Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loses 1 star for dialogue
1 star down because every other word was 'f' for one of the main charcters. I am not a prude but if you were to count them it would make up about 25% percent of the overall patter.
But there are many good points!
Oh my GOD! Is it possible to go back in time in a hot tub? Yes, apparently so. A boozy gang go back to the 80's in this light hearted swear word laden...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by Jackiesmackie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bubble Bath Boys.
I guess when push comes to shove, it is what it is and achieves its aims by pleasing the intended target audience.

Plot finds 40-something pals John Cusack, Craig Robinson and Rob Corddry stuck in ruts and magically transported back to 1986 courtesy of a hot tub. So basically the guys, still in their 40 something bodies get to relive 86 knowing what they know...
Published 7 months ago by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loses 1 star for dialogue, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Jackiesmackie "Independently Different" (UK, Blackburn) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
1 star down because every other word was 'f' for one of the main charcters. I am not a prude but if you were to count them it would make up about 25% percent of the overall patter.
But there are many good points!
Oh my GOD! Is it possible to go back in time in a hot tub? Yes, apparently so. A boozy gang go back to the 80's in this light hearted swear word laden lycra fest. Chevy Chase cameos as the mysterious hot tub repair guy. I wavered between loathing and loving it, the constant effing of one character was a major dialogue fall down but after a while that tamed off. The soundtrack was awesome! All my favourites 80's songs, all the people in vivid lycra and leg warmers, the retro touches where obviously heart-felt because they were fantastically well done, from the programmes on the TV to the posters on the wall. I wanted to be there.

Anyway, follow the characters through their journey where they have to not naff up anything they did there all those years ago. Incredibly hard to do given that so many bad things happened there, they want to make those things better by not having those things happen again. But they let their good friend down, their good friend whose whole life has gone downhill since then, again!

The feel good factor is in a weird and wacky outcome for all those involved after they re-assemble certain major events in time with hilarious results. A feel good movie that touches that nostalgic nerve. Kudos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Tub Time Machine, 12 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
I thought this was hillarious! Great comedy with a very funny cast. Dont be put off by some of the negative reviews for this film its well worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great way to pass the time, 3 Oct 2012
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
O.K.
The title is a bit naff, the script is a bit iffy and the time travel part of it doesnt really stand up to heavy scrutiny, but its a comedy.
Honestly, sometimes I wonder if some people need laughter tacks adding inorder to know if things are funny, I fully understand that not everyone will find it funny, but to criticise a film because it does not have enough sjkiing in it is a little beyond me, after all, who can remember the now famous "Strange adventures in middle class sports involving time travel" series, the most memorable being "stange adventures in 80s skiing" where 4 people go back in time to the 80s and spend 75 minutes skiing then falling over and people wondering why they were dressed diffrent and used boards instead of skis, hilarious, my favourite part was when the mai charactar fell over and broke his leg after getting his skis and sticks tangled. Another example in the series was "Strange adventures of Rupert bear in golfing" Where Rupert bear gets transported forward in time and gets confused for a 70s golfer because of hos trousers, he then spends the next 90 minutes missing balls, getting holes in one and having a tantrum, I was in stitches, laughing so much I nearly coughed up my spleen, the only downside of the entire series was the commentry in the the background......
Come to think of it, both these films could have been the reult of me watching sports programs whilst being under the influence..
Anyway, back to "Hot tub time machine" I didnt like the title, so avoided it for ages, but finally watched it expecting very little and was pleasantly surprised, yes I did find it funny, yes, as I said before, it has faults, but what the heck, it was a good way to spend some time and brighten up my evening.
Buy it you have a good chance of enjoying it, if you dont, then you are hard to please and should probably watch Ski Sunday or International pro celebrity golf for your laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mediocre at best, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
A film about a bunch of old guys and a young guy getting naked in a hot tub and then waking up in the '80's was an acceptable premise but ruined by the fact my mates made me watch it 15 times, then quotes me a lot of the really unfunny parts "great white buffalo", " what colour is Michael Jackson?" All the bloody day. Stuck in a closed environment with them quoting, misquoting and then rewatching it was just a special kind of torture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Bubble Bath Boys., 26 Jan 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
I guess when push comes to shove, it is what it is and achieves its aims by pleasing the intended target audience.

Plot finds 40-something pals John Cusack, Craig Robinson and Rob Corddry stuck in ruts and magically transported back to 1986 courtesy of a hot tub. So basically the guys, still in their 40 something bodies get to relive 86 knowing what they know already, if you get my meaning?

What follows is a load of raucous behaviour, man child histrionics and crudeness as the mid-life crisis’ come thundering out in a wave of bad hair, iconic 80s dudes and teen angst. The laughs are plenty, if a touch juvenile, and there is at least an air of regressive reflection trying to make its point amongst the testosterone.

It does a job, just. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 12 May 2013
By 
laidback (Manchester, Englad) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
As an 80s kid this does bring back some good memories of the time (and some dodgy ones). top film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest film I've seen for ages, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant concep, with a nice twist on usual time-travel plots. Hilarious, even after watching it a few times. Hope there will be a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD], 15 Feb 2013
By 
C. L. Podbery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Great film full of 80's rock music. A group of guys go back in time with hilarious outcome. All round funny film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love time travel, hot tubs and the 80's...., 6 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
...then you can't go wrong with Hot Tub Time Machine. It helps to have a silly sense of humour, or any sense of humour, to enjoy this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HTTM, 27 Feb 2012
This review is from: Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] (DVD)
Hot Tub Time Machine is an amusing romp through 1986 where a group of mates have travelled back in time via a hot tub at their ski resort.

Its very amusing and the, "Butterfly Effect," is evident upon their actions.

A feel good movie with an uplifting ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD]
Hot Tub Time Machine [DVD] by Steve Pink (DVD - 2010)
4.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews