Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most lovely and heartwarming story
First of all: my mother tongue is German, so please kindly forgive any mistake I make.
I love Christmas movies and this one became one of my favorites. The easy but not shallow story is filled with humor and warm glimpses for Christmas. I got carried away by its charm, witty dialogues and wonderful playing actors.

Story in short:
Beautiful Brooke...
Published on 28 Oct. 2011 by Beatrix

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great
Good film to get you in the spirit for the run up to the big day and since you can watch it again next year good value for money
Published 17 months ago by Savvy Shopper


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most lovely and heartwarming story, 28 Oct. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
First of all: my mother tongue is German, so please kindly forgive any mistake I make.
I love Christmas movies and this one became one of my favorites. The easy but not shallow story is filled with humor and warm glimpses for Christmas. I got carried away by its charm, witty dialogues and wonderful playing actors.

Story in short:
Beautiful Brooke Burns is the quite over-organized business woman and mom Jennifer of little Brian (Connor Christopher Levins). His dad left after his birth. Jen's mother - normally preparing the turkey for Christmas day - has suddenly cancelled the visit because of a special issue. That pushes Jen into a disaster not knowing how to cook. But Uncle Ralph (mother's brother) is coming. Jen's fiancé, from a rich and snobby family, is not happy about that fact as he does not like this easygoing and humorous ex-cop at all. Uncle Ralph is played by fabulous Henry Winkler - and he really makes this movie something special!! Uncle Ralph having a "perfect nose" for good or bad guys picks up a very good looking but little bit of a "rolling stone - chef" (a VERY smart looking and acting Warren Christie) from the benches of the airport and after some hours on the plain they become good friends. After he finds out that preparing a turkey is one of his specialities Uncle Ralph has a plan...

Funny and humorous situations change with serious and deeper ones as the story goes on. I laughed a lot, cried a bit and felt the warm embrace of the Christmas spirit. I absolutely recommend this film for Christmas time, for time before and after ;D. It is a lovely story about love, empathy and the true quality of Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good movie, 3 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
As a collector of christmas movies I do consider this movie one of the best I have ever seen. The plot is a little predictable (a single mother with a kid, ready to marry the wrong man, when a stranger arrives .... ) but Henry Winkler makes really the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU HAVE TO BUY THIS FILM!!, 20 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
i bought this film as it was cheap and i was in the mood to watch a xmas film, i had never heard of this before and wasnt expecting it to be as good as it is! really surprised me, i think this is one of the best xmas films ive ever seen, a really heart warming,romantic, and feel good movie. if you want something to put you into xmas spirit its this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 4 Nov. 2011
By 
E. Mercer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
I came across this film by accident and am not disappointed. Henry Winkler is great as the lovable, slightly mischievious but good hearted uncle working a little Christmas magic in his niece's life - with the help of a rather handsome stranger. Don't be fooled by the not so subtle romantic angle, this is a great film for the fella's as well as the ladies. Young or old, everyone will enjoy this film. Perfect for the whole family on Christmas Eve. I definately recommend this, buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nate from Uncharted?, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
Chiron Theseus (Yeovil, Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic feel good movie! Sure they gave away the ending in the back of the DVD!! :P But I still loved it no less! The characters are all lovable and you get to see a good bond form rather naturally, and even feel for the woman (Brooke Burns) even though at first she plays the 'slightly scorned' character rather well. But I think that add all the more to seeing the transition to a more happy secure being later in the movie :D
Naturally of course Henry Winkler is a great class act, funny throughout and a rascal to his daughter (Burns) in seemingly setting up the 'stranger' played by Warren Christie (Who dresses in the exact clothes Nathan Drake of Uncharted the game wears which I found interesting, looks the part, is he the real model for Nate?). Though at times he seems out of character a little, maybe uncomfortable? But not in an "I'm acting it" way. Maybe its just me?

Overall a great movie for feeling good and getting the Christmas spirit into play! Stop stressing over things and enjoy it, its only once a year so make the most of it :D

Have a great Christmas all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Time of the Year, 13 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, full of those "makes me feel great" moments. Henry Winkler plays a great part as match maker, and boy does he do a good job! Brilliant scenes which gives you that "wish it would snow" feeling. An excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feel good movie, 24 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
If you like, christmas movies as much as i do, this is a must have. It is a mixture of romance, comedy and christmas.
Henry Winkler is far away from the fonz, and he actually makes this film.You have to watch this, it will make you a feel good
and put you in the christmas spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very funny good Christmas DVD, and I say this with experience as I buy a new Christmas DVD every year. But I must say straight away DO NOT let a child who still believes in Father Christmas watch it, as you may get more questions than you can answer. The character Henry Winkler plays is very funny and the little boy is not annoying in anyway. All the characters are believable and it is not a cheesy film at all, which is good for a Christmas film as most are. I would recommend watching this film curled up on the settee with a drink of your choice and I am sure you will enjoy both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect christmas, 17 Oct. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this first on the tv last christmas and have kept my fingers crossed it would be released over here. Its a warm and wonderful christmas movie with a serious message underneath but it leaves you with that lovely warm glow that christmas movies should give.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Christmas should be,, 6 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this based on the glowing recommendations and wasnt disapointed, great cast, real chemistry between the leads, funny, sweet without going over into sickly, perfect for snuggling up in front of a glowing fire with your loved ones,
Is it predictable? Yes.
Does it matter ? No
Lets face it if you were after misery and tears you wouldnt buy a DVD called this in the first place.
Heartily recommend to anyone.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD]
The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year [DVD] by Michael Scott (DVD - 2010)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews