Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid entertainment
This is a very traditional foray into the territory of the Chinese martial arts epic, with all the expected elements; wire flying, improbable stunts, glorious battle scenes, incredible sets and scenery, and (spoiler alert!) no happy endings. If there's anything in that which you don't care for, you probably won't like this film. If, on the other hand, you have enjoyed...
Published on 12 Dec 2010 by Chinatown Blue

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 14 Blades
I found it a little hard to follow,
as the subtitles are small and are gone before you finish reading them! I lost track of who was who,
what they were doing and why! In the end i just gave up and watched the action,
of which there is plenty.
The blu-ray transfer is superb,rich in colour and detail,
some of the shots are stunning.Sound is...
Published on 14 April 2011 by dj666


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid entertainment, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a very traditional foray into the territory of the Chinese martial arts epic, with all the expected elements; wire flying, improbable stunts, glorious battle scenes, incredible sets and scenery, and (spoiler alert!) no happy endings. If there's anything in that which you don't care for, you probably won't like this film. If, on the other hand, you have enjoyed the likes of House of Flying Daggers, Battle of Wits, or Red Cliff, this is definitely one to watch. The script actually makes a lot more sense than most of these genre movies, and ignore previous reviewers - the subtitles are perfectly comprehensible (there are one or two slips in use of English, but nothing you can't easily correct for yourself) and I never found them to interfere with the fight scenes. There is no dubbed version on the blu ray, but if you can read you can enjoy this anyway. Unlike another reviewer I did not find the sound effects overdone at all, can't help wondering if they have something wrong with their sound system; there are some instances where sound is deliberately heightened for a specific impact in a scene, and I found it a clever use of sound and as appropriate as the occasional use of slow motion to enhance a scene. The music is excellent, very stirring at appropriate points, and romantic at others. The cast are superb, and fulfil their roles to perfection. On blu ray, the sound is sharp and clear, and the picture quality is really stunning. One or two times I was a bit dubious over whether a particular visual effect was intended, or some unexpected consequence of the transfer, but having seen the same part on a friend's dvd copy, it was intentional and another of the innovative uses of sound and visual by the director. I found this a real treat, even if there was nothing very original in the plot; a banquet for the eyes and ears, and a very satisfying experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 14 Blades, 14 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I found it a little hard to follow,
as the subtitles are small and are gone before you finish reading them! I lost track of who was who,
what they were doing and why! In the end i just gave up and watched the action,
of which there is plenty.
The blu-ray transfer is superb,rich in colour and detail,
some of the shots are stunning.Sound is superb,
blu-ray extra's are thin on the ground,
but who cares!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irresistible force vs Donnie Yen prepare for Legendary confrontation!, 12 July 2011
This review is from: 14 Blades [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
***Some smallish spoilers in review***

Having recently watched Donnie Yen in IP Man i was keen to watch some of his other films. So i bought 14 Blades..little did i know what an Epic Masterpiece awaited me. I think this is one of his finest roles. He plays as Qinglong the leader of the Jinyiwei a sect of blademasters and secret police force who serve the Emperor and who are pretty much above the law. Anyway he is betrayed in a plot involving the exiled Prince Qing (Sammo Hung) who is trying to usurp power away from the Emperor. The love interest is Zhao Wei (she was very good in Red Cliff though her character in 14 blades is a bit more somber!). Other notables include the Flying Eagles(?) clan leader Judge (Wu Chun) and Qinglong's nemesis the invincible assassin Tuo Tuo (Prince Qing's daughter).

The last fight scene is seriously almost legendary in the way it is set up and the build up to the final confrontation. I am not sure i have seen a better fight scene. Though to be honest i think they should have made more of Tuo Tuo's role in the film. We only see her killing and annihilating those in her way, we dont explore her character or relationship with her father.

Ending is a bit sad but honourable in the Jinyiwei tradition. What can i say an Epic!

*edit picture and sound quality was excellent (1080p) playing on a HD projector with PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, shame about the Blu-ray quality, 25 Oct 2011
This review is from: 14 Blades [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't need to repeat the rave reviews about the story or Donnie Yen's master performance. But I did want to mention the very poor transfer to Blu-ray. There are stunning set pieces spoiled due to over-sharpening. White fringes around any detail is a tell-tale sign that someone thought they could give us BLu-ray quuality just by applying sharpening to a DVD version without going back to the master film and starting from scratch. Really dissapointing, and the film looks much better upscalled from DVD in a BLu-ray player. I strongly advise you not to waste your money on the Blu-ray version - it's one of the seemingly increasing number of cheap video/DVD conversions to Blu-ray that are steadily giving HD a bad name.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The things you can do with a box full of blades, 18 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this film. Donnie Yen put in a great performance and all the supporting actors are great as well. One fight got on my nerves due to the CG used in it but the rest were perfect, especially like the first and last battles. The weapons deserve a special mention, whoever designed them done a great job as even the normal swords look exotic and stylish. The main characters have custom blades and bows which i would love to have mounted on my wall as they look great.

Nice story, nice characters, great sets (The last fight set is top notch), great effects and props. The action scenes do not disappoint, nice mix of full contact, Sword play, wires, a little CG, and acrobatics.

Wei Zhao is fast becoming an actress to keep an eye on, loved her in acting in Red Cliff and Mulan. Her ability to make each character she plays alive and realistic makes her support role in this film a pleasure to watch.

Overall, a great film with just a few little flaws which i enjoyed a lot. Can't wait for Wei Zhao or Donnie Yens next films. Daniel Lee done a great job and i will also be watching out for his next movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp as they come !, 3 Mar 2013
By 
David McDonald (Kirkcaldy in Fife .) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [DVD] (DVD)
This is the kind of film that just rocks my boat , action , action action . Plenty of fights to keep you occupied and a plot line that is ok for this genre .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Film confusing but OK, however it's upscaled from SD, 24 Jun 2011
By 
Mr. P. Galbavy "Peter" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this for a reasonable 5 and looking at the description and some other commentary thought "What's the harm?"

The film itself is fast paced, with lots of intersecting and confusing plot lines as is common to many of this genre. Multiple viewings are probably the way to get past this. But that's going to be difficult as the picture quality is, well, not quality. Speaking as someone who regularly watches upscaled DVDs on a Denon DDV3930, which has an excellent ability to make a well encoided SD film look good on a 60" screen, this Blu-ray is very clearly, and poorly, upscaled from an SD master. There is excessive sharpening and a complete lack of detail where there should be plenty of fine grained visuals.

Summary: Don't pay a premium for the Blu-ray, but as a film it's OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually rather good, 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: 14 Blades [DVD] (DVD)
14 Blades is an all out over the top action film with some wonderful heroic characters and beautifully choreographed fight sequences. Don't worry too much about the language barrier, action really does speak louder than words here and you soon forget you are watching a subtitled film.

For me the highlights of the film are the very cute Qiao Hua and deadly Tuo Tuo who gives all the lads a right good kicking.

It's nice to watch something out a completely different culture for a change, recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Oscar Webley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [DVD] (DVD)
great movie donnie yen brilliant as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars donnie yen at his best, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 14 Blades [DVD] (DVD)
Great story,great characters,great swordfighting action from all .also there is a twist in the story where you don't know who to trust.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

14 Blades [DVD]
14 Blades [DVD] (DVD - 2010)
3.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews