Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars43
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2010
I saw the box set and thought well for the price you can t go wrong and in a sense thats true. For the price its excellent value and I dont regret buying. It full of interesting info about how the viking boats brought them their success and then their demise. Some interesting info about the origins conceptions and misconceptions about viking myths and people and how they lived. What it tends to suffer from is an American orientated history of the vikings. What I mean by this is that almost every CD is suffused with the journey to America and its controversial discovery by the vikings. All well and good it s an American comnentary so the bias is accepted as part and parcel. However the vikings were more and this could have been more evident throughout the series. Also as is often the case with docus they frequently go over the same ground albeit in a slightly different perspective. Given all that its a great box set and worth the money
0Comment|55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2010
The information in these DVD's is somewhat outdated such as the Viking discovery of Vinland as new information has become available. It is a good introduction however, and it should be noted that it is very well put together and generally good viewing. The graphics are a bit cheap but noting that as a criticism is a bit harsh.

It also focuses quite heavily on the Vikings in North America and lacks information on their European migrations and their general way of life.

I would recommend this box set to someone wanting a general picture of the Vikings in North America but would suggest against using this as a reliable source.

Commander Spoc also narrates it!
22 comments|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
I don't know what Denmark has done to the producers of this series, but when maps of Scandinavia are shown Denmark is left out. Only Norway and Sweden are on the map - and that's even when danish viking kings, events and places are mentioned.
That's amateurish!
55 comments|60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2010
I thought the information was rather bitsy, obviously assembled from different TV programs. The actual information I got could could have been shortened to 2 DVDs without any trouble at all.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2013
A very dissapointing 'gift pack'. I was glad it was a gift for me and that I had not brought it for someone else.
The box of six DVD's are called a gift pack and they are certainly not a set. There is no continuation from one DVD to the next but worse still there is lots and lots of repeating of the same information.
There are some good documentaries but they all happen to keep going over the same thing... vikings getting to America.

Unless you are studying vikings in America and need to be told the same things again and again avoid this, or watch one DVD every six months over a three year period so you dont get too bored.

The only reason I gave a two star rating was that it was so cheap for six DVD's.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
Very repeatative, We could have had the whole content in half the length without all the reapeted stuff, and it would have been very good and gripping even achieving a five star.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2014
Arrived on time, well packed. This set of DVDs is really a waste of DVDs. The 6 DVDS could have been produced on 2, as they are made up of the same people saying the same words over and over sometimes at less than 10 minute intervals. Put into the bin.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
6 DVD pack,but with all the repeat sceens and clips in every episode it could have easily have been reduced to a 2 disck pack
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
I got this for a Christmas present.

Strange perspective on the vikings - apparently they all seem to have lived in America, might have had something to do with sailing in the Baltic, and certainly never went east of Denmark or south of the Orkneys ! - or you'd be forgiven for assuming that from this set - highly repetative information and far from a revelation. I'd hoped to see a grand vista of Viking expansion which went from the US to Baghdad. Certainly a disk on the vinland discoveries had to be part of the set, but this dominated to the exclusion of almost everything else. Very dissappointing. for the price I guess one shouldn't moan, but don't expect to learn anything about vikings !
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
6 shortish DVDs, with fairly superficial content, dealing not with Norsemen in their viking-mode, but in their exploration/colonising-mode, in discovering/settling North America, some 5 centuries before Columbus' discovery of (South/Central) America!
The title is, therefore, something of a misnomer; the treatment (of this truly outstanding event in world history) insubstantial and often repetitive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)