my business, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
I bought this together with the fisheye lens for my Sony Nex 3. Both of them attach to the front of the F16 pancake lens which I already had. (You need to have this before you get the fisheye or the ultra wide). I'm a letting agent and need the wide angled lens to get the whole room in. I recently took photos of the same property I had previously done with the 16mm pancake, and the ultra wide got significantly more of the room in the photo. A real help to me for my business and a great find. Well done Sony for doing these, but why so little advertising about them? Several high street stores did not stock them and I only found out about them whilst doing an internet search when I had some time to spare. Definitely recommended. Be great for scenic shots too. Someone said the front bit cast a shadow over the photo but I didn't find this. Really pleased with this product.

Further to my earlier review above, I have to say that the front bit DOES cast a shadow on some of my photos. This is actually really annoying. I'm not sure you can't remove the front bit, or even rotate it. You are stuck with it in the position it is. So I do have some photos of rooms with a shadow in bottom half. Sony, please do something about this, that front bit should be detachable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
the 16mm lens doesn't add much on it's own over the 18-55mm kit lens, except for being more compact, but when you add the wide angle converter, it's very wide, equivalent to a 18mm on a 35mm. see this image of comparisons to make your own judgement [...]

NB: you cannot add the wide angle adapter to the 18-55mm kit lens (well you can, but the image is out of focus or cropped)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to the Nex, 30 Mar 2012
By 
Pat (Mid Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
A superb wide angle lens which ticks all the boxes for me. It enhances the 16mm lens and produces a really wide angle photo, ideal for town and city work but equally at home in interior shots and landscapes. Light, beautifully made and supplied with an super case this is a wonderful little lens which complements my Nex 5N.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Ultra wide converter, 22 July 2011
By 
S. C. Lee "Karpy" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Made to fit the 16mm pancake lens this takes a wide angle lens to an extra wide angle. It does not show any edge curl or blue tinge. It must have been developed at the same time as the 16mm lens. An excellent addition to the NEX-5 camera. Got to be the best £100 I have spent recently. Well worth the 5 stars. Even the lens case it comes in is excellent Sony quality. I can't wait for more E mount lenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great piece of kit, 4 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
I would expect to have to pay more for a Sony branded product of this quality and would certainly rate this as a bargain. It is a fantastic piece of kit, brilliant for landscape or cityscape work, group portraits or shooting interiors (we are due to move house soon and wanted to take some pictures of our current house - this lens really does give such a wider view of the rooms).

As others have commented, it feels like a really quality product, fits quickly and securely, and comes in a great semi-rigid zip up case for when not in use. I would say that this is an essential addition to your kit if you don't want to rely on kit lenses alone, and paired with the Sony 16mm prime lens (SEL16F28)you will be able to take some fantastic shots. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good it lives on the lens full time, 11 Aug 2011
By 
Paul S. Weaver (Brighouse, W Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
Nothing to add to the other excellent reviews - am far more likely to have this attached than not. I was initially worried that it might have a detrimental effect on image quality, but seems to enhance the result.If you enjoy wide angle and panoramic shots then don't hesitate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars super wide angle, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
THIS CONVERTER LENS IS GREAT, EVEN BETTER NOW THE PRICE IS REDUCED, ITS A MUST FOR ANYONE WITH A SONY NEX 3 OR 5. THE PHOTOS IT TAKES ARE EXTREMELY GOOD. THEY APPEAR SLIGHTLY BRIGHTER AND CLEARER THAN JUST WITH THE PANCAKE LENS ALONE, THATS NOT TO SAY THE PANCKE LENS DOESNT TAKE GOOD PICTURES BECAUSE IT DOES, YOU WILL JUST HAVE TO GET THE CONVERTER LENS TO SEE WHAT I MEAN. THE BUILD QUALITY IS NICE AS YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM SONY, AND THE CARRY POUCH IS ALSO GREAT QUALITY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good wide angle converter for NEX, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ultra Wide Converter for NEX SEL16F28 Lens (Accessory)
This item is the perfect converter for panorama shots. Its quite practical and easy to use and as far as I can tell, there is no noise in the pictures one takes with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews