Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2003
Elvis aficionados will cherish this new release covering the well-known soundtrack, as well as the 2 bonus tracks originally included on the original LP ("Love Me Tonight" and "Slowly But Surely"), plus 14 outtakes from the sessions from "Fun in Acapulco". The sound quality of the "New Orthophonic High Fidelity Recording" is everything it promises and even a lot more. The presentation with all the original artwork and an excellent booklet in a handy tri-fold digipack (the size of a 45rpm) is a treat. For more than a few hours of fun.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
Fun in Acapulco in many ways was a very succesful soundtrack of a Presley movie for a reason apart from its original sales. The Latin feeling and its uncompromising south of the border beat seem to provide a platform of very exciting tunes, fresh either in performance either in song presentation. Even the ever considered silly tune "(There's) No Room To Rhumba In A Sports Car" holds an utterly playful performance that requires to be taken for what it really is, a happy tune. As far as happy tunes go, the soundtrack is filled with many of them that simply have you at least tapping your feet to the latin beat. The song "Mexico" in its alternate version makes you wonder why did the album producers prefered the version that provides the film version that excludes sporadic verses due to the duet sequence that is showcased in the film between Elvis and his new little Mexican friend. The full version in terms of lyrics provides a wonderful listening and dancing experience and above all shows the undisputed talent of Presley to artistically tap into a foreign musical venue with great charisma and unmistaken performing talent. Furthermore, the album provides some very romantic themes that can be easily considered as Presley top love songs, the case is made certainly for the song "Marguerita" an overtly passionate and filled with latin feeling tune that is both tender and sad.
The album overall is a 5 star experience to any listener.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
Fun in Acapulco in many ways was a very succesful soundtrack of a Presley movie for a reason apart from its original sales. The Latin feeling and its uncompromising south of the border beat seem to provide a platform for very exciting tunes, fresh either in performance either in song presentation. Even the ever considered silly tune "(There's) No Room To Rhumba In A Sports Car" holds an utterly playful performance that requires to be taken for what it really is, a happy tune. As far as happy tunes go, the soundtrack is filled with many of them that simply have you at least tapping your feet to the latin beat. The song "Mexico" in its alternate version makes you wonder why did the album producers prefer the version that provides the film version that excludes sporadic verses due to the duet sequence that is showcased in the film between Elvis and his new little Mexican friend. The full version in terms of lyrics provides a wonderful listening and dancing experience and above all shows the undisputed talent of Presley to artistically tap into a foreign musical venue with great charisma and unmistaken performing talent. Furthermore, the album provides some very romantic themes that can be easily considered as Presley top love songs, the case is made certainly for the song "Marguerita" an overtly passionate and filled with latin feeling tune that is both tender and sad.
The album overall is a 5 star experience to any listener.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2007
A good soundtrack of songs from an enjoyable entertaining movie.

Elvis turns on the charm with his interpretations of songs of the Latin-American set. Elvis' vocal style and phrasing is fabulous on these type of numbers and whilst not everybody's 'cup of tea' it is still a nice insight into the diverse talent of the new 'King of Hollywood' at the time.

The soundtrack kicks off with the 'jolly-sounding' title song and other such notable numbers thereafter include 'El Toro', 'Marguerita', 'I Think I'm Gonna Like It Here', 'You Can't Say No In Acapulco', and the hit single 'Bossa Nova Baby'. And, although not a favourite, it is great to hear Elvis' rendition of 'Guadalajara' - the ending is fabulous!

The soundtrack, like every movie-related Elvis song, does have it's standout 'turkeys' and one in particular would have to be '(There's) No Room to Rhumba In a Sports Car'. However, I am charmed by the likes of 'The Bullfighter Was a Lady' - I love the melody on this one and it's a good sing-a-long tune.

When this album was first released in 1963 it included 2 bonus songs not from the film and with the majority of bonus songs on the Elvis soundtracks we are treated to two classy performances in the form of a ballad and a rocker. It's great to see that the FTD Label have kept the bonus songs on this repackage. Finally, there are also some Extra Bonus Songs included in the form of some alternate studio out-takes of the film's score, including 'Mexico' with the extra verses, of which I very much prefer this version to the familiar master released on the original album.

"Fun In Acapulco" is a worthwhile buy, so go ahead and do it to experience the taste of the Latin-American Flavoured Elvis Presley!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2005
This in a way was the film that really turned me on to the King. I first saw one Sunday afternoon back in 1969 on ITV. I love everything about it. Musically the title track always knocks me out and the alternate takes of Mexico and I think I'm gonna like it here truly are Elvis at his latin best. Ole! Jimmy Tompkins
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
As Elvis soundtracks go this is one of the better ones. Already mentioned by othe reviewers it has its 'turkeys' Bullfighter was a lady, no room to rhumba in a sports car and Guadalajara but these types of tracks have become the norm i.e song's that tie in with the film theme. Like Blue Hawaii there can be no doubt as to where this film takes place the mexican theme runs through every track.
Also like Blue Hawaii the album as a whole have a happy feel to it and will prob. cheer you up on a English winters day.In my opinion the title track is better than most title tracks for Elvis films in fact I like it better than any other track. The track pulled off as a single Bossa nova baby is not as bad as its chart postion surggests and no doubt R.C.A thought in the light of the emerging 'beat boom' it was the best track to release. As I said its not a bad track but not strong enough to release as an 'A' side single.Overall this is a pretty decent album better than most soundtracks and does cheer you up when you listen to it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Maybe not his greatest songs but Elvis gives great effort to these songs. The production is crystal clear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
As always the songs are so well performed by a great star.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
thanks for the cd great item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
A very nice soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£3.98
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)