Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't judge a book by its price.
I've read many a book in this category & regardless of price it wouldn't be out of place against its dearer counterparts. This is a great story of survival & the indomitable spirit of man. Recommended.
Published on 22 May 2011 by Alan Robert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars My Thoughts in this Book
I have read the contents of the book in question and it just confirms what I have read on other occasions. My thoughts of the Japanese are definitely not that of the author. The British POWs, I have met, and there have been quite a few. Certainly would not share his thinking or remarks.
Published 9 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a very good book, 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
i have just read the brave japanese and i thougt its was a very good story you gould not immange being lockt away for all them years no food no docters just bullys looking after you if any ladys out there like reading war books read this one how lucky we were to have all the brave men to fight for use even now i am a female and since i got my kindle i must have read 20 war book my first review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Perspective, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
Has all the usual horrors and cruelty but offers a different view on their captors.

Seems well balanced and I guess a tribute to the Japanese civilians discipline at
the end of the war.

A really good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page turner, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
This man tells a good story, gives hero's and enemies alike their due respect and tells me of an experience I hope I will never know!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing title, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
I was intrigued by the title of this book as my previous thoughts on the wartime Japanese were quite opposite. It was a different culture and the punishmenst meted out were barbaric and completely against the Geneva Convention. It was therefore surprising that despite the punishments received by the "hero" he was still able to acknowledge the bravery of the soldiers. I would class this as "brain-washed" rather than bravery, but I am enjoying the book even though I get very annoyed over many of the happenings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Brave Japanese, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
An interesting review of one man's experience as a Japanese POW. For a change, in such personal stories, it is not merely filled with a catalogue of unremitting brutality - though there are plenty of examples of this - but the author reveals an honest respect for some characteristics of his captors. For a change, too, he is prepared to put the experience behind him, without malice, when the war and his brutal captivity are behind him. One is left feeling that there must be a good deal left unsaid in his remarkable story of survival but one is still left in awe of the incredible capacity that some humans have for refusing to be overcome by incredible odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISLEADING TITLE AND ONE WHICH ISN'T ACCEPTABLE, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Boris "Martin Lee" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
Although the title is in bad taste as far as I'm concerned the account of this particular part of the War in what was Malaya, now Malaysia, is first class and thoroughly recommended. I served in Singapore for 3 years with the RAF back in the early 60's and was surprised to read of the places I actually went to both on and off duty. Thoroughly recommend this book, couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a well written book, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read, both sad and humorous, but did not understand his statement the. Brave Japanese, and his feelings of no ill towards them after what he and his friends etc. had gone through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
I thought this book was excellent; extremely well written and captivated me to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Brave Japanese, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
A very good read, may be the title not the right one would recommend this book for price and content of story

may be the
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The brave Japanese, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brave Japanese (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book I have heard horror stories about jap cruelty l have been to Japan and endorse the author s view on the brave Japanese. I enjoyed the fact that the American 8th fleet is protected by Japanese destroyers based in San Diego to see the fleet sail is amazing cooperation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brave Japanese
The Brave Japanese by Kenneth Harrison
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews