Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (44)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Likeable sci-fi-thriller
There are so many differing reviews here, covering everything from awful to excellent, it's going to be difficult writing anything new. So, I'll not try and just say what I thought:

I quite liked the idea of a group of kids making zombie movies and the comradeship that brings and we see them getting along for a common purpose. Some of the scenes between young...
Published on 4 April 2012 by Tim Kidner

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rather boring, predictable and by moments very silly film - basically a failed attempt to milk again old Spielberg's classics
I didn't like this film and I am glad that I rented it only instead of buying. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILERS.

In 1979 a group of young teenagers is working on an amateur horror film about a zombie infestation. One night they slip out of homes to film a scene which happens on an abandoned railway station. When doing it they witness a...
Published 7 months ago by Darth Maciek


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER - like E.T meets Jeepers Creepers 2, with a mix of battle LA, 1 Dec 2011
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I was bowled over with this film (mostly).

Spielberg as producer and director newbie delivers again, with characteristic storytelling involving kids in a small town, USA.
A likeable bunch of friends filming a mini zombie movie (on Super 8) witness a huge train crash, which unfolds to involve top secret US Air-Force activity, of a supernatural kind.

It boasts amazing large scale effects, a key train crash and then following ongoings, as a force starts a series of destruction. It is extremely well cast, acted, directed and interesting throughout, becoming one of the best films of 2011.
Super 8 is like E.T meets Jeepers Creepers 2, with a mix of battle LA.

My two moans are that it is simply too long and great until you see the alien creature (like most movies now), after 1 hour, with still over 30 minutes left. The concluding section is over gushy, sentimental and again resembles a modern ET. Putting this aside it is a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great movie from Spielberg & Abrams., 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great movie which is a rollercoaster of an adventure which combines other movies like ET, The Goonies, Close Encounters etc. If you like Spielberg and JJ movies you will enjoy this. It has all of the hallmarks of a classic despite getting very average reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic nostalgic film for 80's children, 30 Oct 2011
This review is from: Super 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Born in 76 I am a child of the 80's, when all my favourite films came out. My husband took me to the cinema to see this and I knew nothing about it - I was blown away. The children in it are just amazing actors (take note Harry Potter!!!! This is how good children can be!) and it felt like watching ET or Gremlins for the first time. If you aren't nostalgic about this era then this film won't be of interest I suspect. But I absolutely loved it. I am so stunned at all the bad reviews - I have my copy on order!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned fun, 21 May 2012
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Super 8 is filled with nostalgia and is an old school event movie which will delight children and adults alike. Its a fun, incident packed story with likable characters and some exciting action set pieces.

The story starts with a group of kids intent on completing a film they are making. They decide to take a trip to an old railway at midnight one night to wrap up filming when a huge train rattles past. As the train passes through, a truck drives onto the line and slams into the train head first. The ensuing crash sequence is spectacular to say the least and is the stand out moment of the film.

Once the kids recover from the shock and escape back to the town, the film shifts into a semi-invasion movie with mysterious goings on happening around the town. Car engines start to vanish, local dogs flee to neighbouring towns and then the military roll into town with no explanation!

The story is simple yet effective, although there is the odd plot hole along the way. All the kids are a joy to watch and fit together perfectly. Each of their story arc's are well handled and no-one feels left out.

The film harks back to the old blockbuster days of ET, Indiana Jones and Jurassic Park which should be of no surprise seeing as Spielberg had a hand in its production. The story is well rounded and moves at a swift pace. The only disappointment being the creature itself. When it is finally revealed it doesnt look particularly convincing. This does not detract from the overall feeling of the film which will win you over and is a minor negative in what is and old fashioned blockbuster film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real nostalgia trip with fabulous acting, 23 April 2012
By 
Thank you Mr Spielburg and Abrahms for this fabulous film.

For a 32 year old that loved films like the Goonies, E.T., Stand by me and many of the films of that era this film made me feel very happy to be the age I am.

The story is simple and enjoyable, the effects are great. The directing is absolutely top drawer.

What really makes this film great for me is for once the child actors are truly excellent, I really mean EXCELLENT. This is something I had forgotten over the years with so many films ruined by cringe inducing children for example HARRY POTTER!! JJ how did you manage to extract performances this good?!?!

This is now one of my all time favorite films, I love it. Thank you to all that made this film brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SUPER smashing gr8, 12 Jan 2012
A group of kids making their own movie get caught up in a huge train crash while filming just outside of a town called Lillian, but something has escaped from the wreckage and is pretty angry. Turns out that the train was carrying top secret cargo for the US Air Force. The Air Force promptly turn up and are not very willing to let the local sherrif know what was on board. Strange disappearances occur in the town, dogs going missing and engines out of cars, not to mention a few locals. Meanwhile the kids carry on making their film aided by the backdrop of the train wreck and the Air Force all over town for extra effect. realising something is not right the sherrif decides to snoop around only to find that the Air Force are evacuating the town because of a spreading fire (yeah,right). The kids find out that they filmed the train crashing and also what had escaped. So begins a race to find out what exactly is going on and why, all the while trying to keep a step ahead of the Air Force and stay alive.

This film reminded me so much of the old 70's and 80's flicks, movies like ET, Close Encounters and the Goonies to name a few. I think that's why i liked it so much, a bit of a nostalgia trip. I suppose as the film is set in the early 80's probably helps.
No real big name actors to mention but they all play their characters well. The special effects are very good and the train crash scene deserves a special mention. The creature sort of reminded me of the one from cloverfield and some guy from one of the more recent star wars films although i can't remember which one.
For those who like constant big action scenes you may feel a bit let down until later in the film. It sort of builds up the story and wants you to keep guessing like the characters in the film, you don't know much more than they do which i think keeps you hooked.
Overall the film has a great build up towards the final showdown which may feel a little rushed in my opinion but doesn't take away from a great story, fine performances and excellent effects which altogether gives you a modern day nostalgia trip (if that makes sense).
A strong 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Super Shame, 26 Jan 2014
By 
David Jacomb (Bishop Auckland, County Durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm pleased I never did make it to the Cinema to see this movie, I faced the disappointment from the comfort on my own sofa.. it's a film that just doesn't deliver, it falls way short of where I would have liked it to be. I always say Yes ok it's a Science Fiction movie BUT it still has to be written so an audience can at least think it's plausible, but this is just silly, a real shame... you don't really want to buy this film, wait until it's on Channel 5.... :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 5 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
boring film did not enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it. Great film, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it. Great film. Perfect balance between fast pace action and serious emotional moments. Enjoyable for all, some great performances also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this film, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. J. P. Emptage (Reading) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Super 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I must have seen this Film at least 4 time now and I still enjoy it as much as I did the first time round Stephen Spelberg and JJ Abrams (he of star trek)have done a great job here. the story as many others have said does have some similarity to ET but at the same time it's completely different.

The story focuses around a group of friends who are making a monster movie for a film competition using a super 8 camera when they witness a train crash and something escapes from the crash.

The film focuses on the air force trying to cover up what escaped the relationships between the kids,Joe and the strained relation ship with his Dad, and Alice and the strained relationship with her Dad and why the two parents are against their children socializing. their are a few issues in the film that the film covers very well in particular loss of a loved one. their is also a blossoming relationship between Alice and Joe (the two lead actors) their are some truly heart arming scenes between these two and Ellie Fielding really flexes her acting muscles to deliver a toatly engaging performance.

I cant really do it justice in a review so I guess you'll just have to buy it and now that it's only £2.99 you really hav eno reason not to it really is one of the best underrated films of the last 10 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 322 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Super 8 [DVD]
Super 8 [DVD] by J.J. Abrams (DVD - 2011)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews