Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World War One on a Shoestring.
American films about World War One are a bit thin on the ground, which is unsurprising considering their relatively late entry into the war. Unfortunately not late enough to save so many young men of that nation from the slaughter in the trenches. I recall memorable films like "All Quiet on the Western Front" and "Paths of Glory", and the more recent film "Johnny got his...
Published on 5 Oct 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I never knew that Ed Wood made war films.
A very poor effort here indeed; to be fair, the story aint too bad, its certainly not good I hasten to add; its just that this film is SO let down by the dreadful cheapjacking in the special effects dept. DUHHH! Just how stupid are these people, don't they know that its no good making a war film and giving it the large and then having virtually no action in it...
Published on 25 Sep 2010 by S. J. Hannaway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World War One on a Shoestring., 5 Oct 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
American films about World War One are a bit thin on the ground, which is unsurprising considering their relatively late entry into the war. Unfortunately not late enough to save so many young men of that nation from the slaughter in the trenches. I recall memorable films like "All Quiet on the Western Front" and "Paths of Glory", and the more recent film "Johnny got his Gun", but struggle to remember many others, so it was pleasing to see a film of more recent vintage by the director Robert Clem, covering that period. The film is based on the novel of that name by William March, born William Campbell, who based the story on his own experiences as a US Marine in that conflict. He was well qualified to write on the subject as he was involved in all the major conflicts the Americans were involved in and was even awarded the "Croix De Guerre" for bravery. His novel is brutally honest and does not avoid difficult truths.

In the film we follow the author through brief training with his company, and then out to the Western Front. The hideous barbarity of war on the front is brought home vividly with scenes of butchery in hand to hand combat, and the suicidal over the top marches into the machine guns. Private Delaney based on March is traumatised with one incident where he is forced to bayonet a German soldier. This is something that was to haunt the author for the rest of his days, and no doubt contributed to a serious nervous breakdown later in his life. The film contains much of March's powerful prose, which from the acclaimed author of "The Bad Seed", adds significantly to overall effect. The budgetary restraints on the film are all to obvious and there is no way that it can compete with the spectacle of films like "Saving Private Ryan", but by concentrating on individuals and the effects of war on them it succeeds well enough. There is a scene of American soldiers shooting prisoners, which no doubt happened, but is certainly not representative of the American treatment of prisoners in that war. The scene where Jesus surreally appears in the battlefield would perhaps have been better ommitted. Not one of Lem's better ideas! It was also nice to see the attention to period detail in the uniforms of both the German and American soldiers despite the shoestring budget. Lem has succeeded in making a decent movie, which is certainly a lot better than many bigger budget productions. Okay, perhaps not a classic but well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I never knew that Ed Wood made war films., 25 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
A very poor effort here indeed; to be fair, the story aint too bad, its certainly not good I hasten to add; its just that this film is SO let down by the dreadful cheapjacking in the special effects dept. DUHHH! Just how stupid are these people, don't they know that its no good making a war film and giving it the large and then having virtually no action in it.
Most people, myself included go and see a war film expecting a good moving story, excitement and plenty of well choreographed action, with realistic special effects, NOT some badly made cheapo like this one, sigh... yet another one for the computer, film and exchange shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
Truly awful, everything about this film is tripe.
Its obvious this is a straight to DVD film with a small budget, though how this got any funding im completely bewildered.
It has the feel of a daytime TV film with little pointless action scenes and its so boring, so save your money or buy a quality war movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. P. B. Broeders "Phil Broeders" (Wallasey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
I had great expectations for this film and they were soon dashed. It is disjointed, unconvincing and badly directed - and some of the 'acting' is laughably bad. This will sit on my DVD shelf as a reminder of why its important to read reviews before buying something. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars an insult to the many, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
Avoid at all costs, this film is total rubbish. Anyone who has done any research on the great war and trench war will soon realise that this "k" company, according to this film, never ever heard the mortars and artillery that could be heard in Paris and the mines that were heard in London when detonated. Set in a very neatly dug trench in an American wood and shot with no atmospheric sound etc, this film leaves a very poor impression. Sadly, countless thousands died in what can only be described as a living hell. This film is like watching bad actors play soldiers in a wood, so appallingly bad I could not watch. A true insult to the all who suffered and fought in the great war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Company K, 9 July 2011
By 
Mike Silk (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film because I have an interest in military history; bearing in mind it is a "12" rating, I was not expecting to see anything particularly graphic and on this point I was not disappointed. The film follows a platoon of Americans through the dying days of WW1, and is supposed to depict the horror, cameraderie and pointlessness of war.

Due to poor editing, wooden acting and a somewhat lacklustre script, this film does not do any of these three things; what it does do, however, is provide a diluted, "made for schoolkids who watch it for history lessons on a wednesday morning" kind of feel and I'm sure for this purpose it would be great. The parents can't complain as there's no "horror of war" (apart from one scene of a bayoneted German).

This could have been great, but for WW1 films it is unfortunately a bit of a turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 11 Jun 2011
By 
B. Olsen (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps the film suffers from being too episodic, since we don't really get to know the characters well, but apart from that it is a good portrayal of WWI trench warfare. Can't really understand why so many reviewers are negative, as I have seen far worse war films. Besides, films about WWI are thin on the ground, and while this may have been made on a limited budget, they at least got their facts right. Uniforms, weapons, aircraft etc. are spot on. Give it a try, if you have any interest in WWI, you're not likely to regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars STAY CLEAR, 6 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
One of the worst movies I have ever purchased in fact so bad , apart from falling asleep and never wanting to see it again...it stayed in the DVD for about 2 weeks before I remembered I had started to watch this drivel!!
On a scale of minus numbers.....its a Minus 100.

Total waste of money and time ( What little I did watch)

I am mad at wasting money on this.!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 'Germans heard the yanks were coming and just cleared out already', 23 May 2011
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
That is a quote from the film and might explain the lack of extras in this movie. This film is one I was not sure about as it has attracted such diverse and strong opinions. I am a fan of war films and as such decided to see for myself, and I must say that most of the accusations are sadly, correct. This is a low budget attempt to make a landmark book (same name written by `William March' a pseudonym and published in 1933). I think that is where the film falls down as the book is a collection of stories about all the soldiers. And was actually serialised, the film attempts to do this for much of the time. By so doing it has a stop, start feel that acts as a barrier to engaging the audience. As soon as any level of empathy builds up, the story is over and we are asked to engage again with anew character.

His autobiographical self sort of tries to hold the whole thing together, but the constant plot holes and lack of any sort of chemistry is a constant deal breaker. Many have complained about the set, and once again they are right. This is supposed to be 1917 to 18, and by this time the battlefields were a mass of mud and detritus. This seems to have been filmed in semi pristine conditions, with only a nod at realism with a fake looking skeleton, half buried in the soil (not mud). The special effects are neither special nor effective and what `action' there is passes quickly and is done in an unconvincing fashion.

**Bit of a plot spoiler coming up**. There is also a couple of very weird scenes, including a `Jesus' type appearance and a conversation with a ghost of a German he bayoneted to death, I know Mr March had a nervous breakdown and so his ghosts were probably very real. However, and this is a big however, if the film makers wanted to express this side of war, then the film should have done more about it and not been posited as a war film per se.

It is shot in colour with some monochrome scenes and original WW I footage, but if I were to attribute a real colour to this film, it would be grey. There is also some German and French dialogue, but no sub titles, but it is all basic stuff so I was fine with that, but it annoys some people. As others have said there are much better WW I films like `Beneath Hill 60' or `The Lost Battalion', or you could actually read the original book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unmoving, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Company K [DVD] (DVD)
From the outset it is clear that this is a low budget movie. A distinct lack of detail and realism coupled with pristine complexions, uniforms and sets do nothing to help this movie engage with viewers looking for some element of trench warfare realism. I watched it all the way through out of determination, but wouldn't again - nor would I offer it out to anyone else to endure. I buy most new 'war' dvds and accept that some will be damp squibs - this is certainly one of them. 'Beneath Hill 60' is better, 'The Lost Battalion' is far better (and now available in region 2 format)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Company K [DVD]
Company K [DVD] by Robert Clem (DVD - 2010)
£5.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews