Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its me momma
When I read the back of DVD for this film, I thought it was interesting but maybe not going to be one of my top 10 psych films. However, when I started watching it I soon changed my mind. It is well acted and has many twists and turns to it. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers, makes a convincing patient and he is able to change his character with ease, making it more convincing...
Published on 28 Aug 2010 by law geek

versus
28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Delivers, but not as promised
'Shelter' is a horror mystery-thriller that released theatrically in 2010 to mixed reviews. The box-office returns are not worth mentioning.

The movie tells the story of Adam (Jonathan Rhys Meyers) who has multiple personalities. He then gets examined by a psychiatrist (Julianne Moore) who makes a terrifying discovery and starts to uncover a shocking...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Mitun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film based purely on the premise. Julianne Moore plays psychologist Cara Harding who finds herself investigating the case of Adam, a young man who seems to suffer from multiple personality disorder. But as Cara delves deeper into his strange case she soon finds that the answers to Adam's condition are far more sinister than she had ever imagined.
I hoped this would be a smart psychological thriller perhaps with a neat twist thrown in somewhere. I got a twist all right but it certainly wasn't what I had been hoping for. The most disappointing thing about this film is that somewhere in amongst the mess there is a hint of something better, something that never was. The first half the film is carried by Jonathan Rhys Meyers who plays Adam and all of his personalities. His perfomance in this film really was excellent. He slips from personality to personality with remarkable fluidity while managing to remain extremely convincing. His character switches were what convinced me to keep watching the film since I had been very unimpressed with the rest of it. It wasnt that Julianne Moore was bad - per se - but she was boring. The character had no depth or interest and this was highlighted all the more when she was up against Meyer's bold performances.
Unfortunately the film, which could have ben smart, then completely derails itself as it descends into a steaming pile of nonsense. The psychological element becomes the supernatural as Harding discovers that Adam's 'personalities' are in fact the spirits of murder victims. Even this might have been workable with a decent script but the directors seemed hellbent on destryoing their own film. The moment Harding goes running off to find a bunch of gypsies living in the mountians, and the wizened old crone that appears to lead them, I knew the film had dug itself into a hole from which it could not crawl out. No explanation is offered as to why the Harding character goes running off to visit these cliche gypsies and their even more cliche crone. How Julianne Moore sat through these scenes without laughing I honestly do not know.
Ultimately the film succumbs to the most irritating of horror tropes - let's run screaming through the spooky forest at night. This is a trope that I can barely stand to see in a horror film let alone a 'psychological thriller'. The supernatural explanation offered for the events in the film is poorly executed and downright silly, with characters constantly preaching about God and religion and will happen to a non-believer. The first half of the film is worth watching simply for Meyer's impressive performance but if you do switch off halfway through, you really wouldnt miss anything. The film promised so much and gave so little, ending with nothing but plot holes and the dropped jaws of the audiences who - like me - couldnt believe they sat through the whole hour and forty minutes for that pitiful conclusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 14 Aug 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
'Shelter' starts out as a slow paced psychological drama; which I almost gave up on as it didn't grip me at all, then morphed into a slow paced supernatural thriller. One reviewer described it as a rehashed episode of the 'X Files' but its not that good. Julianne Moore is a competent actress and Jonathon Rhys Meyers does a good job as the mental patient she is examining but the whole story never really gets out of second gear. The director doesn't manage to impart any sense of menace despite some good use of imagery. Sadly as soon as one of the victims starts coughing up soil you realise that this is a tale of possession not psychiatry and the impetus just fades as the seasoned viewer will just sit back and wait for the cliches one knows will ensue. On that point you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 15 minutes are good, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Joachim O. (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
The beginning (i.e. the first 15 minutes) of this movie is quite good and I thought this could be a cool mystery thriller. Unfortunately, the film turns into utter trash afterwards. One scene more stupid than the previous one and I don't even know where to start. I should have been warned since there are apparently reasons why certain films never make it to the movies. A waste of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jillian Moore and Johnathan Rhys Meyers! What's more to say?!, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
very interesting subject and a very interesting look at mental illness and people. Clearly this movie is a masterpiece and I strongly recommend it to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5/10, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
Very disappointed with this film,the acting was good but I expected more from the story line given the actors,very predictable,mediocre,would not recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a big fan of Rhys Meyers but this has to be his best film and it is a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREEPYLY GOOD, 9 Oct 2010
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
DARK MOVIE BUT WELL WORTH A WATCH PLAYED EXTREEMLY WELL BY RHYS-MEYERS, HE WILL GO FAR AND SUCH A JOY TO WATCH. KEEPS YOU QUESSING RIGHT TO THE END.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the ingredients make this a MUST SEE !, 6 Sep 2010
By 
M. B. Richardson (Stockton - on - Tees, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
I don't do what other people do on here and relate the story for no apparent reason / but I will say that this film has all the ingredients that make great phsychological thrillers with a mix of the occult thrown in - great acting, storyline, production, setting and keeps the brain active following every word. Great ending. Was'nt sure when I bought it, but when I saw it had links to "The Ring" and "Identity" I should have realised that I had a little gem in my hands - mmm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average supernatural thriller, 15 Aug 2010
This review is from: Shelter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is an average supernatural thriller, its all pretty pedestrian with the usual Hollywood tricks of thinking that by putting a bit of loud stabs of music here and there its somehow scary and will make you jump! The story is predictable and there is no real tension, there are some major holes in the narrative and the story only just about kept together. I wont' give examples because I don't' like giving spoilers although there isn't that much to spoil! Worth a nights rental - just
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shelter, 9 Aug 2010
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shelter [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this at the same time I bought Shutter Island and thought this would be the inferior of the two, I was wrong. Whilst this thriller/horror has good acting and no senseless cgi, blue/black/green screen rot or whatever you want to call it, Shutter Island does, even for storms.

Shelter in this case is a place where an evil spirit hides, in Shelter it's the spirit of an evil priest who was executed during the American Civil War and has 'body hopped' upto the present day. With good acting from Jonathan Rhys Meyer (The Tudors) and Julianne Moor (Silence of the Lambs II), Shelter is the dvd to get if you are caught in two minds. Wait for Shutter....to drop in price and then get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shelter [DVD]
Shelter [DVD] by Julianne Moore (DVD - 2010)
5.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews