Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A familiar story from an original perspective
I happened to pick up Outlaw by chance and I'm thoroughly grateful that I did. There are very few people in Britain that don't know the Robin Hood legend, and it seems everyone wants to tackle it lately with books cropping up all over the place and a new film on it's way. So, I wasn't sure what to expect from Outlaw - perhaps a jolly jaunt through the traditional...
Published on 5 Sep 2009 by R. Griffin

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loads of scope, lack of execution.
Let's start with he following; if you are a fan of Bernard Cornwell then you will be disappointed and you will ask for your money back (as per the promotion on the front cover). On the other hand if you have never read Cornwell then this is a reasonable start if somewhat let down with some obvious and rushed plot lines. I like my historical fiction to be well researched,...
Published on 9 Nov 2009 by Dazzla


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A familiar story from an original perspective, 5 Sep 2009
By 
R. Griffin (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I happened to pick up Outlaw by chance and I'm thoroughly grateful that I did. There are very few people in Britain that don't know the Robin Hood legend, and it seems everyone wants to tackle it lately with books cropping up all over the place and a new film on it's way. So, I wasn't sure what to expect from Outlaw - perhaps a jolly jaunt through the traditional myth.

What Angus Donald has actually done with his first book, is write a story which at it's heart is a coming of age tale. The reader follows the story of Alan, a young boy just beginning to approach manhood, who lives day to day on what he can snatch with his own two hands. It only takes one ill-fated instant for his entire life to take an entirely different turn, and Alan finds himself under the protection of Robin, the outlaw lord of Sherwood. As the story develops the reader is confronted with the same conflicting notions of Robin as Alan, a boy who is both in awe of a man who has already become a folk hero and horror at the violent brutality of a man who will shy at nothing to achieve his goal.

Donald handles the Hood myth with care, introducing all of the traditional characters respectfully but in a historically believable way. He conveys the hardships of life at the time, the political turmoil and the rarefied notions of nobility despite the day to day squalor of life.

All in all, an exciting and enjoyable read. Full of vicious battles, poignant moments and a well written historical setting. It's a good début and I think both the writing and the story will improve from here. I look forward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original Take on Robin Hood, 17 July 2009
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
With Robin Hood currently being back in vogue with many authors tackling the famous outlaw, few seek to strike out on their own as well as Angus Donald as he tells the tale from Alan Dales old age as he looks back on his past as a cutpurse and soon to be outlaw. The tale is not only well written but told with a freshness that has a sense of history injected as the tale clearly shows. You can't help but be drawn into this world through the characters eyes as the brutality of the age meets the cunning of well matched chess opponents. Add to the mix a realistic sense of adventure and the promise of more to come and its definitely a book that could be used to help the Young Adult in your home cross to the world of Historical Fiction in one easy step. I'll look forward to Angus' next novel Crusader currently scheduled for a 2010 release date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story - well told, 24 Sep 2013
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I found this thanks to an Amazon recommendation (when looking for something completely different!)

I have now read the first four in this series (Outlaw, Holy Warrior, King's Man and Warlord) with delight.
The author takes a realistic view of the life and times of one of England's more colourful legends, and imbues his stories with well written descriptions of the places that our hero visits.
There is a splendid sequence in one of the books, where the narrator (Alan Dale) is going down the Thames in a little boat and describes the various "little villages and open fields" around places like Battersea... great insights!

Plenty of historical events to hang the stories on - whether the Crusades, or the struggle between King Richard and his "dastardly" brother John (... segue into A A Milne... "King John was not a good man, he had his little ways, and sometimes no-one spoke to him, for days and days and days", sorry - don't know where that came from (!)).

This Robin is a little bit of a super-hero, always managing to escape from certain death, and having a "Hustle" [TV] style way of always having a cunning plan, which is never outlined before it happens... which adds to the fun of the stories - how WILL he manage to escape this time!

If you have enjoyed Bernard Cornwell's Authurian series then this is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping from start to finish, 6 Sep 2013
By 
prestonbornlass (hibernating till summer) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What a wonderful swashbuckling read! Gruesome and nasty in places a brilliant story of battles song love and loyalty. Written at a frenetic pace, I found I read it at that pace too. Can't wait to get on to the next book in the series and yo follow the story of Alan Dale and Robin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Debut, 21 July 2011
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have always been a fan of Robin Hood, i suppose it has something to do with being named after him and then eventually ending up living in the back yard of the exploits of the Man/ Myth.

When this series started it was with a part groan part apprehension that i picked it up, so many times i have read the tale and its been awful prancing Nancy's in tights, and then there are the movies, inc the recent Russell "where the hell is that accent from" Crowe version.

But All of that gets thrown to the wind with Angus Donald's books, this is a different Robin Hood, this is a man who protects the poor, but at a price, this is a Robin Hood where there is still mystery and Awe, but also fear, in the same way that Pacino gave mystery and Awe to Michael Corleone and he was still feared.

Angus Donald's writing its self is excellent, tight, fast paced, descriptive without drowning in it and detracting from the plot, and the pace so well set you have finished the book before you know it.

This is a book as with the whole series you simply must buy: Its An offer you can't refuse.

Highly recommended

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent take on a old story, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like many people grew up reading and watching Robin Hood in various guises and whilst a number of them still hold a place in my heart I always felt they lacked a certain ruthlessness needed by an outlaw.

Not to mention a less chivalric depiction of the middle ages.

Angus Donald successfully brings medieval England to life and gives it a feeling of authenticity often lacking in more family friendly depictions.

The casual violence and different-ion of the classes builds a compelling and believable setting that transports you back to a dark time.

The characters are powerfully built and as the reader you believe in the story and are held rapt till the end wanting more.
(Well if your anything like me anyway!)

Well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really enjoyable book and a cunning plot based on the stories I heard as a kid about Robin Hood...and the book arrived prior to expectations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must be Read., 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book - bar the usual misprints of this publishing house.
I read 3 of the series after this before gaining this - it is a 'stand alone' historical novel that certainly delivers the enthusiasm of the author to readers of this genre x Only the publishing house let this author down.
Not so much in this print, thankfully x
Holy Warrior (bk2) was an agonising journey of 'proof reader' mistakes and still encouraged me to explore this author further.
Excellent and vibrant - a recommended read x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Howle Hammer (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Prompt delivery as described. Will order from again. Fine seller, many thanks and best wishes. What I have come to expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great book., 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A good read . a lot of action from start to finish. A different story about Robin Hood . very enjoyable. I have got to read book 2 now .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outlaw (Outlaw Chronicles Book 1)
5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews