Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 13th ain't unlucky for us
The 13th season of The Simpsons is definitely worth checking out. The golden age of The Simpsons ended a few years ago but its OK because there are some pretty darn good episodes to enjoy as well as some interesting commentary and features for The Simpsons' geeks! The design for this package is game-themed. There's a nice picture of Ralph who stars on the cover this time...
Published on 28 April 2012 by Matt182

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a few good episodes.
Weekend at Burnsies - Homer gets high from Medical Marijuana and tries to get it legalised.

I am Furious Yellow - Bart makes Homer into a famous cartoon "Angry Dad"

These are the only good episodes of this season.

Don't waste your money. Just buy these 2 episodes from iTunes.

As you can tell, The Simpsons are making less and...
Published 19 months ago by Isaac Blackburn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars the simpsons, 10 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
arrived extremely quick plenty of time for christmas as its for my husband for our daughter all in all very pleased with the product, hope my husband thinks the same
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simpsons spectacular, 1 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Back to their old form, this season has the episode in which parodies Shakespeare's Hamlet and also retells the Greek Odyssey. Genuis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full laughs in every episode., 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big fan of the simpsons, i have all the seasons there are and this is by far my favourite.

It has one of my favourite tree house of horror episodes on it, the one in whicht bart and lisa are in a school alot like hogwarts! and who can forget the famous episode where Lisa becomes Buddhist.and of course the episode when Homer breaks his jaw and is forced to be silent!

there are many more great episodes on this DVD boxset so i reccomend buying it, and for only [] it is a great baragin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Series 13, 31 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This was a Christmas present for my 10 year old grandson. He loves the Simpsons and is delighted with this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Al Jean's first and probably best season in charge, 24 July 2010
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons season 13 is particularly enjoyable season with a couple of truly excellent episodes namely Poppa's Got a Brand New Badge, Little Girl in the Big Ten and I Am Furious Yellow. This is Al Jeans first season as show runner, and with him at the helm he has helped take the show out of the abyss the show found itself after season 9. Its no classic, but it is certainly worth a purchase due to a continuous streak of funny and well scripted episodes. Sure there is a couple of episodes which are quite weak, but they are by no means worse than the bad episodes from season 10-12, take from that what you will. If you have purchased all of the previous seasons of the show, you should defiantly continue your collection with this season.

To recap:

Best episodes - Little Girl in the Big Ten, Papa's Got a Brand New Badge, I Am Furious Yellow, The Old Man and the Key
Worst episodes - She of Little Faith, Gump Roast and The Frying Game (Surely one of the most bizarre episodes under the Jean era)

Overall rating - 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only a few good episodes., 12 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Weekend at Burnsies - Homer gets high from Medical Marijuana and tries to get it legalised.

I am Furious Yellow - Bart makes Homer into a famous cartoon "Angry Dad"

These are the only good episodes of this season.

Don't waste your money. Just buy these 2 episodes from iTunes.

As you can tell, The Simpsons are making less and less funny episodes every season.

Matt, Listen to your old fans and just give it up already...

I remember the days of classic Simpsons on BBC2 and coming in from school to watch them.

Please end this awful cartoon known as The Simpsons Season 24. It is terrible and everyone knows it. Even you, Matt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, but still rubbish packaging, 2 Jan 2011
By 
Nick C (Middleton, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Another solid series with some of my fave episodes like The Parent Rap and The Sweetest Apu and as previous reviewers state there is the odd clunker, but what comedy series doesn't have the odd dodgy episode and what is one persons rubbish is another persons errrmm another pesons not rubbish???? I can't think of a saying right now!!!
So no problems with the content but again...what's with the terrible packaging?? Once more as with recently released Simpsons box sets we get discs that slide straight into hard cardboard "pouches", actually pouches is too nice a word it sounds like it offers protection to the disc, how about cardboard slits that you shove the disc into! All bound together in a tacky box. From brand new each of my discs had surface scratches on them even though I removed them as carefully as I could, and they probably got a few when they were originally put into the packaging too, they're shoved in pretty tightly. So to prevent further damage I have had to put them in more disc friendly pouches (there's that word again). In fact my first disc of the set was stuck to the sleeve and had the glue used in sticking the case together all across it, luckily I managed to get it off using isopropyl alcohol and a lint free cloth. Just great!! It's easily by far the worst packaging I have on any box set of DVD's I own.
So series itself...top notch generally, presentation a big ZERO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Season 13: Slightly better than 11 or 12 but still nowhere near the classic seasons, 11 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Varney "Douglas Varney "film d... (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This 13th season (2001-2002, 22 episodes) of our favourite yellow family would have you amazed on how a cartoon can last this long! At this point, the show's quality has been on the slide for about the past three seasons and the 12th in my opinion was very forgetable. The 13th season is an slight improvement on the 12th but only just. Both 13 and 14 were the seasons where the show is watchable but the wit and character humour of the show's golden age are continuing to further wane. Thankfully, there are more better episodes than in 12 like "I Am Furious Yellow", "The Frying Game", "Homer the Moe", "The Parent Rap" and "Gump Roast". However, it does not mean it doesn't have its stinkers like "Blame It on Lisa", "Brawl in the Family" and "Weekend at Burnsie's". They also at this point starting to bring back some older characters like Dr. Marvin Monroe, the two Las Vegas women and Drederick Tatum, worrying showing a decline in ideas.

However, this is what I call one the better newer seasons, also with 14. At the point, the show is still watchable and the adventures are less ridiculous as they are in 12 but once the programme got to Season 15, the show completely lost the plot. Any Simpsons fans will love this while the casual might still get a kick out of this Simpsons season but don't expect any classics of the Seasons 3 to 6 quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant series from our favourite yellow family!, 15 Dec 2010
By 
Lauren'x (Lynton, North Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I love the simpsons and have all the series on dvd. It's a shame we had to wait so long for this series to be released.
My personal favourite episodes include:
Treehouse of Horror XXI
The Parent Rap - Homer and Bart get tethered together
The Blunder Years - Homer gets hypnotised which releases a childhood trauma
Brawl in the Family - After a game of monopoly gets aggressive, the Simpsons get a social worker, and Homer and Ned get some suprising visitors
Jaws Wired Shut - Clues in the title, Homer gets his jaw wired shut and becomes a better listener
Weekend at Burnsies - Homer gets high on medical marijuana, and tries to get it legalized
I Am Furious Yellow - Bart creates a comic book, Homer tries to deal with his anger problem
The Sweetest Apu - Homer finds Apu cheating on Manjula
The Frying Game - Homer suprises Marge, and ends up doing community service
Papa's Got a Brand New Badge - Homer starts a security company, everything goes well until they have to deal with Fat Tony
Little Girl in the Big Ten - Lisa befriends some College Students and Bart becomes the boy in the bubble
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simpsons season 13, 28 Oct 2010
By 
Ms. G. R. Cohen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I now have all the seasons of The Simpsons that have been released in the UK. The episodes are great as always and the commentary although not as good as some of the other seasons is still entertaining. There are also more added features to this boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD]
The Simpsons - Season 13 - Complete [DVD] by Matt Groening (DVD - 2010)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews