Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


161 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected.
There are many apparently similar units available on Amazon, but as far as I can tell from the photos, they are all the same device: An LED ring lamp made by Neewer Electronics. Disregard any nonsense about which camera the device is suitable for. If there's adaptor-ring that matches your lens size, and you have a flash mounting on your camera, this will work with it. So...
Published on 19 Mar 2011 by Peter Piper

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Macro Ring LED Light for Canon
If you want a ring flash this it not for you as it is only a ring light ,you can switch from full lights to only left or right side light
, if you want to light small items, insects etc for macro without any control on power but just bring light into the viewing area then this is acceptable not the best build quality tho, the locking nut on the thread hot show...
Published on 29 Nov 2012 by JT


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

161 of 163 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected., 19 Mar 2011
By 
Peter Piper - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
There are many apparently similar units available on Amazon, but as far as I can tell from the photos, they are all the same device: An LED ring lamp made by Neewer Electronics. Disregard any nonsense about which camera the device is suitable for. If there's adaptor-ring that matches your lens size, and you have a flash mounting on your camera, this will work with it. So shop around and buy from a reputable and cheap supplier.

First impressions are good. The unit is well-packaged in economic but quality packaging. The instructions are in Chinese/English but to be honest you don't need them. The LED ring is powered by a coiled lead with a connector that fits into a unit that slots into the flash hotshoe on top of the camera. This unit holds two AA batteries within, or can have the supplied 3.3V adaptor connected. A switch on the battery compartment depowers the ring, or selects mains or battery power.

The LED ring itself slides onto one of six adaptor rings that screw onto the front of your lens. The rings are of acceptable quality and when, with care and a little trepidation, I screwed the adaptor onto the front of my Nikon lens, it screwed on smoothly. There is a switch on the LED ring that selects either left or right half of the ring to be illuminated or the full ring. The LED ring can be rotated on the adaptor ring to allow you to direct your "half" as you see fit. The rotation is a little loose but that could easily be remedied by most owners.

In use, the fact that it is a lamp and not a flash unit is a mixed blessing. One benefit is that for macro work, it allows easy focussing and provides what I would call a WYSIWYG facility that is not possible with flash, unless you take a test picture. The light is good, but like all unfocussed LED lights, the light intensity fades rapidly with distance, so don't expect to get strong light if used over one metre away. It works well when used within it's limitations.

THE DISADVANTAGE IS THAT IT IS THE PHOTOGRAPHIC EQUIVALENT OF UPPER CAPS TYPING. WHEN I APPROACHED MY WIFE TO PHOTOGRAPH HER, I GOT A PAINED, SQUINTING EXPRESSION WHICH IS "ONLY TO BE EXPECTED WHEN YOU'RE POINTING THAT RUDDY SEARCHLIGHT AT ME. NOW TURN IT OFF!!!" I would respectfully suggest that this is not a unit that would be ideal for portrait work, unless you're building a portfolio of squinting people.

Interestingly, I noticed that the battery unit had a tripod thread machined into the underside of the hotshoe plate. A minor, but thoughtful addition that may come in useful if you need to use your camera hotshoe for another device.

Overall, I am very pleasantly surprised by this device. I bought it as a cheap supplement to my existing flash, and for under £33 delivered, it satisfies that requirement but also manages to exceed my expectations by being better engineered and manufactured than could reasonably be expected for the price.

The Neewer LED Ring light is well worth having amongst your kit!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macro Ring 'Flash' LED Light, 23 Aug 2010
By 
G. W. Beakes (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
First and formost this IS NOT A RING FLASH - it is an LED RING LIGHT! That explains why it is so much cheaper. However it still does a useful job. I will mainly use it to take macro photographs of flowers and fungi - and it seems to do an excellent job with small specimens in dark woodland environments. However, you neither get the intensity or 'speed' that you get with a genuine ring flash - so its probably not as good for moving subjects or subjects where maximum depth of field is required - such as small insects. I have used it for insects and it helps - but not I guess as much as a dedicated ring flash. However, for the price it is a very useful bit of kit - simple and uncomplicated to use - simply switch it on and off as required. Certainly will be in my camera bag this autumn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 16 Nov 2010
By 
G. Gardner (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
Excellent product, very easy to setup and use. It would be better described as a 'LED Light' than a 'Flash LED Light'. Excellent results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LED Macro Ring Light, 28 July 2011
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
This is an interesting piece of kit given all the contents for the price. The adapter rings alone would cost nearly this amount if purchased separately. The mains adapter (at 3.3V) is a useful extra included in the kit and will certainly be used by me in the studio setting.

I already own a ring flash, but wanted to use a constant light as finding and focusing on small insects in shadowy places can be tricky, especially with an extreme close-up macro setup of around 3 to 5x magnification. The problem is that 2 AA rechargable batteries are just not up to the job (at 2.5V), it really does need 2 AA high power batteries (at 3V) to deliver the grunt required for all the LEDs in the ring. I jury rigged up 3 rechargable AA batteries (at 3.25V) and this worked fine, giving similar output to the mains adapter.

From my testing, I still think I am losing around 2 stops of light over the ring flash that I own, so it is my opinion that it will have limited use for macro work, but as I said at the beginning of this review, it will find some uses in the studio.

To summarsie: Thus I cannot really recommend it for the extreme macro photography that I do as the kit stands, but think it is still a useful tool in a photographers' armoury of kit. Hence the 4 stars given. Perhaps the kit would be better if it was modifed to fit 3 AA rechargable batteries instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Macro Ring LED Light for Canon, 29 Nov 2012
By 
JT (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
If you want a ring flash this it not for you as it is only a ring light ,you can switch from full lights to only left or right side light
, if you want to light small items, insects etc for macro without any control on power but just bring light into the viewing area then this is acceptable not the best build quality tho, the locking nut on the thread hot show connection on the unit I recevied is at an angle but still works . It is presented well in its packaging but once out and handled you can see its not a £200 pound unit.
It is supplied with an ac adaptor which is usefull if your near to a socket when taking pictures and do not have to stretch to far from it , other power on the hoof is by two AA batteries havent used it enough yet to say what battery life would be
The rings fit onto the camera without a problem and the light slides into the front of them with a good tight fit
I was looking for a cheap and simple way of adding some light into macro photgraphy this does the job as a occasional piece of kit I believe it will serve its purpose so I am not dissapointed with it how long will it last I dont know maybe I will update again in a few months time , however if you want a cheap and inexpensive unit purely for adding light in a macro situation then this seems to do the job Ok , and if I drop it I wont screem that much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and Useful, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
IMO, expectations need to be proportionate to the price of this light supplement. I found it quite useful for indoor low-light macro pictures, and for portraits under ambient indoor light. The light quality is soft, and produces a diffused shadow, if any. However, much to my slight disappointment, this kit did not provide any improvement under outdoor low-light conditions (e.g., bugs in a shrub while the sky is overcast).
This kit comes with a useful set of six adapter rings for 48 mm to 67 mm lenses, a good length of cable for the mains mode, and is very light weight. Overall a decent piece of kit for the price, but not very great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Bit Of Kit!!, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
Rapid service, got the item within 48 hours, I like it, in fact i love it!! Its not a "flash", nor will it talk to your camera, its a LED LIGHT which you switch on & off..its a nice bit of kit for macro photography but also for lots more, great as a fill-in light and also acts like an LED torch when in pitch black conditions which is what i really like! In my opinion, for the price this was a good buy which am sure i will use many times!! Also..Looks pretty good on the camera!! Happy with my purchase!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and really good, 10 Aug 2010
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
It works great, even if when you see it the first time you think "oh my god, it's all made of plastic it must be so fragile..." well, I'm bringing it around in my backpack for 2 months and the full plastic body makes it just lighter than I expected. The only metal parts are the adaptor rings for the lens, a set of 6 from 49mm to 65mm.

The flash works really good and the possibility to turn on just half of it makes it even more interesting, allowing a wider chance of composition.

I'm using it for 3 months now, and, even if I equipped it with rechargeables batteries, I never needed to replace them. LED light doesn't consume batteries at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not acutally a flash, 27 Feb 2011
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
This item is excellent and does the job for close-up and macro work very well. It is not a flash, but very bright led's. Therefore it is not really useful for portrait or any other use since the range will mean extended exposure time.

But for close-up work it is fine, I got an exposure of 1/30 at f8 shooting a piece of Kiwi fruit. It has nice even illumination. Set the camera to flash white balance. You can turn one side on or off to vary the lighting.
Ideal starter lighting for macro and close up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Handy macro light but it is limited, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macro Ring LED Light for Canon 1Ds,5D,7D,40D,50D,60D,500D,550D,1000D,Nikon D700,D300,D90,D60,D3,D2,D1,D7000,D5000,D3100,D3000,Olympus E620,E520,E510,E500,E420,E450,E3,E1,E-P2,Pentax,K20D,K200D/Sony Alpha A200,A230,A300,A330,A350,A380.A450,A500,A550,A700,A850,A900/SIGMA LENS with 6 FREE RINGS 49MM,55MM,58,62,67MM(UK Plug) (Electronics)
This LED ring light provides a constant source of light for macro work. It works best with a macro lens and at fairly short distances (i.e. up to about 30cm). It comes with a good selection of adapter rings which allow the ring light to be fixed to the front of the lens using the filter screw. It can be powered by battery or from the mains using the supplied mains adapter. The construction of the power unit and, indeed, the ring light are not the most robust but I'd say handled with care they should give good service. Given that the alternative is a ring flash unit which would cost hundreds of euro this is a good value product for its specific (albeit limited) purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews