Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think it's genius, YMMV.
This record seems to be being touted as an underground classic in the making. This is slightly deceptive because, in fact, it is pure pop. It consists entirely of stomping beats, repetitive lyrics and enormous riffs. It has a whole string of potential singles that, if there were any justice in the world, would be number 1 hits.

Except. The production...
Published on 11 Aug 2010 by Tim

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ILLEGAL ITEMS
The product I recieved was in fact a promotional CD, not the released one, that said not to be sold on the front of it. Such blatant fraud was certainly not expected...this person should be taken off of amazon because that's illegal.
Published 14 months ago by kessie hourahine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great album, although songs are a little similar, 23 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TREATS (Audio CD)
I'd heard Infinity Guitars on the radio, and thought I would give this album a go. All songs are in the same vein, with the distorted synths so don't expect too much variation. That said, I think it's an excellent album, and I enjoy blasting it out before I go out for the evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Raw Treat, 21 Nov 2010
This review is from: TREATS (Audio CD)
This is a great album. It's got a really raw sound about it. It's rough and heavy rifts and beats mixed with an soft vocals makes it something different from anything else in the charts. Definitely worth a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Agree with Tim, 24 Aug 2010
By 
AJ Hindman (Portsmouth, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treats (MP3 Download)
Totally agree with Tim, crazy production makes it seem as though they recorded this album in their bathroom, but what an album. I get frustrated with artists like the Chemical Brothers because they make great songs without words to keep my simple mind amused - Sleigh Bells have heavy electronic riffs and great lyrics. Worth a punt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sleigh Bells, 20 Aug 2010
This review is from: TREATS (Audio CD)
This album is a real eye-opener-turn up your iPod and let it clear your ears out, I can't stop hearing it in my head.Ding Dong Sleigh Bells!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best US import so far this year, 11 July 2010
This review is from: TREATS (Audio CD)
First off it was not what i expected,i'm also not suprised they were signed to MIA's label "neet" as there is a small comparison to be made.This reminded me most of the Swedish duo The Raveonettes and their earlier albums.With beats like cannons going off & a mixture of heavy synth plus electric guitars,this sounds as though it might leap out of your speakers & rip you to shreds.Almost the perfect blend of what could be described as a form of metal,with pop as her soft vocal lilt acts like a glass of water with a hot curry.The best & the most exciting album i've heard so far this year,Mercury music prize nominee?, yes,but they're American,shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is my opinion of this album, 1 Feb 2011
This review is from: Treats (MP3 Download)
A really good, powerful record. If you like it loud, you'll probably enjoy this. Not too sure where they'll go next, but in the meantime 'Treats' is well worth a few listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gimmicky, 8 Jun 2010
By 
TBA (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: TREATS (Audio CD)
The songs are so under-written the whole thing hangs on the conceit of distorting the living hell out of every song in order to distract you from the banality of the content. I might have enjoyed this were I a 15 year old girl wanting to annoy mummy and daddy; or an art student who understands the value of discomforting the audience with abrasive forms that belie any real depth; alas I am neither. Please believe me, if you are 15, you will find this album again in ten years' time and laugh at your own na´veté. If you are older you should know better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TREATS
TREATS by Sleigh Bells (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews