Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet time
This DVD is perfect for the child who loves Thomas. Story line not too difficult for young children
Published on 17 Oct 2010 by Mrs. E. C. Mcqueen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film that could be a little scary in places for young children
My just turned 4yr old son watched this film and had crying hysterics at the near begining of the film when diesel nearly fell off the track due to some (wierd) selfish behaviour. I had to get his diesel train for him and act out rescuing him before he was comforted. Odd yes and it could just be mine that was really scared but anyone buying this DVD should be aware that...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Soph


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet time, 17 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. E. C. Mcqueen (UK Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is perfect for the child who loves Thomas. Story line not too difficult for young children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
The previous CGI Thomas film is probably my 4 year old son's favourite, so I was expecting him to enjoy this new one too.
In fact both my son and my six year old daughter love it. There's a bit more excitement and action in this new film than in the previous one which is no bad thing.
The little book of the story included in the case is a nice bonus as they both demand to hear it before going to bed after having seen the film.
Otherwise the bonuses on the disc itself (the film weighs in at around an hour) are pretty skimpy:
- a sing-along version of the main song (which gets my kids dancing like lunatics)
- a 3 minute documentary similar to that on the first film (which the kids enjoy)
- a 'game' which literally last about 30 seconds and is always the same. The pay-off is a bonus sing-along song which doesn't feature in the film (which gets my kids doing another lunatic dance routine)
In any case, if your kids like the CGI Thomas TV series and the first film they will love this one. It's certainly the new 'best film ever' in my household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play Misty For Me, 12 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
Opening with a decidedly ropey Pirates of the Caribbean-style score, Misty Island Rescue is pretty much as self-explanatory and easy to follow as it sounds. Narration is provided by Michael Angelis (sounds more like Bernard Hill than Ringo Starr) and the CGI is to a decent standard. 60 minutes may sound short for a film but I think anything longer and children might lose interest in what is quite a slender storyline.

The opening of the story concerns the building of a new Search & Rescue Centre on Sodor. Following the loss of their supply of Jobi wood due to rash action on behalf of Diesel, Thomas is rewarded with a trip to the mainland to see the Search & Rescue Centre there. Needless to say, things don't go well and Thomas finds himself adrift and eventually stranded on the mysterious Misty Island. Soon, the Fat Controller (I'm surprised in these PC times that they are still allowed to call him that) and the rest of the Sodor engines realise that Thomas is missing and they set about rescuing him but not before Thomas has made some new friends and discovered a new supply of Jobi wood.

One of the main themes of Misty Island Rescue is decision-making, both good and bad. Thomas is rewarded early on for his good decision-making when he saves Diesel and this then becomes his mantra throughout the remainder of the story. Despite ending up stranded as a result of a bad decision, Thomas soon recovers his confidence when he meets up with the "logging loco's" Dash, Bash and Ferdinand who, seemingly, were banished for being too playful. This also reinforces the secondary theme of Misty Island Rescue: usefulness. Diesel is teased by Thomas for not being as useful as a "steamy", Thomas is rewarded for being "The Most Really Useful" engine and so on. Also, the metaphor of the mist is used well to emphasise that a clear way forward is not always visible and a decision must be made on the evidence available. It seems some low-level moralising is demonstrated in the constant repetition of Thomas' mantra too; Thomas has made a good decision once so therefore, in his view, all his decisions subsequently are equally as good. Thomas soon learns that being wrong is often the best way to learn a lesson or help rid oneself of pre-conceptions. Being wrong is a complex lesson to explain and I think the story manages well enough without resorting to extremes.

As for the narration and dialogue, I found the repetitive and alliterative approach very pleasing. As a long-time fan of Dr Seuss, I know that children learn well by rhyme and association. Bearing in mind that this film is probably aimed at pre-schoolers, I think it can be forgiven for being a little on the simplistic side; the story is easy to follow, the narration is relaxed and friendly and the character's voices are easily identifiable. One thing that slightly bewildered me was the choice to give Dash and Bash voices that were ever-so-slightly similar to Ant and Dec. Whether this was by design or accident I don't know but it just seemed like an odd choice when regional accents hardly feature (except for the narration, of course).

All in all, a decent children's film and, where as I could get into another entirely different subject (namely the film being one huge advertisement for the Fisher Price Take `N' Play range), I hardly feel it's worth raging against too severely. Just don't go into it expecting Inception with talking trains or you'll be sorely disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cammie, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say about this dvd. My son who is two and a half lives for 'Thomas the Tank Engine' and when we purchased this dvd he watched it about 7 times in a row. Great story line with loads of new characters. He is interactive with the dvd calling out all their new names when they get into scrapes and all in all loves this dvd. Definetly one to buy for a son who loves 'Thomas'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent new story for thomas fans, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this for Thomas mad 4 year old son for xmas, he was delighted with it and we've had it on at least twice a day since xmas, he was pleased as it has his new favourite engines in Bash Dash and Ferdinand. Also good as Misty Island has been mentioned on the Thomas episodes on telly this explains where Misty Island is and why the engines are there(they are a bit naughty).Also good as the DVD includes a book of the story to read at bedtime. He Also got a Misty Island playset so has been acting out the scenes from the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Thomas, 2 Dec 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
I got this dvd from my big brother, for my 4th birthday.
It is the 'new style' Thomas animation, with moving faces and different voices, but we both really like it.
My brother is 7 and my big sister, who is 10, has also watched it and enjoyed it.
The new characters are really good, we like Bash, Dash and Ferdinand a lot. They are very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 28 Oct 2010
By 
NannyD (Teignmouth Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
My Great-grandsons christmas present Which I know he will like because he loves Thomas the Tank Engine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Saving The Day!, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
Just when you thought that you had enough Juniper trees to do the job Diesel has to go and lose em. Bloody Diesels :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars misty island rescue, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
me and my grandson adam have watched it most days since receiving it know it word for word and still enjoying it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film that could be a little scary in places for young children, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Soph (London UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue [DVD] (DVD)
My just turned 4yr old son watched this film and had crying hysterics at the near begining of the film when diesel nearly fell off the track due to some (wierd) selfish behaviour. I had to get his diesel train for him and act out rescuing him before he was comforted. Odd yes and it could just be mine that was really scared but anyone buying this DVD should be aware that it can be scary in places for some small children. Anyway, after that drama he enjoyed the film very much. He has watched it since and now is not scared when, as we have termed it in my family, the dieselgate incident occurs. The very ending of the film was in my opinion extemely confusing, for wont of a better word a train i shall refer to as dieselmort pops up cackles to himself and mumbles about gaining soldor. This is probably the intro to the next movie but i feel that there was no need for it. For starters it could be a little scary for young children and secondly i kept expecting the engine to whip out a cape and stroke a non-existent pointy mustache, my 13yr old who was also watching the film was in stitches. Overall a film enjoyed by my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas & Friends - Misty Island Rescue  [DVD]
9.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews