Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars236
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a tremendous read and it benefits immensely from having a professional author working on the book. The book is well put together and very very impressive and exciting. The book is quiet possible one of the most action packed reads I've had in the last few years and certainly one of the best to come out of the Iraq/Afghan conflicts. My respect goes out to 2 Mercian and their JTAC. I remember thinking afterwards that these guys have some of the most incredible luck, (It's strange just how much luck our troops have ... I suspect their incredible training and reflexes has a lot to do with their making their own luck) and they've got balls the size of space hoppers and more courage than even. When you read about some of the Danger Close airstrikes they seem amazingly dangerous and they must scare the guys silly ... however to get a comparison I read another book from the US Soldiers point of view and they won't work and neither will their JTACS when Danger Close is <200m Bare in mind these guys are calling in strikes continuously <100m It's not as if the JTAC stand off miles away and call the strikes in. In some of the cases he was closer to the strikes than the troops and he is always trying to ensure he has a visual on what they are trying to hit. There's a good smattering of typical squaddie humour and language in the book and it certainly served well to bring back a lot of my own memories. Out of all the Iraq/Afghan books out there this has to be one of the best. Read it. You won't regret it and your respect for the troops will go up immensely, if that's at all possible. The one thing I was disappointed to see yet again .... Poor equipment and even worse rules of engagement. (Troops now can't attack even ARMED TALIBAN unless they shoot at the troops first. The morons that come out with these rules should be sent in to the field to find out how ridiculous and dangerous that is. There's a special place in hell for the people that hamstring our troops like this.
22 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2010
This book is fantastically written. Since starting the first page, I could not put it down.
Damien Lewis, who is co writter of this book, has written two other very good books on UK Forces in Afghanistan.
Paul 'Bommer' Grahame undoutably saved a great many UK and Allied lives throughout his tour described in this book.
I highly Recommend this book, a real 'Page Turner'!!!!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2010
This book gives you an insight into what to expect in 21st Century Warfare. It has everything you can ever hope for in a book; wit, squaddie humour, suspense and above all an excellent account of a JTACs exploits on Operations. Lets hope there is a sequel to this super humans soldiers memoires.... 10 out of 10 in all accounts.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Not a lot to add to the other reviews. You have to admire the skill, bravery and dedication of all those involved.

The book chucks you right in to an intense air supported battle with a host of acronyms to get your head round and doesn't really let up from that point.

Along with "Sniper One" by Sgt Dan Mills this is as good a description there is of the modern British army at work and illustrates extraordinary heroism from ordinary men.

I thought that the role of the JTAC couldn't be that exciting compared to a Special Forces operative or similar - how wrong I was.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
This is easily one of the best books I have ever read. From the very first page it is an absolute page turner and it's almost impossible to put it down.
There is a lot of talk about the author embellishing his story. I am not in the military and I wasn't in Afghanistan at the time so I have no idea if everything the author has said is true. It certainly sounds true and, if so, what happened in those few months in Helmand was utterly incredible.
There will always be detractors towards the authors of successful military publications. Other military personnel in the same role who didn't see as much action, those with hurt egos and others who like to bash the British all have an axe to grind. None of that takes away the fact that this is a truly exciting read. Paul Grahame should at least be congratulated for writing such an incredible book regardless of whether you believe the whole story or not. Read the other reviews and judge for yourself.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Unlike so many of these non-fiction accounts of life in the Afghan theatre, I couldn't put this one down for more than 30 minutes. The bravery, courage and sheer intensity of this unparalleled asymmetric conflict was like no other. Also, the terrific cooperation between international forces (the French pilots being the exception) was heartening and returned my faith that a well-oiled machine can get a horrific job done well. The role of the JTAC commanding and coordinating complex air strikes at Danger Close range to crush an illusive and well-trained enemy can not be under estimated and this book outlined in raw but perfect detail just how close we all came to utter disaster or valiant victory. My only regret is that we never will finish this job and the Taliban will shift right in behind our boys exiting the theatre, undoing the work of so many brave souls. They have my deepest gratitude. Great read, well written and heart-thumpingly edited.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2010
I got this book on the recommendation of my son who met Bommer whilst under training. Bommer was a Joint Tactical Air Controller or JTAC working in Afganistan on attachment to the 2 Mercians bringing air assault "Danger Close" whilst they were on Ops.
From page one the action is unremitting and gives a soldiers eye view of what it's like to be under fire and taking the fight to the enemy and you, almost,feel sorry for the Taliban have very little chance against the air power unleashed on them.
I have read many military books over the years but must say this is amongst the best for it's depiction of being under fire.
Read it and you won't be disapointed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2010
I have to admit, I've never been one for "war stories", but having read this book after being encouraged by a friend, it's safe to say that it has more than justified the positive reviews I've read elsewhere.

A fully bombed up attack aircraft such as an F-18 Hornet, or the lethal WAH-64 Apache, is itself a force to be reckoned with, but those bombs, missiles and cannon rounds are no good unless there's a man to tell them where they're needed.
Written from the point of view of Sergeant Paul Grahame, serving as a JTAC (Joint Terminal Attack Controller - THE man who tells the bombs where to land) in the Light Dragoons of the British Army, Fire Strike 7/9 is an eye opening account of life on the ground.

Mixed in with accounts of patrols, ambushes, and full-on firefights, are unique moments of army humour, all written in an eye-openingly honest and frank manner that is thrilling, funny, and poignant, all at the same time.

It's hard to imagine being in a contact without actually being there, but Sergeant Grahame's fast-paced account of life in the front is a pulse-pounding read that captures the tense, deadly dangerous and extraordinary experience that is life on the front. The action never lets up, and the book is hard to put down as a result - I picked up the book intending to read a couple of chapters, and by the time I had a break, it was 3am and I'd read the first 221 pages. I have fully enjoyed reading this book, and thoroughly recommend it to anyone with a wish to know what life is really like out there for the lads on the ground.

All in all, an awesome read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
The book is a fast paced read and is definitely one that once picked up cannot be put down!

Written from the Joint Terminal Attack Controllers (JTAC) perspective of the battle, it shows the pressures put onto these individuals who have to make life and death decisions within seconds in order to save or take lives in the heat of the fight.

The age of the Global Positioning System (GPS) gives the controller the capability to strike at the heart of the enemy and closer than anytime before nearer to friendly forces (within the Danger Close bubble), this takes skill and knowledge of how to control the air platform and it's munitions to best effect with the minimal of collateral damage. Paul 'Bommer' Grahame throughout this book brushes off his expertise by giving the impression that it is 'water off a ducks back' and just part of his job, he really is a modern day Battlefield Hero.

This is a must read for any JTAC/FAC whom wants to immerse themselves into the battle, it doesn't just highlight the good parts of the job but the bad as well.

It is also a must read for Military enthusiasts as it shows the evolution of 'Fourth Generation Warfare', the introduction of digital age equipment/s that the JTAC/FAC has at his hands to dominate the battle.

ENJOY THE READ!!!!! AND GOD BLESS ALL THE SOLDIERS PAST/PRESENT AND FUTURE WHO PUT THEIR LIVES IN DANGER FOR THE SAKE OF THOSE AT HOME!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
I've read my fair share of war stories and military history books, but nothing, and I mean nothing even comes close to what this book delivers. From page one, you are welcomed into the world of the JTAC as Sergeant Paul 'Bommer' Grahame describes in explicit detail the trials and tribulations of front line battle. To say that this book is addictive is an understatement.

Bommer and Damien Lewis combine brilliantly to bring you an inside look at what really goes on, nothing is watered down. Bommer's skill and instinct is apparent almost immediately when he is thrown into a war where the enemy could be anywhere and decisions must be made in the blink of an eye in order to coordinate air strikes, often at danger close proximity to his own lads.

My words can't describe this book. I doubt that anybody can do it justice. It mixes humour with harsh reality and really drives home what troops go through. This man has no airs and graces about him, he just tells it how it is. He saved many a life of the 2 MERCIAN lads and if ever anybody offered him a thank you, he just wouldn't accept it - he was just doing his job. Having been thanked by the father of one of the squaddies whose life he ultimately saved - "anything I can do for you, anything - just name it"

"Buy me a lager top and we're quits". This really is a masterpiece.

Do yourself a favour and buy this book, you'll not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)