Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Haunting Album
I have been a fan of Tracey's wonderful voice since a band I played in shared a bill with Marine Girls (her first band, I think she was still at school then!)many,many years ago.

This album is sparse and haunting in tone, allowing her wonderful voice to shine through, rather like the earlier EBTG (I was never a fan of the 90's electro-dance stuff)albums, but...
Published on 17 May 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the old sound.
Nice,pleasant,very competant but the voice has changed and isn't as attractive as it was when "Deserts" was produced. The whole c.d is like,watered down, and if possible Tracey should return to her old "voice"
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by Bamba


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Probably her best solo album......, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Music is always extremely personal so most times I shy away from reviewing albums. All I can say is that if you are a fan of Everything But The Girl's earlier works you should like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Beautiful, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Tracey Thorn has been responsible for some of the most beautiful music in Pop.

Why this woman is not much better known and respected, amounts to a mystery and a tragic loss to many who have never heard of her.

Having amassed such an incredibly high standard and poignant body of work over the decades, surely Tracey must be approaching 'National Treasure' status.

That unique voice, those emotional lyrics, used together with an always deeply expressive melody.

Yes, Folks, real songs.

I have been listening to Tracey since I was a student back in 1983.

She has provided the soundtrack of my life through her solo work and with Everything But The Girl.

For those of you reading this who have never heard her, I envy you. Buy it all. You are in for a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best of 2010, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
For Everything But The Girl's Tracey Thorn , middle-age is a time for first-class , bittersweet songwritting and mature reflections on relationships . Her newest offering is a collection of well-crafted moody ballads whose lyrics bite hard . " This One Is Different / And each one ofcourse is.. " she goes on the delicate break-up ballad " Oh The Divorces " while on " Singles Bar " she describes the horror of reentering the dating game after one too many years ( " Can you guess how long i've been here ? / Can you smell the fear ?.." ) , all sung with her sensitive , resilient voice . She's sounds darker on the haunting " Kentish Town " and " Come on Home " where she duets with swedish electro-pop prince Jens Lakemann . Although music promotion seems to be very low on the lady's list of priorities , ( no video was made for either of the two cd-singles of the album nor was a tour announced ) that should not stop you from rediscovering one of the stand out female presences of the pop scene today .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the old sound., 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Nice,pleasant,very competant but the voice has changed and isn't as attractive as it was when "Deserts" was produced. The whole c.d is like,watered down, and if possible Tracey should return to her old "voice"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing for the norm, 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
For those of you that like Tracey Thorn's voice and enjoyed some of the more downbeat moments with EBTG, then this album is for you. With title's like 'Oh the Divorces', you can guess the levels of optimism but it has some lighter moments. Don't expect any mind-blowing musical innovations, just some well-written tunes with Tracey's usual thoughtful and observant comments on the human condition. Nice, easy-going mood music. I'm liking it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love and its opposite, 9 Aug 2010
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Another good album from Tracey Thorn. Not as easy to access as the earlier material but voice still fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Superb, 21 July 2010
This review is from: Love & Its Opposite (Audio CD)
A great return to form from Tracey, I have been an admirer of her sublime voice since first hearing the 12" version of Working Week's Venceremos, and was glad that I bought that version as when the Working Nights album (which too is excellent) was released the vocals were by Juliet Lewis which are also very good but just isn't Tracey.

Since then I have enjoy years of collaborations and her the work with her partner Ben Watt as Everything But The Girl. They were musical chameleons that weren't afraid to change direction with each album. I remember in a Hard Talk interview on BBC News 24 some years ago, Ben in an answer to a question about the differing musical styles saying that the one constant was Tracey's Voice, well that voice is back with another album of thoughtful and intelligent lyrics.

I must admit to having all of EBTG's and Tracey's albums and, singles so maybe my review maybe a just a little biased and I just wanted to spread the word. I took my son to see EBTG for his first live gig and was fortunate enough to see them at around the time of The Walking Wounded Album Tour at a small gig in at the Pyramids Southsea.

Unlike some reviews here I thought that her previous outing Out Of The Woods was a welcome return after taking time out for her family and this latest offering again highlights what great singer songwriter Tracey is. So many albums spanning a long career and not one duff song, I've enjoyed all of them and have to Thank You Tracey (and Ben).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars EVERYTHING BUT THE BOY, 17 July 2010
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Like many EBTG fans, I have missed the duo, although not a fan of the last album (I do not like out and out disco music where the beat drowns out any tune). I was hooked by their first single 'Each and Everyone' and consider 'Idlewild' to be their best album by far. 'Missing', 'Single', 'Driving' & 'Better Things' were also good tracks amongst many.

I must admit, I didn't listen to 'Out of the Woods' much, perhaps the mood wasn't there when I bought it, so I approached this new offering with caution. Not to worry, as a complete album, it is good to listen to and I even found a couple of tracks to grace my ipod playlist of favourite EBTG tunes.

In conclusion, if you were a fan of EBTG, then buy this with confidence, you may not love every track according to your own particular taste, but it has everything but Ben.

Oh yes, and I've re-visited 'Out of the Woods' and would recommend that also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tracey Thorn - better than ever, 22 Jun 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Tracey has been quiet for about ten years and is now back! This album is amazing and I would recommend it to everyone young and old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year?, 5 Jun 2010
By 
J. MOORE (Tokyo, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love And Its Opposite (Audio CD)
Great to hear Tracey back in form-she is a precious joy in the stable of music acts in the UK. This album oozes with reflective comments on life and relationships. It is a CD that has been glued to my cd player and is getting alot of playing time. There are lots of highlghts but the soft and tender 'You are a Lover' is just simply beautiful. This is no risk purchase and one that you will be playing and enjoying for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love and its Opposite
Love and its Opposite by Tracey Thorn
Buy MP3 Album£6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews