Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy
This is a good light and makes a nice upwards glow. The only draw back is it get very hot when it's on so, if you have it on a carpet, put something underneath it that is heat proof.
Published 21 months ago by JP

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product but not fitting the description
It had good reviews emphasizing ability of the head to swivel. ( I bought same lamp some time ago and it swivels which is important for me ) But unfortunately it did not. I took off the bottom plastic base in one of them and noticed that the reason it cannot swivel is that there is a small screw connecting the top rim and the head preventing rotation. I managed to...
Published 19 months ago by P. Chlapowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product but not fitting the description, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
It had good reviews emphasizing ability of the head to swivel. ( I bought same lamp some time ago and it swivels which is important for me ) But unfortunately it did not. I took off the bottom plastic base in one of them and noticed that the reason it cannot swivel is that there is a small screw connecting the top rim and the head preventing rotation. I managed to contact the manufacturer and was told that due to some recent EU regulation lamps had to have fixed head so they had to put a screw. But obviously as my experience shows this was not conveyed to resellers and at that time swiveling head was shown even on manufacturers website!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
This is a good light and makes a nice upwards glow. The only draw back is it get very hot when it's on so, if you have it on a carpet, put something underneath it that is heat proof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg, 22 Feb 2014
By 
C. Peacock (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
The pros: very neat, attractive housing. The cons: the bulb fits with its face completely flush with the top of the housing, and with no gap between its circumference and the housing. This makes it incredibly difficult to extract the bulb to change it. Also, with no ventilation whatsoever, the entire unit gets VERY hot in use. My experience of other units which run very hot is that the life of the halogen bulb is dramatically reduced and, eventually, the ceramic bulb socket just crumbles away. If you try to solve the heat problem by buying an LED GU10 bulb, make sure you buy a bulb which is exactly the same size as a GU10 halogen. The Auraglow GU10 Remote Controlled Colour Changing LED Light Bulb which Amazon lists as "Frequently bought together" with this unit does NOT fit - it is too tall, and flops around inside the unit. If you're a DIY type, you can wrap aluminium foil around the base of the Auraglow until you get a snug fit (please do NOT use paper, cardboard or plastic) - but this is a very Heath Robinson solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden treasure, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
Handy little can this. Useful for illuminating dark corners. A tad steep, price wise for what it is. Bin that hot old halogen asap and replace with a bright, fresher and cheaper to run led. 'Nuff said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much smaller than I expected, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
I really should read the descriptions properly. Thought this would be a bigger unit but, to their credit there are plenty of pictures and details to show the exact size, I just didn't pay any attention. It's very basic in design and construction but it looks well built. It's nothing more than a GU10 light fitting in a metal case. In hindsight I would say go for something cheaper, especially if like me, you will keep it out of sight - mine is behind an arm chair to light up a dark area of the room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Swivel Head, 31 Mar 2014
By 
Ralph Goodson (Whiteleaf, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
I had the same experience as P. Chlapowski. I too expected the head to swivel and found the little screws that prevent it from doing so. Solution, I took the screws out. B****r the EU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overpriced also need to buy LED, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
This lamp is heavyweight but isn't worth the money. The casing has a couple of small paint chips and the bulb is very hard to get out.
I changed the bulb to an LED to stop the overheating mentioned in reviews, with no venting and a very tight bulb the supplied one would damage the unit and burn it out. For the price I would expect a LED bulb to be included and this would stop the issues posted.
Also the colour isn't pure white it is almost off white.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice simple design, just expensive poor value, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
£38.29 very expensive for what it is,. IE A metal box to hold a bulb...and suggestion it's RRP is £72.00 is laughable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... a lot of light and in the meantime can easily be blended with wall or hidden by furniture, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
Small and practical it brings a lot of light and in the meantime can easily be blended with wall or hidden by furniture. Really happy with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought a few of these Good quality Does exactly what it says Would buy more, 16 July 2014
By 
John Clifford (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firstlight 5080WH GU10 1 x 240 V 50 Watt Floodlite Uplight Table Floor Lamp, White (Kitchen & Home)
Bought a few of these
Good quality
Does exactly what it says
Would buy more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews