Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tennant at his best
I saw this back in 2005 when it first aired and I was absolutely amazed by it. Tennant was chilling as Brendan Block and nothing at all like 'The Doctor' he is so well-known for portraying. His character is a genuine bad guy and Tennant shows exactly why he is such a good actor. Kate Ashfield is also brilliant and even reduced me to tears at certain points.
It's...
Published on 13 July 2008 by Mara

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, terrible story.
I bought this only because I was curious about Tennant's other work aside from Who. I had seen a clip from YouTube and was delighted to discover it was a thriller. Acting wise, I wasn't disappointed. All the characters are unlikeable and unsympathetic which comes across very well. From the obvious villain Block to the less than innocent Cotton. Tennant is hair raisingly...
Published on 27 April 2011 by Wulingyi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it when it was TV, 28 Feb 2014
By 
Chrissie Alexis (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this programme many moons ago on TV and have never forgot this story. It has to be a must have to anyone's DVD collection. If you like suspense and a good story line this is it.

Get it now while its cheap !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice twist, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
This is well acted, with David at his best(or worst!) There are some surprises along the way and a good twist at the end.Well cast too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
Great drama, grest cast and David Tennant, what more could I ask for! Would definitely recommend to all drama lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
Pretty predictable and not great acting. David Tennant not bad but the rest pretty lame. I normally like his stuff so a bit of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super great story, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Anna Tolley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this when it was first shown on TV so decided to buy a few David Tennat DVD's incase Christmas viewing didn't live up to expectations. I was gripped from the beginning. The acting was great and the storyline kept my attention - there are some disturbing events but well filmed and I wasn't expecting the ending. If you like David Tennant you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great D V D !, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
We really enjoyed this DVD, we purchased it because of David Tennant and it really exceeded our expections!
You won't be disappointed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality thriller from 2005, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Mikey (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
Lasting just over 2.25 hours, Secret Smile is an excellent adaptation by ITV of the book of the same name by Nicci French. An first class cast who excel in every scene kept me glued to the screen.
David Tennant is amazing as womaniser Brendan Block and following hisdestructive path is great.
If yuou enjoy a good thriller, Secret Smile will be ideal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dvd., 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this after seeing it a while ago and thought how good it was. Was not disappointed was as good as I had remembered. Good price, quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the book, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the book by Nicci French and glad to say the film was every bit as chilling.
Stalking at it's worst..David Tennant was frightening, he fooled everyone except Miranda..Nobody would believe her. Good plot and best ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars David Tennant at his best, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret Smile [DVD] (DVD)
Being a big fan of David Tennat and being very excited that this programme coincided with the announcement that he was to be the new doctor. He did not disappoint, his acting is superb, he is so scary but there is something so interesting about this character at the same time. His relationship with Miranda was so good how he seemed to always be making her squirm. Good ending aswell. Felt so sorry for the Claire Goose character as she seemed to not have much luck with men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret Smile [DVD]
Secret Smile [DVD] by David Tennant (DVD - 2009)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews