Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sackboy's back even better than before!
Before I start this review about the main game, I would like to mention that when you put the disk in you get two disk options on your PS3's XMB:
The main LittleBigPlanet 2 game and another named "Extras"; on the extras you have three things to choose from:
*Sackboy's Prehistoric Moves, which is the Move capable game.
*ModNation Racers Demo...
Published on 21 Jan. 2011 by MyKeyReviews

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother buying
Not a lot to say about this game.
No where near as good as the first one.
Don't take long to complete.
Published 18 months ago by Gillian Smith


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sackboy's back even better than before!, 21 Jan. 2011
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Before I start this review about the main game, I would like to mention that when you put the disk in you get two disk options on your PS3's XMB:
The main LittleBigPlanet 2 game and another named "Extras"; on the extras you have three things to choose from:
*Sackboy's Prehistoric Moves, which is the Move capable game.
*ModNation Racers Demo.
*PlayStation Network Tutorial video with Sackboy & Steven Fry.

---

As for the main game itself, if you have a previous LittleBigPlanet save, you will be asked if you would like to import your profile over, if you agree you will have EVERYTHING that you had unlocked transferred over, this obviously includes all your costumes, materials, stickers, objects & your pod etc...

If you've played the first game you will know that there is an intro when starting the game, this one also starts out by giving you basic advice like how to customise your Sackboy, too controlling his emotions while of course giving credit to the makers of the game in a very creative way. Once you have gone past all that, the story starts with an epic and I really do mean EPIC movie sequence which shows off what you can do in this game. (Everything the makers of the game have done has all been done with the same tools you use in create mode).

At different parts of the story, the characters actually speak to you with a human voice explaining what's happening, this along with the fantastic camera angles, sound & light effects, really do get you stuck into the story line.

Story mode in LBP2 is a lot more challenging than the previous LBP game as there are more traps and obstacles to get through; also don't think that as soon as you have the "switch stickers" available you can get the prize bubbles straight away, no no no you still have to earn them. Through my in game experience so far I have had it so when I activate a sticker switch it unlocks a race start with grapple hooks that I have to use to get the items which were previously unreachable, to actually chasing some moving prize bubbles before they disappear! Another example is when a sticker switch unlocks the power gloves, which you then use it to throw objects at things to drop down the extra items. Even some mini-games you now unlock items by getting a certain score, so now you have an even bigger excuse to survive a longer time!

Now for those who haven't played LBP before, keep note that you can't just 100% complete a level on the first go, you have to do complete three things before you 100% each level:
*Level Complete - Complete the level, you do this the first time you play through the level.
*Collect all items - This may seem simple, but when you play the level through the first time you wont have the appropriate stickers to unlock the other items, so you will have to come back to the level later on in the game after you get the right sticker. Also note as this is a 1-4 player game, there are areas within the game that require more than just one person to get additional items.
*Ace the level - Complete the level without dying. (This can be done on the first go, but it can get rather tricky).

Create mode has now been modified to make creating your own levels a lot more easier by simplifying certain tools, and making some new ones available, all of which have a detailed yet simple tutorial to help you out, all of these are categorised perfectly and can be found in the pop-it menu when in create mode.
For the really advance creating, there are plenty of well described tutorials out there on the net.

If you want a break from the story mode or creating your own level, why not go online, there are over 3 million levels out there to play, which includes all of the old levels along with the constant adding of new ones. With LBP2 people have managed to make pretty much any genre game they want for example some people have made racing, first person shooters and role playing games!

A great addition I love about LBP2 is that if your connected to the internet other than the PS3, you can search and browse for other levels you want to play on "lbp.me", after signing onto your PSN ID you can add levels you want to play on your own personal "queue" play-list which will be available for you to view and jump in to when you next play LBP2 providing you are connected to the internet.

Overall this game gets top marks from me, it has a fantastic story mode which is not only fun and challenging, but also gripping, it has so many levels being made everyday, which makes this game endless with constant creativity by people all around the world. 10*/10*!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun for young and old, 3 Nov. 2011
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I bought this because the LBP1 brought many hours of playing pleasure to my older and younger children. I never really understood the concept until I paid more attention whilst my youngest was playing the game. It is quite intricate and the players who design the levels show a high level of creativity. There is a level about everthing you can possibly think of. The youngest is six, so the the game is set up so no one can enter into his game or talk to him, which keeps him safe whilst playing. He enjoys changing Sackboys image and spends ages figuring out how to complete certain tasks. It is a strange little game, but def. a popular one worth looking at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sackboy returns with new features, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. Martyn Poole "Rubix78" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I thought Little Big Planet would be around forever, with over a million player created level's to play, I didn't ever expect to see another game and so soon too. When LBP2 was announced I couldn't see how they could ever improve on the first game, I am pleased to announce that I was wrong.

First off, if you have a previous LBP save, you will be asked if you would like to import the original profile over, this will transfer over all your costumes, materials, stickers etc which is very handy to have when creating new levels.
The controls and feel of the game hasn't really changed, all the buttons still do the same things, customization is the same and there is even a small tutorial at the start like the previous game but without the cute music.

They have now added voices to some of the characters that guide you through each section which I felt was a bad idea and they should have kept things the same, if you complete certain parts of the story you can also unlock the costumes' of these characters which IMO doesn't really fit in with the Sackboy look.

The Story mode is much more challenging than the original, bringing in vehicles and games within games (a bit inception I know). The dynamics of the game have also changed for the better allowing the screen to move around from its classic 2D lock so you can now travel vertical.
Completing a level 100% still requires you to finish it without dying (ace), collecting all items and prize bubbles and obviously to complete the level, this should give you lots of play troughs opening up different areas . I did find it easy to get through the levels without dying until I got to the final chapter which seemed to step up the difficulty.
Vehicles can be a bit tricky to control at first but like everything in LBP practice makes perfect. Every level can be played on your own or you could join someone else's game. The only problem I found is when you have a person follow you from a level to your pod you have to go into another person's game to keep them because selecting to play alone will disconnect them.
The music choice is as good if not better than the original game and it really is fitting to the LBP world. What amazes me is how they manage to find these songs, at a first listen you know it's a LBP track it just feels right!

This is where I would normally put some bad points but I am struggling to find any, if you play on your own you won't see many issues but in co op especially 3-4 players you may see some slowdown which can be quite annoying and if you are after 100% you will need 4 players to get to certain areas. Apart from that I love the new design and game play.

I have yet to create anything but I am told it's just as easy as the first game but with a lot more options and freedom to create whatever is spinning around that brain of yours.

In summery LBP2 is LBP but with a box full of added extra's and designs, it will keep you playing and playing as new levels are posted everyday and the only way I can see this game dying is A) Sony Shut off the servers, B) LBP3 is announced or C) The world has run out of idea's!
I would have loved the Collector's Edition but there were none around to purchase '

Long live LBP and Sackboy, I always smile when I play it. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Game Ever Created., 16 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
It all started for me in the early 90s with the MSX computer (when games were stored on cassettes) and Chuckie Egg, a super precise platformer that is very reminiscent of Craftworld (the game that would become LittleBigPlanet). Then there was Mario Allstars for the SNES (5 games in one cartridge), Tomb Raider, Abe's Oddysee, Metal Gear Solid, Grand Theft Auto, Uncharted and Fallout 3. These are the stand out games and series of my life. But none of them come close to LittleBigPlanet 2. Not even LittleBigPlanet.

Starting at the beginning it is immediate the step up that has been made. Even though the opening of both games are pretty much the same, in 2 it feels much more alive. Everything from LBP is imported over straight away, which was something that worried me. Media Molecule made it clear that it had to be backwards compatible, which they have succeeded in doing, but strangely some of the techniques used in LBP are now pointless because of the ease and efficiency of the tools in LBP 2.
And that doesn't just apply to Create Mode, the Story Mode is now in a different universe compared to LBP. Starting in Larry Da Vinci's Hideout, you are shown the ropes again, literally in the case of the natural and intuitive Grappling Hook that attaches itself to grabbable material. The next section, Victoria's Laboratory you are given the Grabinator, a pair of gloves that now allow you to pick up and throw objects and the Creatinator, a helmet that shoots out sticky cup cakes (which Victoria brilliantly names a "Sniper Trifle"). Combining the three with Bounce Pads (which are set to the exact height you need to jump) and the feel of the game is very different. Each new feature is steadily introduced with each section, so by the time you get to The Factory of A Better Tomorrow it's second nature.

The Factory of A Better Tomorrow and Avalonia are all about rescuing Sackbots. They don't just stand on the shoulders of the early Oddworld games...they fly a Huge Spaceship into orbit around their heads. And I consider those games the best platformers (even above the seminal Super Mario World), a mix of platforming and puzzles is great, but it's stuck in those confines. In LBP 2 you step outside those confines, one moment you could be riding a gaint caterpillar through a fiery maze, climbing a huge robot and even at one point being shrunken down Inner Space style to defeat a virus. As a game on it's own, it's epic...but it's not a game on it's own.

Create Mode is a bottomless pit of infinite possibilities. Things that were seriously hard before, are now achievable in 5 minutes. I once tried to make a FPS, using pistons and a jetpack, it took weeks and didn't really work. In LBP 2, you just stick a Controlinator and a Mover on a gun...that's it. The new tools give you much more time to do the stuff you want, not the stuff that takes a pointless amount of time. Microchips and Sackbots are other new features, combined with new logic tools you can make yourself an army. Recording Sackbot movement is pure genius, allowing for more complexed A.I routines, I got a Sackbot to fly a plane then land, get out and fly back. Also a change is how the game copes with how much you can fit in a game. It now efficiently works out how far you can push the game at any one time, instead of cutting you off because you made one complexed shape. Even though you are still using the 3 layers (minus the frankly essential layer glitch), the new tools, especially the Controlinator (which lets you map the controllers buttons to anything you like) that can be mounted in any direction, meaning you can make a wider variety of games.

There is so much to talk about. If I was only ever allowed to have one game, there is no question it would be LittleBigPlanet 2.

It truly does live up to the tag line "A Platform For Games".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lived Up To Hopes!, 3 April 2011
By 
schtocker (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
MediaMolecule were under intense pressure to make the second game better, because in plain terms, there wasn't much they could do with the games platform - it's a level sharing and creating and playing game, and that's what it always will be, and I was worried that maybe it'd just be the same as the first game, but with better graphics.

But MediaMolecule have proved me wrong. The game is fantastic and has filled all the holes the first game had. First of, it lets you play the levels people created on the first game, very good. Then there's the My Earth and My Moon which was absolutely genius, and was one of the things i thought the first game could've done with. The Story mode was fantastic, i wouldn't say better than last times, because last times was shrouded in mystery up until the final levels, but this was equally as good. The graphics were much better, the reaction of Sackboy when you moved your controller was much sharper. Create mode is much easier, but you still have more advanced options to make it difficult for those people who want to make extraordinary levels. And that leads me onto the games selling point, the fact that you no longer make levels, you make games. It takes a lot of skill to master to make, but it was something else the first game needed: another dimension. It works perfectly and the stuff people out there have created are amazing.

I thought that now i'd write something about the game I didn't like, but there is nothing. It's the perfect sequel and I highly recommend it. But, i have one worry. How are they going to top it with LittleBigPlanet 3?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brings out the inner child in you, 21 Feb. 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
It doesn't matter how old you are you will enjoy the game for what it delivers, a fun and creative experience similar to the first game. This is a great sequel and improvement from Little Big Planet 1. You can bring all the unlocked items you had from Little Big Planet 1 (costumes, downloaded content, stickers etc) and use it in this game.

The story mode is a very beautiful experience which will leave you with a smile on your face. The story mode can seem short however there is five levels and fun co-operative mini game levels in each stage (LBP 1 had 3 levels and other mini game levels in each stage). The soundtrack in the story mode will surprise you as you may recognise some of the tracks (which could make you laugh in the way you see it), the soundtrack is great as well as the first game.

Most of the game focuses on the creative aspect which is the user created content. Compared to the first game, the developers have chosen the levels/film sequences/games which they see as good (you can see what they have chosen under the MM picks) which is a good thing if you did not like the H4H in the first game(Heart for Heart levels which kind of plagued the first game as some people just wanted the trophies from it). You can also play the user levels from the first game as well or you can turn that option off if you do not want the levels from the first game to appear in the search.

The only problem I have with the game is probably the controls (grappling hook) however the controls are a major improvement compared to the first game. More user created levels will appear overtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this game is pure awesome, 17 Feb. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
ittle Big Planet was a great game, but when you compare it to Little Big Planet 2, there are some really major changes. In Little Big Planet 2, the most major changes are the new Creatinator, Controlinator, Grabinator, and the Sackbots.
The Controlinator, in my opinon, is the best. It lets you control an object that you create. You use this a lot in the story. In the story, you use it for flying bees, controlling a hamster thing, controlling a dog, controlling a bunny and much more. Using this in community creations lets you almost do anything.
The Creatinatior is my second favorite. It is a hat that lets you shoot stuff from a small cannon on the hat. You control this a similar way to the paintinator, but instead of paint, it shoots anything you want it to. You use this in the story by shooting cakes at monsters and walls.
The Grabinator lets you pick things up. It is very simple. You pick things up and throw them around. In the story, you use this to pick up and throw bombs, jelly, cake, and other players. The story even has a basketball level, where you have to throw a ball into the hoop. Speaking of the basketball level, This brings me to my next subject.
Versus Levels are very fun when you have two people, but they can be annoying or boring when you are alone, so this game is much better when you have a friend to play with.
Sackbots are always fun, but it is hard to find a way, in my opinion, to use them in your own level.
If you are interested in this game, get it the first chance you can, because this is a very good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice game!, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
I really liked the idea of the first LittleBigPlanet game, and bought it soon after it came out, and I was amazed by how unique it was and how much it wanted me to create things in its world. So when the idea for a second game came out, which would include all the things of the first, and more, I really liked it. So I ordered this game from Amazon as usual.
This game lived up to my expectations, it included all the things I loved in the original game, and added more tools to make it even more creative and fun, which were a pleasant addition to the game. The story mode is very much improved, as in the first one I was not really interested in the story, but mostly in the multiplayer. In this one though, I wanted to play through the rest of the singleplayer before jumping into the online play. The multiplayer is as nice as it is in the first game, as Media Molecule have decided to carry over the levels created in the original game, so I could continue with an unfinished level that I didn't have time to finish and publish in the first one. There is also PlayStation Move support, which I really like, as I believe in the power of Sony's Motion Controller, even though it did not sell well.
Either way, I did not feel as amazed as I was with the first game, which is the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5.
I would recommend this game to anyone who would like a different experience than the usual games out there. It is definitely a must have if you own a PS3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Excellent!, 15 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
Ok, not only is this game massive fun in Story Mode, but you have limitless possibilities for your creativity in Create Mode, and the ability to play with your little SackBoy's costumes and environment. The costumes and hairstyles are totally amazing, and took up alot of my time! If this isn't good enough, you have the utter joy if Stephen Fry guiding you through the whole sha-bang!
An amazingly endearing and heartfelt game, much fun to play and create with, which doesn't lose. Oh, you can also share your created levels, and play other peoples. AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A break from the typical!, 8 Dec. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) (Video Game)
As an adult, I was a little on the fence about buying this game, which explains why I'm a little late to the party. But I'm really glad that I gave it a chance. This game is pure FUN. Sackboy is a great little character who is not only fun to play, but also fun to customize.

STORY MODE: absolutely flawless. Each level of the story mode requires you to finish a minimum of 5 levels within it, with some bonus rounds also available. Each individual level is different than the others and offers something new. It looks like quite a lot of crazy ideas, imagination, and creativity went into making each level different from the other, rewarding, and challenging. I found myself mashing my thumbs on the controller sometimes and cracking up the next minute.

MULTIPLAYER: this is silly amounts of fun. You can either play existing levels with other people or you can play levels created by other players. I found some of the levels made by other players to be absolutely bonkers and ridiculously awesome. I'm not a huge multiplayer person so that's saying something.

The music, the visuals, and the story are quite gripping. One second you're throwing cup cakes, the next you're getting electrocuted. I highly recommend that Playstation owners give this game a chance or you don't know what you're missing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3)
LittleBigPlanet 2 (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£16.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews