Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hardy inspired rom-com with a cold edge
As most viewers are probably aware the story is a loose updating of Hardy's "Far from the madding crowd" and focuses on the amorous machinations in a small Dorset community that are provoked by the return of Tamara Drewe to her home village from metropolitan London.

I am quite surprised at the relatively low rating for this film by other Amazon users. I found...
Published on 10 Oct. 2011 by Aidan J. McQuade

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A confused film that somehow works... just
After a promising start the film meanders off into a whirlwind of plots before wrapping up surprisingly sharply at the end. It is almost as if Frears acknowledged that the film was drifting off into nothing towards the middle and hastily injected a dramatic twist to save it. The cast is good and the acting hard to fault, although I can't shake off the feeling that the...
Published on 2 April 2011 by Andrea Smith


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Hardy inspired rom-com with a cold edge, 10 Oct. 2011
By 
Aidan J. McQuade (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
As most viewers are probably aware the story is a loose updating of Hardy's "Far from the madding crowd" and focuses on the amorous machinations in a small Dorset community that are provoked by the return of Tamara Drewe to her home village from metropolitan London.

I am quite surprised at the relatively low rating for this film by other Amazon users. I found it an extremely funny, gently cruel movie, which touches lightly on some of the more confusing and painful truths of life, love, adultery and desire. In focussing upon the misadventures of folk associated with a writers' retreat in the village the viewer can take some comfort from the thought their schadenfreude is at the expense, for the most part, of a very egocentric and often unpleasent group of individuals. Of course the innocent and sympathetic get hurt in the process: that this truth is clearly put gives an appealing edge to the film and marks it out from the general, forgettable horde of rom-coms.

The cast are excellent but special mention must be made of Jessica Barden and Charlotte Christie who are particularly brilliant as the two bored local schoolgirls who act as a sort of Chorus to the antics of the adults of the village.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A confused film that somehow works... just, 2 April 2011
By 
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
After a promising start the film meanders off into a whirlwind of plots before wrapping up surprisingly sharply at the end. It is almost as if Frears acknowledged that the film was drifting off into nothing towards the middle and hastily injected a dramatic twist to save it. The cast is good and the acting hard to fault, although I can't shake off the feeling that the film tries to cram in too much and cover too many characters, flitting between all of them which makes it feel a bit more like a TV show than a film. In terms of genre I think it doesn't seem to know whether it wants to be a drama or a comedy and floats somewhere between the two. Ultimately it doesn't quite cut it as a comedy, although there are some amusing, witty lines in there. As far as the "romance" goes, the outcome is entirely predictable and thus a little disappointing.

This is not one of the best I've ever seen, not by a long shot, however the strong, realistic acting and the twist at the end, together with the odd chuckle the film elicits, just about keeps the viewer's attention throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Brit film, for a change, 1 April 2012
By 
McRonson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
Only sixteen five star reviews for this great film compared to twenty one star ratings? This won't do at all!

Make it seventeen five star reviews now - the mark of a good film is how much you 'buy into' or believe in it and if you don't like the actors or the film's concept then nothing will make you like it but for me, I 'bought' into Tamara Drewe very quickly indeed and found an awful lot to enjoy in this film, not least Gemma Arterton's exceptional uh, acting skills. And her short denim shorts.

Tamsin Greig, who was so good as Alice in BBC1s Love Soup series, of course, brings her typical understated style to this likeable, well cast and beautifully directed snapshot of rural England as Beth, the long suffering wife with the eternally philandering hubby played so convincingly by Roger Allam (cue a great moment of horrible honesty from said adulterous husband near the end of the film which doesn't sugarcoat his screwing around at all: scriptwriting genius, I say).

My only complaint is the character of Ben, Tamara's popstar/"rock star" (I use quotes round the words rock star as Ben is a member of a hideously accurate pointless indie band called Swipe), who has an obnoxious attitude more likely to be found in a thuggish penny ante career criminal than a pasty faced Post-Smiths/Oasis Indie "rock" musician (by the way, according to other reviews here, Dominic Cooper's Ben isn't the guitarist in this band, he's the DRUMMER!).

As mentioned before,like that other great British film Love Actually, Tamara Drewe also has moments of realism that counterbalance the humour and the middle england stereotypes and by the end of the film this approach really pays off in this respect so, if you liked films such as Love Actually and Helen Mirren film The Queen then you'll enjoy this film very much.

Its main strength is that it avoids populating the cast with annoyingly twee english caricatures (see Bridget Jones' Diary et al) and director Stephen Frears wisely decided to make the fictitious village of Ewedown that Tamara returns to look permanently warm and sunny and of course, the two bored school girls provide a fabulously amusing commentary on the rest of the villages' inhabitants with their annoying antics. They also have some great dialogue between them, too.

Lastly, before I finish here and head off to get a copy of Thomas Hardy's Far From The Madding Crowd and Posy Simmons Tamara Drewe graphic novel itself, men of a certain age may find here the saucy barmaid Andy Cobb 'romances' a lot more attractive than Tamara herself. Just a thought.....

Buy this film - it's excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Night In..., 8 Jan. 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I can see why people have said 'wasted cast' and 'didn't he used to make good movies...' about this Stephen Frears film, but I think that's been a tad harsh. "Tamara Drew" is a rather lovely watch in what is currently a sea of sequels and sewage.

Gemma Arterton continues her rise as a truly British star - she is lucious, soft, and hugely watchable as the lead. The others are all great too and clearly had a laugh making the film in the gorgeous English countryside. The story's better than most, the dialogue is very, very witty in places and the two teenage girls almost nick the picture from the more experienced leads.

OK - it isn't "Love Actually", but it's better than 'The Rebound', 'The Back-Up Plan', 'It's Complicated' and all that insufferably smug rom-com crap that is thrown at us by Hollywood. I thought it had heart.

And it looks beautiful too on Blu Ray.

"Tamara Drew" (like "Wild Target" - see review) is a nice night in. I'd say give it a whirl and never underestimate a nosejob...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 79 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, quietly amusing, very well cast, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
hillbank68 "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
This is an enjoyable film but not a remarkable one. Based quite faithfully on Posy Simmonds' 'Guardian' cartoon strip, which eventually became a 'graphic novel', it adapts some elements in Hardy's 'Far from the Madding Crowd' to a modern English rural setting. Tamara returns to the village in which she was brought up to renovate and eventually sell her former home. A kind of voluptuous innocent, she has affairs with Ben Sergeant, a scowling pop guitarist, and Nicholas Hardiment, the fairly loathsome local author (who runs with his unfortunate and much betrayed wife a retreat for aspiring writers). All the while she is idolised by the decent young lad with whom she grew up, Andy Cobb. The guitarist drifts away, the author gets his come-uppance bigtime and all is well at the end.

There are parallels with Hardy in character and situation but not at all in atmosphere. There are moments of genuine pathos in the film, particularly with Hardiment's wife Beth, but it is largely gently humorous, with absurd situations playing off each other to raise a smile. It is always watchable and often funny. On the level of pleasant entertainment, it succeeds.

The film is very well cast and very well made. Gemma Arterton, who has real screen presence, is excellent as Tamara. Roger Allam and Tamsin Greig as the Hardiments are absolutely right for their roles, and indeed Tamsin Greig is one of the big plusses of the film. Bill Camp, Dominic Cooper and Luke Evans are all fine as a kindly American writer, the smouldering guitarist and the decent Gabriel Oak figure. There has to be a special word for Jessica Barden, really first-rate as Jody, a star-struck fifteen-year-old whose adolescent interference sparks some important plot developments. It's well directed by Stephen Frears and the countryside looks just a little to good to be true, which is as it should be in this film.

Recommended? Yes. Should you cancel everything to rush to the cinema to see it? I don't think so ; but it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An odd mixture, 10 May 2011
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
The film differs from its original source material by being a hybrid of some very funny moments coupled with much darker elements. Far from the Madding Crowd (Wordsworth Classics), like pretty much all Hardy's novels, is a mixture of black and the even blacker. In between Hardy and the film of course it was a graphic novel serialised in the Guardian; and the charm of Posy Simmonds' drawings has been retained.

I don't suppose this version of the story will have the longevity of Far From The Madding Crowd [DVD] and I'm too old for Gemma Arterton to replace Julie Christie in my affections, but it does contain some lovely performances, most notably from Tamsin Greig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light-hearted British comedy with a superb cast, 1 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
I was somewhat surprised at how much I did enjoy this comedy. Gemma Arterton plays Tamara Drewe, a young and attractive journalist, returning home with the intention of selling her now-deceased mother's house which she has inherited. She is particularly stunning in this role. The support cast are also brilliant in their roles, in particular Dominic Cooper with whom Tamara has an affair. A film about relationships and sticking your nose into other people's business, I think most audiences will enjoy this harmless British comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British farce with heart, 27 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A lot of reviews focus on the sunday BBC feel of Tamara Drewe and though there is evidence for this, it's far better than anything you'd find on TV. It's rare that a character piece like this gets a theatrical release and I found it well written, entertaining and well performed throughout. It's no masterpiece but if you like Miss Marple and or Gemma Arterton then you'll like this quirky British comedy quite a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Attractive But Flawed, 12 Sept. 2010
By 
H. meiehofer "haroldm" (glasgow, scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
Like many of its characters this film is attractive but flawed.

The story centres around Tamara Drewe, an ugly duckling who becomes a beautiful swan (with the help of a bit of rhinoplasty). She returns to the village of her birth having become a successful journalist who has adopted the metropolitan lifestyle. Not to anyone's great surprise she is seduced to some extent by this rural idyll.

Another important factor in the story is the writer's rtreat run by the wife of a famous crime novelist. Whilst the characters here are a bit clichéd they do provide some good laiughs.

One of the few constants in this tale appears to be inconstancy. Quite honestly fidelity of any sort just seems to fly right out of the door. Sometimes this appears to be justified revenge, but in most cases it does appear to come from a sense of ennui and frustrated ambition.

Now this might make it appear like a rather grim affair, which it clearly is not. The film is essentially a romantic comedy. It is quite light hearted and some of the comedy is excellent, particularly the pursuit of a pop star by a teenage fan.

This is not a great film, and some may dismiss it as an "Aga Saga". However the performances are excellent, and whilst it could have benefited from a bit more comedy, this makes a fine romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars give it a go....................., 22 Jun. 2011
By 
Ms Farrow (Norfolk. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tamara Drewe [DVD] (DVD)
I am surprised at the low star rating for this film. I really enjoyed it. Perfect for a rainy afternoon and I have seen some films with higher ratings that are awful. This is a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tamara  Drewe [DVD]
Tamara Drewe [DVD] by Stephen Frears (DVD - 2011)
£3.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews