Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2009
James May must now surely be the most famous of the 'Top Gear Trio', and this book is just another example of his excellent writing skills.
Some I had already read from his regular column in The Telegraph, but were a joy to read again. He is a fine example of a writer, who writes in a form of a diary, sharing experiences from his own life, including his local,'Woman' and Fusker the cat.
More books please James!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
James May comes across as the most thoughtful and intelligent member of the Top Gear trio - this book further enhances that image. It's a collection of his newspaper articles and is largely car - centred, hence the title. You think of a famous car that the show has featured and it's almost certainly mentioned here either in passing or in depth.

However James does touch on other topics, but always with a witty, astute, slightly surreal eye that doesn't really come across fully in the TV programmes. Observant readers/viewers will recognise the flamboyantly floral blue and white shirt he wears in his cover photo and the shirt gets a little history of its own.

It's a great book for bedtime reading, containing little literary nuggets that will give you a quiet chuckle as you turn the pages.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
If you like wordplay, irony, self deprecation, humour (but not of the laugh-or-I-shoot kind) etc. this is for you. Don't be afraid, it's not about cars really, although they do come into it a bit, but it's mostly about the slightly foggy, clumsy, man-in-shed kind of bachelor, in short, May himself and the many non-adventures in his life which, apart from a few trips to places like Iceland, isn't very eventful or adventurous. Which makes it all the more fun to read about his battles (of sorts) with tools, pets, officialdom, colleagues (you know who), vague friends, someone called 'woman' and yes, cars and motorcycles. Delightful, wordy and inventive entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
I have never been so bored or patronised in all my life there are only a couple of articles that I can just make sense of, the rest i can just not follow as a presenter he is not bad but as a writer my word he sucks no wonder Jeremy Clarkson's books sell better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
You do not have to be a car junkie to like this book. James May covers many subjects with insight and humor. I really wish he would write more books, an autobiography that covers his travels would be a great read. The projects he gets involved in would no doubt be a great second volume. I encourage anyone that likes a good story to read Car Fever.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2015
The butt of many a macho joke on Top Gear, May turns out to be a clever, funny and surprisingly thoughtful columnist, indeed far better than the other two. His everyday down-to-earth TV persona works well in print and without the distraction of TG silliness May strikes an almost philosophical note. The car here is less a petrolhead obsession and more a vehicle for May to recognise some of the smallish pleasures in life. This includes his view that posh cars are fine but "the car is still, and what its detractors say, one of the greatest adventures open to us". Even if you are driving a Skoda Fabia.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
Amusing in places and well-written throughout. Although I'm sure May himself would be first to admit that he does have a tendancy to witter on a bit about things that hardly matter, he does also occasionally display novel, eye-opening views on some subjects as a British eccentric should.

In his own pedantic style, I feel that 4* is a bit mean as I enjoyed this book more than all the other Top Gear offerings, but 5* should be reserved for literary titans, so I award this 4.333* recurring.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2009
In Car Fever,James May shares his amusing reflections on cars, the state of modern society and life in general. You are sure to find yourself laughing out loud at times at his clever turn of phrase and entertaining musings.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2010
As always, eminently readable. In fact, I gobbled it down in a day! Well worth buying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
I do recommend strongly this audio book. This is an inspiring story of the world around and red by James' relaxing voice. I covered miles in the rain with earphones and still can't go back home. Listened it several times and I will again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)