Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really does make a difference...
Though the menus look a bit daunting, and the adjustments do seem to go back and forth, this really does make a huge difference to a Bluray picture.

You will say to yourself, probably more than once... "but I have just adjusted that!" don't worry. This disk is designed to first make big basic adjustments on your TV, and then gradually fine tune it to get to...
Published on 30 Dec 2010 by Sharon Woodward

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT a step by step guide!
Bought this after buying a new Blu-ray player, moving over from my old HD-DVD player.
If your thinking of buying this be aware it is not a step by step guide.
It has professional test patterns and a few demonstration materials.
The printed guide tells you briefly what patterns do and roughly how to adjust your tv but not in any great detail compared to the...
Published on 8 May 2011 by Matt Jetten


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT a step by step guide!, 8 May 2011
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
Bought this after buying a new Blu-ray player, moving over from my old HD-DVD player.
If your thinking of buying this be aware it is not a step by step guide.
It has professional test patterns and a few demonstration materials.
The printed guide tells you briefly what patterns do and roughly how to adjust your tv but not in any great detail compared to the "Digital Video Essentials - HD Basics" I had on HD-DVD, which I couldn't find on Blu-ray.

For instance, they give you a blue filter card which can be folded to alter x1, x2, x3 whatever that means? And doesn't explain in the printed guide?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It really does make a difference..., 30 Dec 2010
By 
Sharon Woodward "DGTW1" (A land where the Laserdiscs roam free!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
Though the menus look a bit daunting, and the adjustments do seem to go back and forth, this really does make a huge difference to a Bluray picture.

You will say to yourself, probably more than once... "but I have just adjusted that!" don't worry. This disk is designed to first make big basic adjustments on your TV, and then gradually fine tune it to get to just right. Just leave any pre-conceived ideas at the door and do what the disk tells you to do.

There are a lot of things on the disk that don't really help you in the calibration of your set, like the different animations involving the 'cone' and the 'racing car' I understand that they demonstrate the different audio and visual codecs that exist, that you TV will have to deal with, but as there is nothing you can really do about them, there seems little point in having them on...except as to pin-point exactly where your TV is falling short, and where is the appeal or helpfulness in that?

Still, stick with it, and when you get to the test footage section you really should see a huge improvement. It will all probably look a little darker than you would probably like it, but the first thing you learn is that all, yes...ALL, modern TVs factory pre-sets are all placed much too high. Once your eyes have adjusted to the newer and more accurate levels, you'll notice things you did not before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Calibration Disc, 14 Sep 2010
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
Spears & Munsil High Definition Benchmark Disc is an excellent resource for someone who wants to calibrate his or her HDTV and can't afford an expensive, professional ISF calibration. It costs about as much as any other blu-ray disc and yields great results. The test patterns were well explained and very easy to use. What I liked most about the test patterns is that they actually show you examples of what a correct setting on your HDTV should look like which really helped in getting the perfect settings on my 46" Samsung HDTV. The disc comes with a blue filter for fine tuning your sets color which is useful if your HDTV does not have a blue only mode. The disk includes clips and patterns to test your blu-ray player's and HDTV's performance. After you have gone through the test patterns you can check your results with the demonstration material included on this disk. The overall picture quality on my set greatly improved after using this disk. This is a much better calibration disk than the DVE disk. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Blu-ray calibration disc, 1 Jan 2011
By 
Paul Townsend (Bristol, South Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
I just bought Spears & Munsil High-Definition Benchmark Blu-ray Disc Edition from Amazon.co.uk Its a great Blu-ray calibration disc! if you own other HDTV calibration Discs, this one has a few unique features to offer that make it a great addition. If you are going to just buy one disc though and you already know how to setup the rest of your home theater, then I think this would be the one. At the same time we admit that this might be a little more advanced then some are ready for, and although we really like it, I think that the competition might be a better starting point for beginners who are also looking for help seeing up speakers etc.

This disc is filled with test material and calibration patterns to help home cinema enthusiasts evaluate displays and players and adjust their home cinema systems to get the best possible picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for setting up video but not sound, 2 Aug 2012
By 
GCW "scullsxx" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
I had an old DVD set-up disk that wasn't giving me good results so this looked ideal. Whilst you are not guided through the process on the disk the instructions explain each test so just work your way through them. Once done it is worth going through them again to fine tune everything. The result for the Blu-Ray player showed a marked improvement over my previous disk and setting the picture by eye alone.

One thing to remember is that the setting is only for the Blu-Ray video. Switching to watch a DVD or Sky resulted in a picture that was less than optimal but that is a problem with the other video sources rather than this disk.

I dropped a star off the rating because there are no sound set-up features on the disk other than some Dolby examples. It would have been nice to have had some sound calibration samples given the price of the disk.

It is also worth using the disk every month, or couple of months to see if the screen is changing and also maybe make a note of the final settings in case someone starts fiddling with them. Easier than trying to remember what they were!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good for video, 8 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
i expected settings for the audio as well. Unfortunately audio set up is not there. But if you need to calibrate image then it will do the job.
P.S. I am not professional tho...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine for amateur installers, 1 Jan 2012
By 
A. Howe (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spears & Munsil High-Definition (HD) Benchmark Blu ray Disc Edition. Picture Quality Calibration and Evaluation Tool for Displays, Blu-ray Players and Digital Video Processors [Blu-ray] (Electronics)
I got this disc as a replacement for my old DVD version of Digital Video Essentials. While DVE has served me well for many years, since I just got a new TV it felt like the right time to update my calibration tool - and I didn't want to pay a lot of money for a Spyder unit.

There have been some criticisms of this disc for not including any instructions - the instructions are clearly in the booklet provided and do a perfect job of handling the calibration requirements. Each test screen is shown on a loop by default so that you can read the instructions and carry out the adjustments before moving on to the next, and everything is laid out in a simple menu - something DVE didn't manage to do on their disc.

It is true that there are no audio calibration tools on this disc, but they shouldn't really be necessary - if your equipment is so sophisticated that you cannot lay out a 5.1/7.1 system by ear then this disc isn't for you anyway.

I was very glad to finally be able to dig into my system's more advanced tuning screens and adapt my picture to something far more realistic than the defaults allowed for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews