Customer Reviews


175 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good
Once again the makers of the Assassin's Creed franchise have struck gold. The original game was good but repetitive so they improved on it, listened to what players were saying and gave us Assassin's creed two -better than the first yet with a couple of flaws. Brotherhood on the other hand is a further step up the road to perfection.

Graphically it is more or...
Published on 19 Nov 2010 by Dave Mcconnachie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed 2.0.0.1
I love the Assassin's Creed series. They're a lot of fun and each game has built on the last, adding new weapons, new moves and a new dynamic. The settings are (to my mind at least) historically accurate enough that if you ever get to visit Italy and wonder round Venice or Rome, you'll get a strong sense of deja vu.

The problem with Assassin's Creed Brotherhood...
Published 17 months ago by J. S. May


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good, 19 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Once again the makers of the Assassin's Creed franchise have struck gold. The original game was good but repetitive so they improved on it, listened to what players were saying and gave us Assassin's creed two -better than the first yet with a couple of flaws. Brotherhood on the other hand is a further step up the road to perfection.

Graphically it is more or less identical to assassins creed 2, maybe a wee bit more polished in places and eagle vision seems to have been tweaked a wee bit as everything that you are not interested in is darker, so you can't really run around in eagle vision (but maybe that's just my TV brightness set too low since playing Alan Wake again...).

There have been a few tweaks to the gameplay, the controls are basically the same just more fluid and reponsive, the free running is as much fun as ever, in fact more so as Ezio swings from lanterns and up rope lifts without losing momentum. The option to restore shops harkens back to upgrading the town in AC2 but is more prolific and even allows you to choose what sort of group goes where, making the experience of 1500 AD Rome customized to your gameplay style. The side missions are more varied, allowing you to speak to guildmasters or mercenary captains to take them on.

Multiplayer looks amazing, as yet I have not been able to spend much time on it as no-one I know seems to have the game yet - they all bough COD last week so Multiplayer bu yourself is just a bit dull.....

All in all it would seem that makers Ubisoft have done very very well with Brotherhood, once again improving on the last game and since this is to be considered as AC2.5 I cannot wait for the release of AC3, which promises to be an amazing game if Ubisoft continue the way they are going.

Quite frankly - Buy this game, you'll not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great addition the Assassin's Creed saga, 16 Jun 2011
By 
William Percival (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Assassin's Creed series is just getting better and better. The games have progressed from the overly repetitive first game to this latest instalment from 1500 AD Rome that is an excellently varied game.

The gameplay is the same style as Assassin's Creed II and you play as the smooth talking Italian named Ezio. You are required to complete a series of missions involving the assassination of targets using your hidden blade, the infiltration of buildings and the collecting of items.
The free running is perfectly fluid allowing you to scale the highest buildings or dart up nearby scaffolding to escape your pursuers. The sprinting and jumping controls feel very natural and intuitive making for a satisfying gaming experience.
Other additions to the gameplay include the ability to restore buildings such as banks and shops in the in-game environment. These can then earn you money which can then be spent on items such as weapons and armour. This is a nice addition to the game as it poses the question to the gamer whether to invest and build a business empire or to purchase armour and weapon upgrades.
Additionally you have the option to save citizens which can then be trained up and used to help you in the battle against the opposition. There's a wide variety of other opportunities available to the gamer to keep them entertained - for example you can collect the scrolls of Romulus or complete one of the many side missions.

Graphically Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is very similar to its predecessor. You can expect wonderfully crafted buildings and stunning landscapes aplenty. Clearly a lot of work has gone into the construction of this game to make it look so brilliant.

Another major positive of this game is the excellent multiplayer. Online you can either play as an individual or work as a team to assassinate others. Points are rewarded for how subtly and skilfully you assassinate your target making gameplay very addictive as you strive for the perfect kill.

Overall this game is definitely worth purchasing, even if you have not played the previous games. There is plenty to do and unlock meaning you are guaranteed hours of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AC2 fans should pick this up, 17 Feb 2011
By 
Jake Guinan (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Brotherhood is a great game, but it's hard to wholeheartedly recommend. This is really a title designed for fans of Assassin's Creed II, as it's a continuation of that story, but the reality is that people who finished that game want something new - or that at least represents a clear step forward. Brotherhood doesn't deliver that. The game doesn't advance the wider narrative very far, the new mechanics don't really add a great deal and the mission designs rarely explore new gameplay possibilities.

That said, Brotherhood really looks the part, with a step up in the graphics department - particularly on PS3, and a massive and varied city to explore. It also introduces an innovative multiplayer suite, for which the team(s) should be applauded. At the end of the day, it depends what you're looking for. If you're new to Assassin's Creed, this is a solid entry, but picking up the threads of the convoluted story may be a challenge. If you're an experienced assassin, on the other hand, expect to tread pretty similar ground to the last title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one more thing...., 11 Jan 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This was my first Assassin's Creed game so I can't comment on how it compares to the previous titles. On its own it's simply outstanding. Rome is a huge, living city comparable to any the GTA games and all carefully laid out to provide a terrific environment for the game to take place in. The story is well worked with decent voice acting and there are lots of side missions and challenges that push the longevity to many hours.

In addition are the Virtual Training missions which offer a chance to improve skills as well compete for a place on global leaderboards. There is a very entertaining multiplayer offering which is surprisingly fast paced but allows for thought and cunning to prevail over just quick reactions.

Graphically it's very good with some excellent combat animations for the main character. With practice you can pull off some long and hugely impressive kill streaks that will have you grinning.

This is one of those games that has you saying to yourself 'I'll do just one more thing before I go to bed...' and the next thing you know it's 2am! Overall this is an outstanding title that will not disappoint anyone who enjoys this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed 2.8, 4 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game certainly has a great impact. The story comes to an explosive start (literally), and you're hooked in right away, as you find out what takes Ezio to Rome. There are stacks of new impressive weapons (the poison darts, crossbow and the addition of heavy weapons are a favourite), as well as interesting new aspects of the game. You really feel like you're creating an uprising in Rome against the Borgia and the Templars, as you send your own assassins on missions around Europe, and you strive to tear down Borgia Rome one district at a time. This side is amazing. I really hope they next game pursues this further because the potential here is very exciting.

That all said though, you hit a point in the game where it all wears off a little. It still feels a bit easy, though the addition of 100% synchronisation is a welcome addition (where you have the chance to complete a mission 'perfectly'). I also agree with one of the other reviews, in that the targets feel a bit dull. You never get to build up to an assassination enough, you just get the target, follow a lead and kill. There's not enough back story around it, and this isn't helped by a weak script. AC2 does a much better job. In this sense the game does feel a bit thrown together. On top of that the ending missions to the game feel very rough, glitch-ridden and perhaps rushed. Too much happens to quickly. On Desmond's side of things, the overarching plot leaves you hungry for more, but Ezio's ending is less satisfying. I don't want to spoil anything, so you'll see yourself if you play it... Overall, the single player is good fun, but it still feels like more could be achieved. The game lacks any real depth, and no matter how big Rome is, you'll still miss having a few different cities to visit.

The multiplayer is great, and endless fun. Not much to say here - read the other glowing reviews.

Verdict: Worth buying, but see it as more of a glorified expansion pack. It offers more than just extra missions and weapons. There is a lot of fun to be had. Just don't expect the same jump as between AC1 and AC2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins creed 2 but more polished, 20 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is very good as it perfects what Assassins creed 2 did not and the introduction of this multiplayer is just at the right time as there is nothing out there like it. The single player can last from 25h+ to 60h+ deppending on how you play the game, so many side missions and buying new weapons etc. So all in all this game is great i would rate it 9.8 out of 10. It is a must have game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best in the series so far..., 22 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the first review I have ever given, but since playing this continuously from the moment I got it I was compelled to write a review.
For those of you who haven't played any of the AC games before, there is a breif recap of events to bring you up to speed at the very beginning of the game.
For those who have played through the previous titles, the story continues here with the same high standard set from the very first game. It draws you in from the outset and doesn't let go for a second. Once more, you are controlling Ezio through Renaissance Italy, only this time in the city of Rome. The visuals are stunning and I spent many hours just wandering around looking at the scenery and learning about the different historical landmarks from the animus database. The gameplay itself is very instinctive, there are plenty of side missions to give this game longevity and the virtual training missions (timed freerunning, stealth kills and combat) are great if you just want a quick blast.
I haven't played the multiplayer game yet so I can't comment on that, but as another reviewer wrote, the single player mode takes everything that was right with AC2 and improves it even further! Certainly not an expansion, but a game in it's own right, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is one of the best games I've played this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent spinoff / pseudo-sequel, 4 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A lot of people were worried that, with AC:B, they would do the same to Assassin's Creed what they did to Halo with Halo: ODST, and sell what was essentially a map pack for the same price as a full price new game. They were also concerned about quality, given the short year-long turnaround time between ACII and this, and concerned it might become akin to Call of Duty of any EA Sports game.

They needn't have worried.

AC:B is very similar to ACII insofar as we have the same engine, a lot of the same characters, same weapons etc., but it's different enough to warrant it's existence. We again follow Desmond and Ezio in search of the elusive Apple of Eden, the powerful artifact from a civilisation many years past, in their bid to keep it from the Templars. Ezio's story also focuses on the fall of the Borgia in Rome and the rise of the Brotherhood of Assassins.

Rome is a huge city, full of instantly recogniseable monuments and architecture, but during the period of Ezio's life it has lessened in it's stature at the hands of the Borgia. Part of your job as Ezio is to renovate businesses and rebuild damaged architecture, adding a new dimension to the classic ACII gameplay. The money you earned in the previous game had no real meaning after a while, once Monteriggioni had been rebuilt, but now you watch your finances more carefully in order to bring Rome back to it's former glory. In order to renovate shops and buildings, you must take down the Borgia Towers, which add more depth to the once-monotonous viewpoints.

Something else that will make players bounce with glee has been added - the ability to recruit your own assassins. This new gameplay mechanic allows you to call on your loyal recruits to aid you in assassinations and fights, and is simply a joy to sit back and watch. It does make things a little bit too easy though, as quite often you do just literally sit back and watch. That said, it has been well thought out, as you can dispatch your recruits to missions around Europe to give them more experience and level up, as well as earning more cash for you.

There are many other additions and extra things that give this game the richness and versatility it deserves - Leonardo's War Machines missions, Cristina memories, Romulus Lairs - all of these serve to give variety to the game and, more importantly for me, tie into the story of Ezio and the history of the period. There is very little here that is superficial, yet at the same time some of it is superfluous.

You get to spend more time as Desmond in this game and more opportunity to try out his assassin free-run skills. The majority of this is in the present-time Monteriggioni, discovering artifacts belonging to Ezio's time, but there's effectively no real benefit to the player in doing this section other than a little fan service. People wanted more Desmond, they got more Desmond. The present-day epilogue of the game though is very important indeed.

Other superfluous elements include the courtesan/thief missions which are there ostensibly to give you a little extra cash and unlock a few clothing items by their completion, but if you play the game well enough then you'll have no real need for this. To be honest as soon as I started the game I was renovating away, then in one of the main missions I was told that I was able to renovate stuff.

The story itself suffers in that it's simply about Ezio rebuilding Rome and ousting the Borgias, whilst the Borgias play out their story according to history, and each encounter with them seems disjointed, merely scenes from their time in the past. The epilogue is fantastic though, and Ezio's story is important in his influence on establishing the Brotherhood.

Overall this is a worthy addition to the franchise, with plenty to do and compelling action and gameplay. Not many of our questions behind the conspiracy of it all are really answered, but more intrigue is produced by the end. Roll on ACIII!

8.5/10

PS I haven't really played much of the multiplayer component, so I haven't considered that in scoring the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, sprawling Roman Renaissance fun, 21 Nov 2010
By 
De Montfort (Woking, Surrey) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Firstly, I should say that this is based on the single-player game as I don't do multiplayer (no particular reason, just never have). I have nearly finished the single player story and have completed most of the side missions too. This is a sprawling, epic movie-like experience with a simply magnificent and sumptuous late medieval city to explore. It helps for me that Rome is one of my favourite places in the world - the way that it is rendered is not only accurate, it's joyous; one senses the pride that has gone into the design of the location and its inhabitants.
Essentially, Brotherhood is more of the same that we saw in AC2, with a few added bonuses such as being able to call in your friends when the going gets tough and taking the Monteriggioni improvement scheme to a whole new level. The interface has been tweaked to take some of the best bits of AC1 and AC2 - in fact, quite a bit of AC1 returns in this episode in terms of textures, landscapes and buildings. We move out of the fertile Tuscan plains and into a more arid Roman environment very reminiscent of The Levant.
The story is the equal of AC2 and along similar lines, except this time there's a lot more of Desmond and Lucy in the present day than either of the first two. I'm not sure I'm that keen but it helps to bind things together a bit. There are many and various side missions - in fact, there are almost so many that keeping track of each strand gets quite involved. Ezio's character has been revamped for the firearms age and a host of new weapons is available including the very useful crossbow. The combat system now makes for kill streams, with five or more enemies going down in a single strike if you can time the movements correctly - it's very impressive.
So we have a great setting, story, plenty of other things to keep you occupied and a main character who is a pleasure to work with. Why only the four stars? Well, a five-star game has whole couple of years' research, creativity and planning behind it - this doesn't; it's a sequel to an already successful game that borrows heavily but effectively from previously created material. There are also a couple of niggles - the camera system seems to have got worse since AC2, don't know why but it can cost valuable time in chases and cause you to fail missions. Also, none of the side missions have any impact on the main story or any cutscene when the overall objective is achieved - it makes them feel artificial and tacked on. I found a couple of bugs in there too eg assigned targets going to parts of the world not accessible at the time - I figured out a way around but it was very annoying.
There are a few moments in the game that are quite brilliant - including an assassination taking place during a fully-recited performance of a Passion play in the Colosseum - a gaming zenith that stands out from the virtual world and makes you marvel in reality. There are also a few innovations that don't in my view come off; but at least Ubi has not played safe. All in all, a exemplary game that deserves to be bought and played - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Assassin's Creed 2.0.0.1, 26 Feb 2013
By 
J. S. May (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I love the Assassin's Creed series. They're a lot of fun and each game has built on the last, adding new weapons, new moves and a new dynamic. The settings are (to my mind at least) historically accurate enough that if you ever get to visit Italy and wonder round Venice or Rome, you'll get a strong sense of deja vu.

The problem with Assassin's Creed Brotherhood is that it doesn't build on AC2 in the way AC2 built on the first game. It's very much par for the course. Yes Rome is big and there's lots to do, yes having well trained Assassins at your beck and call is an interesting mechanic that doesn't grow old and often helps you in a tight spot, but it doesn't deviate wildly from the groundwork AC2 laid down.

Play it, it's a lot of fun and adds to the story being told over the series, but do yourself a favour and either buy it brand new from a reseller or buy it used and sell it on afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed Brotherhood (Xbox 360)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews