Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Portrayal of Multiple Personalities Disorder as, in This Case, a Supernatural Phenomenon
I have to wonder how many viewers of this movie (very well made even if it was a film essentially made for video rather than for theatre release) have had direct experience with the phenomenon of multiple personality disorder. I have had such experience in my life, most directly for almost a full year, and, to some extent, the film corresponds to my own perception of this...
Published 4 months ago by Jerry (Celil) Parker

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delivers, but not as promised
'Shelter' is a horror mystery-thriller that released theatrically in 2010 to mixed reviews. The box-office returns are not worth mentioning.

The movie tells the story of Adam (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) who has multiple personalities. He then gets examined by a psychiatrist (Julianne Moore) who makes a terrifying discovery and starts to uncover a shocking...
Published on 4 Aug. 2010 by Mitun


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delivers, but not as promised, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
'Shelter' is a horror mystery-thriller that released theatrically in 2010 to mixed reviews. The box-office returns are not worth mentioning.

The movie tells the story of Adam (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) who has multiple personalities. He then gets examined by a psychiatrist (Julianne Moore) who makes a terrifying discovery and starts to uncover a shocking secret.

The movie starts off well with a psychological angle and makes the opening interesting. The movie thereafter presents a some effective jump-out-of-your-seat moments and numerous twist/turns to make the movie unpredictable. So far so good, but where the movie struggles is towards the end, when the pace slows down. The main twist is quite good, however the climax is weak and does not leave an impression. By the time the climax arrived, I lost interest in the movie. I was also left with a couple of unexplained events.

Julianne Moore is perfect in her role. The show stealer is Jonathan Rhys Meyers who produces a strong performance.

The direction provided by Måns Mårlind is competent in the early stages of the movie where there is an impressive build of tension, promising a lot. Where he fails is at the end where he loses the attention of the viewer and fails to live up to the expectations.

The feature has a good idea and at times provides thrills, making it a watchable fare.

'Shelter' in the end is just average viewing. For fans of mystery thrillers, it's worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining rollercoaster of a thriller, 9 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shelter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Shelter features Jonathan Rhys Meyers (Match Point & From Paris With Love) as a mental patient who displays some extremely convincing symptoms of multiple-personality disorder. Despite the generally held consensus that MPD is largely psychotherapist-induced, the patient displays physiological differences between his alters; such as being color-blind in one and paralysed in another. X-rays confirm that this is true paralysis, with a true change in spine and mobility ocurring when his personality 'switches'. As Cara (Julianne Moore - A Single Man) delves deeper into each one of his alters, she discovers that her patient cannot be fabricating each personality as they were all real people with real backgrounds that he knows in too much detail to be synthesizing. Her paranoia peaks when the patient starts to absorb people she knows causing their untimely death. Running scared, Cara resorts to a rumoured witch community living in the mountains that maybe able to protect her daughter who has been marked for 'shelter', do they hold the solution to this phenomenom?

Shelter is a fantastic concept; the premise of more than one person occupying the same body had me intrigued from the off. The two leads are well acted and Meyers deserves accolades for his gamut of emotion throughout his performance, having to play many different character-types. The film falls flat on it's face after about half an hour as you start to question just where this is all going.

There is little explanation as to why people are marked for 'shelter' apart from being 'faithless' and it seemed a little odd to me that in 180 years of living the patient has only taken on 3 personalities then during the movie 'shelters' another 6 or 7 in rapid succession with no real motivation other than to torment his psychoanalyst. The soundwave analysis that Uncle Stephen (Nathan Corddry - Rob Corddry's little brother) does is just laughable. I really thought Hollywood had got over incredulous computer scenes in film but obviously not; he takes an image of a shadow from a still of CCTV and converts that into a soundwave that holds a voice, all the while tapping on his keyboard randomly and sipping a beer, listening to music. It was so cringeworthy it made me wish that whole scene had been left on the editing room floor, the movie would be better off for the experience. For the coup de grâce; the witch village is headed up by a gnarled little old lady, it couldn't have been much more cliché if they tried...

In conclusion, this starts out really well and has two strong actors to fill the roles, it just gets lost along the way and becomes another generic horror movie with paper-thin characters, relying on hackneyed plot mechanisms and mysticism to fill in the gaping story holes. Recommended for a decent supernatural thriller but it doesn't steal the show in any respect!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing Portrayal of Multiple Personalities Disorder as, in This Case, a Supernatural Phenomenon, 11 Nov. 2014
By 
Jerry (Celil) Parker (Abitibi region of Québec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
I have to wonder how many viewers of this movie (very well made even if it was a film essentially made for video rather than for theatre release) have had direct experience with the phenomenon of multiple personality disorder. I have had such experience in my life, most directly for almost a full year, and, to some extent, the film corresponds to my own perception of this weirdness, i.e., THAT IT IS REAL, whether the explanation of it be purely psychological and neurological, occult, spiritual, or a combination of such factors.

For example, the afflicted one's trauma and anguish that occur as one personality gives place to another is part of what I have witnessed numerous times. It is deeply unsettling and frightening, as just about everything to do with this disorder, mental or (as in this film) spiritual, perhaps in both cases supernatural to at least some degree. In the case of a friend (whose case, preserving his anonymity, was thoroughly documented by paranormal researchers and resulted in several theses and dissertations about him, as I eventually was to learn), some of the physical manifestations even went beyond what this film shows. Allied to all of this, as the son of a Portuguese witch, were the extraordinarily vivid powers of E.S.P. and of telekinesis (or psychokinesis) of some of this friend's personalities. Seeing the face change unrecognisably before one's eyes and the body turn, variously, taut or looser upon the bones, the paranormal powers sometimes activate, too, is profoundly shocking to witness, not to mention to hear changes in dialect and in languages that the individual persons speak and/or understand. The changes in personality can be downright frightful.

The film, "Shelter: before He Takes Your Life, He Will Take Your Soul", a.k.a. "6 Souls" (of which the North American DVD edition with catalogue release number 210474-DV is the one viewed) handles these phenomena well, with restraint, and, believe me, in some ways less bizarre than they can take place in real life. To give too much a description of the supernatural nature of the tormented soul that Jonathan Rhys Meyers portrays would be to convey "spoilers" of the kind that many prefer not to encounter in a review. Let's just say that the characters in this supernatural psycho-thriller are in for "quite a ride on the wild side" and leave it at that! I watched "Shelter" ("6 Souls") for the second time the next evening after first having seen the movie, and it was as terrifying and vividly gripping as seeing it initially. The concluding moments, without verbalising anything, are of horrifying irony, like a stake driven into the viewer's own heart.

The movie's setting is urban Pittsburgh and in the Appalachian hills and mountains, where old ways and folk religion have flourished in relative isolation, not far away from Pennsylvania's metropolis. Most folks have heard tales of that region, so the cinematic milieu provides a credible sense of place and of primitive culture on which to peg the story. The result is a real work of art, however modestly this film has been marketed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its me momma, 28 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
When I read the back of DVD for this film, I thought it was interesting but maybe not going to be one of my top 10 psych films. However, when I started watching it I soon changed my mind. It is well acted and has many twists and turns to it. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, makes a convincing patient and he is able to change his character with ease, making it more convincing. Julianne Moore's character struggled between her professional opinion and her personal one, however, I was slightly dissappointed with her. The acting did become a bit predictable and did slightly turn into the 'lets scream and run around a forest' scenario. But overall I really loved the film, and have already sent texts out to people I know who are into the same films as I am.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shelter me from evil..., 22 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this film falls into a category that is, if you like it, you'll love it and if you dislike it, you will hate it. For me, personally, watching the top notch performances by the two main actors fascinates my senses. Julianne Moore is great in her potrayal as a doctor debunking the myths behind the illness of a personality-disorders patients. Then comes Jonathan Rhys Meyers in a role that shows that he is just not another pretty boy. His acting is superb and I do hope he will take more meaty roles because this guy can really go far, acting-wise.
It is a slow burning chiller. If you love anything otherwordly, this is a must watch in the shelter of your home...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Over produced and not scary, 12 Oct. 2011
By 
S. Haddow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
SLIGHT SPOILERS I can see whty Jonathan Rhys Meyer was attracted to his part in the movie, he gets to flex his acting chops in a range of parts all bundled into one - but overall the film never finds a consistant tone - quasi-psychological, quasi-horror with a further jumble of elements that detract from any attempt to build tension. The cinematography is well done - but it all looks too 'professional' - I don't get the feeling that anyone involved really watches horror movies in their spare time, or that there's anything other than a workman-like approach to movie building here. There's nothing scary about this. I can forgive a movie for having a plot that I've seen done before many times if it's clear that someone understands that anyone watching a horror movie is there to be scared or at least made deeply uneasy. Apart from a couple of purely mechanical jump moments, there was nothing here that got under my skin in any way and the part of the story that seemed to recieve the most attention was the 'drama' which unfortunately came across as being every bit as hackneyed and by the numbers as the rest. The soundtrack is equally uninspired - generic and bombastic - cookie cutter music for a cookie cutter film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A total mess, 24 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
A very entertaining premise (the "personalities" of multiple personality patient Jonathan Rhys Meyer being the tortured souls of dead people) and effective first 40 minutes.

At this point I really felt like this was going to be a classic psychological thriller.

But then just as the soil starts to pour out of the victims' mouths, the tired horror movie cliches come pouring out of the screen and the movie loses its way - big time.

I wanted to be immersed in the tension of the story but instead found myself chuckling at some of the sillier elements of the plot - watch out for the brother of Julianne Moore's character hilariously converting and analysing a sound file that he manages to download from a grainy CCTV image. Laughable. Also look out for the awful reel-to-reel cine-camera footage which looks like it was knocked together by students, and the leader of the black magic group in the mountains - a wrinkly old witch straight out of Macbeth.

There is also an uncomfortable pro-Christian, anti-science theme running throughout the movie, reminiscent of the equally dire "Knowing". Essentially, if you don't have faith in God in this movie, watch out.

An excellent idea, which wasn't thought through. Julianne Moore is better than this. I guess we all need to pay the bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'CHILLING', 31 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
'Dr Cara Harding' (Julianne Moore) a psycholgist is asked by her Father to check out a patient he is dealing with who seems to have a muliple personality disorder.
She believes she can cure his problem after her first few sessions with the patient, played by 'Rhys Meyers'
However when she digs a little deeper she finds that he appears to become someone or a variety of someone's that had died years before.
As she investigates things become more sinister as the story unfolds.
A Chilling tale that has the Doctor questioning her faith.
It's worth at least watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gimme shelter....., 3 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Shelter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
basic premise is this.

Moore is a doctor who meets with Meyers who happens to have split personalities. plot holes aside, most people he bumps into, get a rash on the back and a nasty cough, before expiring. at the end of the second act, Moore is shown a video that explains everything to her....

It's a cracking premise and well executed, until the final third. the film is spooky in places, and is a hybrid of the ring, the skeleton key, raising cain and every other supernatural movie with a twist at the end.

The saving grace of this film are the performances. Moore puts in a good performance with he material she is given, but struggles sometimes with the cheesy dialogue. Meyers on the other hand is great as the guy with split personalities.

The twist is good, but executed poorly. It doesn't shock like one would hope, it's more 'right then, but halfway through the film?' and then it just turns into a stalk and kill movie.

It's not bad by any means, and shouldn't have been overlooked like it was, it's just the fact that when you are watching it, you feel that there is a great movie dying to get out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 26 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film based purely on the premise. Julianne Moore plays psychologist Cara Harding who finds herself investigating the case of Adam, a young man who seems to suffer from multiple personality disorder. But as Cara delves deeper into his strange case she soon finds that the answers to Adam's condition are far more sinister than she had ever imagined.
I hoped this would be a smart psychological thriller perhaps with a neat twist thrown in somewhere. I got a twist all right but it certainly wasn't what I had been hoping for. The most disappointing thing about this film is that somewhere in amongst the mess there is a hint of something better, something that never was. The first half the film is carried by Jonathan Rhys Meyers who plays Adam and all of his personalities. His perfomance in this film really was excellent. He slips from personality to personality with remarkable fluidity while managing to remain extremely convincing. His character switches were what convinced me to keep watching the film since I had been very unimpressed with the rest of it. It wasnt that Julianne Moore was bad - per se - but she was boring. The character had no depth or interest and this was highlighted all the more when she was up against Meyer's bold performances.
Unfortunately the film, which could have ben smart, then completely derails itself as it descends into a steaming pile of nonsense. The psychological element becomes the supernatural as Harding discovers that Adam's 'personalities' are in fact the spirits of murder victims. Even this might have been workable with a decent script but the directors seemed hellbent on destryoing their own film. The moment Harding goes running off to find a bunch of gypsies living in the mountians, and the wizened old crone that appears to lead them, I knew the film had dug itself into a hole from which it could not crawl out. No explanation is offered as to why the Harding character goes running off to visit these cliche gypsies and their even more cliche crone. How Julianne Moore sat through these scenes without laughing I honestly do not know.
Ultimately the film succumbs to the most irritating of horror tropes - let's run screaming through the spooky forest at night. This is a trope that I can barely stand to see in a horror film let alone a 'psychological thriller'. The supernatural explanation offered for the events in the film is poorly executed and downright silly, with characters constantly preaching about God and religion and will happen to a non-believer. The first half of the film is worth watching simply for Meyer's impressive performance but if you do switch off halfway through, you really wouldnt miss anything. The film promised so much and gave so little, ending with nothing but plot holes and the dropped jaws of the audiences who - like me - couldnt believe they sat through the whole hour and forty minutes for that pitiful conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shelter [Blu-ray]
Shelter [Blu-ray] by Måns Mårlind (Blu-ray - 2010)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews