Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for in the car
I bought the download version for 5.00 so at under 10 pence a track its really great value.
True there are some tracks that now I have listened to it from start to finish without skipping a track I won't be so kind to in the future.
But the real shame as highlighted by other reviewers is that the title is misleading and does a great diservice to all the...
Published on 7 Sep 2010 by Chasmanp

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheese -tastic
Some great quality tunes on here, but also, in my opinion, a few too many filler tracks. This is why I gave a 3 star rather than 4 or 5. It probably deserves a 3.5 really as it is above average and great fun but not exceptional.
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by O. Street


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for in the car, 7 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Anthems (MP3 Download)
I bought the download version for 5.00 so at under 10 pence a track its really great value.
True there are some tracks that now I have listened to it from start to finish without skipping a track I won't be so kind to in the future.
But the real shame as highlighted by other reviewers is that the title is misleading and does a great diservice to all the fantastic music that the US of A has produced over the years in favour admittedly of some great stuff produced in the UK. I daren't start listing artists missed off but there are some glaring omissions that have been identified by others.
What I really like about the compilation is having the essence of all the driving cassettes that I bought in the 80's, when I had hair and weighed substantially less, in one handy collection, so my advice is get over the fact that its not "All American" but enjoy what it has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLANT, 5 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
Very good songs and excellant value for 3 cd's.

Thanks very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American classics!, 24 May 2010
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
I picked this up today and it's a really great collection of all-American tracks (obviously!)
Mostly rock - Journey, Heart, Chicago, Foreigner etc, but then also some brilliant songs from soundtracks such as Flashdance, Karate Kid, Top Gun & Rocky. It's 3CDs, so is good value too. Perfect for the sunshine and an open top car, though for me it's unfortunately more likely to be the M25, rather than Highway 1...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 31 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
I love this, it has all the songs I have bought over the years, but all in one place. It brought back lots of great memories. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "High-Spirited Music Collection", 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
"American Anthems" is a fantastic set of eclectic musical hits compiled on three cds. Many of these songs have a happy summer theme and can be played at various parties, picnics, and/or barbecues. This collection is very well put together and contains many soft rock, classic rock, country, and pop classics. I understand that others reading this may have their own personal favorites. There is something for many people contained in "American Anthems" because there are 60 musical tracks. However, I have decided to list some of my personal favorite songs to assist in deciding if "American Anthems" is for you:

From Cd One:
"Don't Stop Believin" by Journey
"I Want to Know What Love Is" by Foreigner
"Amazed" by Lonestar
"Sunny Came Home" by Shawn Colvin

From Cd Two:
"Is This Love" by Whitesnake
"Heaven Is A Place On Earth" by Belinda Carlisle
"Drops of Jupiter" by Train
"Take My Breath Away" by Berlin

From Cd Three:
"Eye of the Tiger" by Survivor
"Wherever You Will Go" by The Calling
"We Built This City" by Starship
"The Way It Is" by Bruce Hornsby

"American Anthems" is a fantastic compilation to get if you are an eclectic music lover who enjoys classic rock, pop, and/or rock music that you can play at home and/or out in the public arena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the thing for cruisin', 16 Jan 2011
By 
J.T.H. (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
I find this a super album set for my long drive to work,the journey goes that bit smoother.To listen to a compilation like this is is so much easier than making my own compilations.Almost all I want on one album when driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Albumn, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Mrs. S. A. Lee-chappell (Dordogne, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
Although I would not class some of the songs as American anthems, the variety is good and it makes brilliant driving music. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Driving Music, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
What an album! Great when you're bored driving down the motorway, or just driving to work. So many of the good old favourites are on this album, and more besides...it'll have you trying to guess what songs they are by the intro! This hasn't left the car since we bought it! Would highly recommend if you're a fan of the Power Ballad albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'WALL TO WALL' ......''QUALITY'', 23 Feb 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
for as long as the charts have been in existance there has allways been a
strong 'american' presence.
looking back on it, must admit i'm a little suprised there hasn't been a
lot more albums available such as this......a earlier reviewer wrote that
every number was a winner on this 3-CD set......spot-on 'it's brilliant.
this compilation covers many of the great songs and names spanning a 30 year
or so period, although to be honest around 60%-plus is from the 80's.
among the tracks on board 'foreigner's' -'i want to know what love is' ( allways
a firm favourite of mine ) 'the cars' -'drive' (an all time classic) 'billy idol's'
-'white wedding' (a must own track) 'santana's'- 'she's not there'(a great power
ballad) also from the 'rocky' films 'survivors' -'eye of the tiger'
no 'american' power ballad or anthem album would be the same without a 'tina turner'
track--this album has 'what's love got to do with it' on board along with 'meatloaf/
cher's' -'dead ringer for love' the'america'track on board is a re-recorded version of
of their 70's hit, also the massive hit from the film 'top gun' 'berlin's' -'take my
breath away'(one of the all-time great pop-sounds) just love this album, other artist's
include 'patti smith'-'journey'-'chicago'-'jennifer rush'-'boston'-'cyndi lauper's' version
of 'true colours' -'cutting crew'-'hall and oates'-'the calling'- along with 'david gates'
(bread's) great love ballad 'baby i'm a want you' -not forgetting one of the all-time
great 'american. anthems written as a tribute to 'buddy holly'-'don mclean's' -'american pie'
in truth every artist on-board is worthy of a mention-however have to stop somewhere--just
check-out the track list, i'm sure you'll agree this 3-CD compilation is just too good to miss
---------enjoy.
'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars anthems, 9 Jan 2011
By 
T. Flynn "metalqueen" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: American Anthems (Audio CD)
Mainly great- particularly for driving to. Just a couple of dud tracks. But Billy Idol American ? Thought he was form Bromley in Kent?
3 cds - great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Anthems
American Anthems by Various
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews