Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quirky gem
This anime will doubtless divide opinion. Some will find its violence and nudity excessive while others will find them in keeping with the plot. I'm of the latter opinion, and the erotic content (mostly of a lesbian orientation) and the sadistic violence are key elements of the story and therefore never gratuitous. The story draws on Greek myth for its inspiration, though...
Published on 23 Sep 2010 by mancheeros

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Average at best
A so so horror anime with some torture porn thrown in.
Weak and somewhat confusing story and plot lines don't help.
Published 4 months ago by Andrew Cruze


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quirky gem, 23 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This anime will doubtless divide opinion. Some will find its violence and nudity excessive while others will find them in keeping with the plot. I'm of the latter opinion, and the erotic content (mostly of a lesbian orientation) and the sadistic violence are key elements of the story and therefore never gratuitous. The story draws on Greek myth for its inspiration, though is set in modern Japan over the course of 60 or so years. Rin, the heroine, is an immortal detective who gradually uncovers the secrets and mysteries of her immortality across the 6 episodes. She is a quirky blend of the nerdy and the voluptuous, depending on the circumstances, and a very likeable character. Her sidekick, Mimi, another immortal detective is also likeable and the banter between the ladies is witty and entertaining. Some of the playful humour and the sudden shifts in narrative tone, from cute stuff to violent stuff, remind me of Elfen Lied. Stylistically, Rin Daughters of Mnemosyne is not state of the art CG animation, but its design has an unfussy beauty with impressively bold coloration. This edition is anamorphic widescreen. The extras (interviews with voice cast) are absolutely useless and an interview with the director would have been a lot more helpful. But, of course, the film is the thing, and if you're looking for an engrossing anime that is eccentric and different from the herd, then this is well worth investigating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining series, 2 Nov 2010
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This two disc set includes all six episodes of the `Rin ~Daughters of Mnemosyne~' anime. The series follows Rin Asgi, an immortal private detective, and her partner Mimi over a period of more than fifty years. Opposing Rin is the mysterious Apos who has plans for Rin and the immortals.

`Mnemosyne' is an entertaining series that defiantly deserves its 18 certificate for its violence and sexual content. The plot of the series is interesting as although each episode is relatively self-contained, they do link together to form a very involving story. As the series takes place over such a long period of time we get to see the mortal characters age and have children who also appear later in the story, which is something I did like. The animation and the voice action on the English dub are both good as well.

One of the downsides the series has is that it can be a bit difficult to follow sometimes and it does take a couple of viewings to get the most out of the series. This is only a minor annoyance however and I would say that the series is well worth around four and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, Time Leaping Anime, Shame theres not more..., 4 May 2011
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have an extensive anime dvd collection but I have to say this is one of my favourites. Theres only 2 disks, and 6 episodes, but thats all thats needed. Follow Rin through the journey of years as she remains immortal, around ever changing time and technological eras. Ultimately quite mysterious, i watched it twice to absorb the true meaning and emotion of this series. A MUST for any serious anime fan, or even if your not, i guarantee it will be liked. Amongst the deep storyline there is hints of violence and survival, often the main central story of other anime series. Buy this and dont hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first ever anime, 4 Nov 2010
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I have to admit that when I was first recommended to watch english subtitled japanese anime as a form of entertainment, I was fairly sceptical.

But after buying and watching this, I have to say I am totally convinced.

The whole idea of immortals and 'angels' was a stroke og genius and I found myself eager to find out what happened to the main character in every episode.

The reading of the subtitles was what I thought my problem would be, but they are on more than long enough - both to read and to watch the scene unfolding.

I would definitely recommend this to those who like the idea of watching anime - but I would warn them that it is a little graphic for first timers and perhaps something a little softer should be watched before moving on to this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolute delight for fans of trashy entertainment., 10 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Rin makes no attempt to disguise its angle. You want violence? Fine, we can do that. You want plenty of tits to go with that? We'll make it so. Oh, and top that all off with some jaw-droppingly silly moments and you've got yourself a bloody entertaining show.

But be warned though - this series does get pretty nasty at times, so if you're squeamish then you might want to give it a miss.

Here's an extremely condensed version of the plot: over the course of several decades a pair of immortal Private Investigators fight angelic beings.

Unfortunately, the immortals (who are all women) are uncontrollably attracted to these angelic beings (who are all men); the angels, on the other hand, just want to bonk and kill the immortal women (there is ONE way to kill these otherwise immortal beings, but apart from that they're properly immortal, and can survive pretty much anything). The angels kill the "immortals" by eating them.

So, what we get are several scenes in which women are being nailed by angelic beasties, who are also busy EATING THEIR FLESH, but the women are too sexually attracted to the monsters to resist. If that isn't the most ludicrous and unintentionally hilarious plotline of the decade then I'll eat my shoes!

Actually, to be fair to the show, it does a surprisingly effective job of balancing the absurd with the sort-of-serious. The audience will actually find itself engaged, and will care about the characters and story. As I mentioned before, the plotline spans several decades so we get to see all the normal human characters grow old and die, and the world transform to the point of being unrecognisable. All of this makes for engrossing and sometimes touching stuff.

I've been careful not to give away too many details about the plot because I think that it would be best for you to watch the show and find out for yourself. Suffice it to say, what I've detailed so far should tell you whether or not this show is "for you", and what I've omitted should make for a pleasant surprise if you do give it a shot.

Oh, and you can't knock the DVD price either!

All in all, this has to be one of my favourite anime releases in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anime awesomeness, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series, there is plenty of fan service and also a decent storyline which keeps your attention. cheap and good fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sadistic, yet unique, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I picked this title up cheap some time ago and was somewhat reluctant to get into it from the cover alone. However once I did I was fascinated on how a title that is so sadistic and sexual managed to actually be good. While other series will use these to lure you in alongside a thin plot Rin manages to put the plot first.

The series isn't going to be for everyone, but its well worth it if you like a darker taste to your anime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked to watch this series, not too violent as said in some reviews. nice story.I do recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Average at best, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
A so so horror anime with some torture porn thrown in.
Weak and somewhat confusing story and plot lines don't help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Whoa, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rin, Daughters of Mnemosyne: The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Product Review- This arrived within the time span and was in good condition.

Anime Review-This is an anime that only those who like this sort of thing or are art/story fan's will enjoy.By his sort of thing I'm talking about the pain aspect in this anime.We have a woman who can't help but take pleasure from causing others pain and a person who has a woman with swords stuck in her for amusement (kinda reminds e of joffery from Game of thrones but thats another story)

I'm a story fan and this was quite interesting,it mixes norse mythology with the modern era without bringing in thor.
The only reason why I gave it 4 stars is simply because its almost too short.Mind you,it did explain alot with the few episodes it had but I'd have liked at least one more,maybe an extra ep about Rin's past but thats all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews