Customer Reviews


827 Reviews
5 star:
 (582)
4 star:
 (138)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know what your are buying
The HP 301 is a very small in cartridge containing 4-mL of ink and costs between 7-12 pounds. It says it will print "up to" 190 pages from 4 ml of ink.

Consumers beware 4-mL of ink is only 4-ml no matter how you spin it.

A canon 520 black contains 26-ml of ink and costs around 8-12 pounds.

Now every one who bought a printer that takes the...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by G. Smith

versus
261 of 271 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hp 301 Black Cartridge, Low Page Yield 3mls (Starter Cartridge)
When HP sell you a new printer (Deskjet 3050) they only give you starter cartridges with it which hold a very small amount of ink in them Hp 301 black 3ml and the Hp 301 colour 9ml cartridge. I was using about 3 black and 2 colour cartridge per month and it was costing me a small fortune. I later found out that Hp do higher yield versions of the 301 cartridges, which cost...
Published on 20 Nov 2011 by STEVEN


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

261 of 271 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hp 301 Black Cartridge, Low Page Yield 3mls (Starter Cartridge), 20 Nov 2011
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
When HP sell you a new printer (Deskjet 3050) they only give you starter cartridges with it which hold a very small amount of ink in them Hp 301 black 3ml and the Hp 301 colour 9ml cartridge. I was using about 3 black and 2 colour cartridge per month and it was costing me a small fortune. I later found out that Hp do higher yield versions of the 301 cartridges, which cost only a few pounds more but hold far more ink in them than the starter cartridge which I was using before. What you need is a HP 301XL on the black which hold 12mls of ink rather than the 3mls of ink that is in the 301 starter black cartridge and on the colour you should be using the HP 301XL colour cartridge which holds 11ml rather than the 9 that's in the 301 starter cartridge. I can even go one better, I now use a company called advantage online who stock the Hp 301XL originals plus do a British premium compatible 301XL bk and 301XL colour cartridge which hold 18mls black and 18mls colour. I have used them a couple of times so far and have been quite impressed. I hope you don't fall into the Hp trap of selling a very good printer (Deskjet 3050) at a very cheap price and then trying to charge you load of money for starter cartridges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you know what your are buying, 1 Nov 2011
By 
G. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
The HP 301 is a very small in cartridge containing 4-mL of ink and costs between 7-12 pounds. It says it will print "up to" 190 pages from 4 ml of ink.

Consumers beware 4-mL of ink is only 4-ml no matter how you spin it.

A canon 520 black contains 26-ml of ink and costs around 8-12 pounds.

Now every one who bought a printer that takes the hp 301 has been royal conned by HP.

now to an hp 301 colour 6-ml of ink thats right just 2-ml of yellow 2-ml of cyan and 2-ml of magenta. 2-ml is 2-ml HP no matter how one spins it.

The product however is excellent at what it dose but like a cheap battery runs out very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible value for money, 17 Aug 2013
By 
fitnessmad (Lytham St Annes) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
All i can say is that it advertises 190 pages for the cartridge and i got 43 pages (not even of full text)

Therefore false advertising, poor product and terrible value for money.

Wont go into the details of the levels these cartridges hold as many other people have done reviews explaining this.

If you still want to use HP products then go for the XL version of the cartridge (although you still dont get what you pay for but it lasts a bit longer) or go with a cartridge refill company for a fraction of the cost.

Failing that use a different brand. I have started using the Brother make of printers and i find the cartridges are much better value for money and most cartridge refill specialists do cheap brother cartridges for very little expense

Long term HP will cost you a fortune!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars H 301 colour ink, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Roy Hewson "B. Hewson" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always used an HP printer and think their colour ink cartridges have a true colour match when printing photographs. The newer 301 cartridge seems to be less expensive than the ones for older printers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great delivery great service poor quality, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
I began printing my work after about 8 pages it came up with low ink so i had a look and the entire back was gone from the cartridge.. it may have been a dodgy batch as the colour one was fine but i am sooo dissappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars fake hp cartridges, 8 July 2012
By 
N. Cortese (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
These cartridges run out very quickly and my printer notified me that it was not a genuine hp cartridge. I am in the process of reporting this to hp also. I have received this notification twice now about two separate cartridges. DO NOT BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hp 301 black ink, 16 Oct 2011
the product arrived on time and is in good condition.
i always order my ink with this co. and they haven't let me down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISAPPOINTMENT, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
I chose it because it was cheaper than the original HP but as it turned out it was not as cheap as Staples at the time.but not only that it did only half the average number of photcopies it was supposed to do. I would not buy it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never worked, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
We installed this ink cartridge on receipt and the ink never flowed correctly.

It is only now - 2 months later that my Husband worked out how to analyse the problem, and the diagnosis was that the Printer Ink was counterfeit - not our words but that of the printer diagnosis. Extremely disappointed as all the feedback had been good so we had felt confident in buying from this source. Unable to return now as outside the return window
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor product, 19 Mar 2011
This review is from: HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge (Office Product)
Unusual for an Amazon product but this cartridge ran out of ink after less than 25 pages. It could be that it was beyond the sell-by date or that it had been stored in an inappropriate environment. I will have to buy a replacement cartridge immediately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 283 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HP 301 Black Ink Cartridge
£9.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews