Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Sayers and her work
This is a nicely put together, if somewhat pedestrian anthology of short stories. Obviously, the stories featuring Lord Peter Wimsey are the big selling point (and in fact, he features in the first four), there are seven featuring Montague Egg and the last two are stand-alone stories involving neither character.

All of the stories are written with the skill...
Published on 20 Jun. 2007 by I Read, Therefore I Blog

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vintage murder mystery
More of a long 'short story'. A reflection of emergent information about identical twins, another plot line where D.L. Sayers picks up on topical scientific research of the time.
Published 11 months ago by G. van de Poll


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars D L Sayers at her best, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dorothy L Sayers is /was a great story teller; witty, funny, clever and always a twist, it is a classic, like all her books, a must read and kept to re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intrigue, 28 Mar. 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
"Hangman's Holiday" is a collection of short stories. There are twelve mysteries around the twenties and thirties England in this book, each stands alone but has a common feel; they are:
"The Image in the Mirror"
"The Incredible Elopement of Lord Peter Wimsey"
"The Queen's Square"
"The Necklace of Pearls"
"The Poisoned Dow '08"
"Sleuths on the Scent"
"Murder in the Morning"
"One too Many"
"Murder at Pentecost"
"Maher-Shalal-Hashbaz"
"The Man Who Knew How"
"The Fountain Plays"
It may be my perception but the mysteries get better and more intriguing as the next one appears. Then it is over.
I will not pull them apart as the fun is listening to them unfold. You may also want to look for the unabridged tape, as the narrator is Ian Carmichael who played Lord Peter Wimsey. He changes his voice for the different people and you can tell the difference. There is a statement that tells you when the tape side ends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 27 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Collection of short, pithy stories - some Lord Peter and some Montague Egg (the later not so much to my taste but the stories are good)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Bed-time read, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hangman's Holiday (Lord Peter Wimsey series Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
An old favourite, but the later Whimsey / Harriet Vane novels are superb. Try them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 14 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my mum, I was really pleased with the deal I got the price was really good would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hangman's Holiday (Lord Peter Wimsey series Book 9) (Kindle Edition)
Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews