Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Disney Classic
Belle is bored with life in her village. Her only escape is her books, and she longs to have an adventure of her own. When her father heads out to a fair, he gets lots, and Belle finds him in an enchanted castle. The objects are thrilled, because if she and their master, the Beast, fall in love, they will all be freed from the enchantment. But will Belle be able to...
Published on 4 Sept. 2003 by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers

versus
84 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Careful - bonus disc is always Blu-Ray!
This "Diamond edition" contains 3 discs - one DVD copy of the film, one Blu-Ray of the film and one Blu-Ray bonus disc. Don't make the same mistake as me - this applies no matter which packaging you choose! I assumed that the DVD packaging would mean I got 2 DVDs and only a copy of the film on Blu-Ray.

The proper DVD copy will be released on 29 November and is...
Published on 30 Oct. 2010 by Jen E


‹ Previous | 1 2 370 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Film Of All Time, 29 April 2006
I've loved this film ever since I was tiny and I got the collector's edition for my thirteenth birthday. That may seem a little old to be getting a Disney film, but it is just so, so good and this edition is brilliant. The games provided aren't particularly good, but the extra versions of the film are fantastic and the new song (When We're Human Again) is really excellent. I would recommend this film to anyone, young and old. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beauty & the beast 3d, 8 Oct. 2011
had to buy this item when i found out this was being released in blu ray 3d as this is one of the best walt disneys a true classic... as soon as it arrived i had to put it in the player and omg from start to finish absolutly amazing the best disney 3d film it is the same as the original just 20 x better in 3d for those of u that own 3d i would definatly suggest adding this to your collection 10 out of 10 from me ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Disney Masterpiece, 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Brawny Withed (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Blu-ray + DVD, with Blu-ray Packaging) (Blu-ray)
Beauty and the Beast in my opinion has to be one of Disney's finest films and in the words of the title song a 'tale as old as time'.

The story itself is charming, funny and extremely moving especially towards the end. Added to that is the wonderful musical score and songs of Howard Ashman and Alan Menken which add to the emotions and mood of the film.

The art of Beauty and the Beast is quite simply stunning and state of the art for 1991 but looks just as beautiful now especially the ballroom scene.

The special features in this Diamond Edition are quite exceptional. The cream of these special features is comprehensive documentary Beyond Beauty: The Untold Stories Behind Beauty and The Beast which is full to the brim with interviews and archive footage relating to the evolution, production, post production andthe critical and public reception to the film.

I highly recommend Beauty and the Beast as a cinematic treat for children and adults alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 98 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Careful - bonus disc is always Blu-Ray!, 30 Oct. 2010
This "Diamond edition" contains 3 discs - one DVD copy of the film, one Blu-Ray of the film and one Blu-Ray bonus disc. Don't make the same mistake as me - this applies no matter which packaging you choose! I assumed that the DVD packaging would mean I got 2 DVDs and only a copy of the film on Blu-Ray.

The proper DVD copy will be released on 29 November and is available for pre-order. Unfortunately, thanks to this bizarre Blu-Ray confusion, I now have to return several copies of this version, as I bought for my family too :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My most loved film of all time, 6 Oct. 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
If theres ever been a film to include such beautiful artwork, enchanting script and music, then Beauty and the Beast fills that catergory. Its been the only film i've ever cried to, simply because of the breathtaking impact it has on you. Its not just the storyline thats compelling, its the way its put on film, and put across. And of course, it proves that loving someone for who they are is far more important than their appearance..

Not to be missed. This is, without a doubt, one of the finest productions of our time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 18 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast (Blu-ray + DVD, with Blu-ray Packaging) (Blu-ray)
What can one say about this Disney Bluray release of Beauty and the Beast?
Simply staggering? Exquisite? A masterpiece?
All of the above apply.

The overall presentation of this disc is wonderful. The moving menus are a lovely touch.

Perfect sums up the picture presentation. In no other film have I felt that I was part of the artist's creation. This animated classic draws you into the artist's page.
The sense of depth to the picture is truely sensational.

The sound is just as important in bringing this movie to life and it does just that.
Crystal clear audio throughout, utilizing all 7.1channels available.
Musical numbers really shine and dialogue is always well placed in the mix.

A must for your Disney Bluray Collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Are they kidding, with the color restorations?, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
This film is brilliant, a classic. All well told. But the transfer-work on this DVD is a sacrilege to the movie itself.

The whole film seems to have been put through one of those Hue/Saturation filters. You can see this especially clearly in the Beast. His fur, instead of the nicely-tweaked brown, is now a washed-out, greyish hue at the best of times, and a colour resembling earwax at the worst. The carriage in the scene where Beast throws Maurice inside now has an outline that's near-disappeared, as though it had been coloured over in Photoshop.

I wanted the original film when I bought this DVD. I wondered while watching why it looked so unimpressive, and now I know. Who was in charge of this DVD transfer?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful touching tale., 30 Mar. 2011
By 
Mrs. D. Guest (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beauty and the Beast [DVD] (DVD)
Beauty and the Beast is a wonderful touching tale with a great score and lovely animation. I love the beast, his voice is perfect and the ending always makes me cry..prefer him as the beast to the man actually, it is a wonderful romance which can appeal to anyone.Perfect, would recommend to all .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Disney film even better, 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Valleysboy - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Beauty and the Beast represented the peak of the "Disney Renaissance" along with Aladdin and The Lion King (due to be released on Diamond Edition next year). This Diamond Edition comes with 2 blu-rays (feature and extras) and a DVD copy. This is so you can play the film in laptops, in-cars etc, but make no mistake this is the BLU-RAY copy, not the DVD copy which is out in 2 weeks as of release.

The quality of the film is incredible and has clearly been touched up and remastered for this release. The clarity of the animation is amazing and the sound is clear and crisp making an already amazing feature film even more magical.

Miss this film at your loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie, 10 Jan. 2004
Excellent animation. Super in every department. I escecially like the start of this movie which is superb. The opening narration is wonderful, telling the story of how the prince had become a beast. You will be glued to your screen and will definately shed a tear somewhere in this animated masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 370 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beauty and the Beast (Blu-ray + DVD, with Blu-ray Packaging)
£33.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews