Customer Reviews


16 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distant Worlds II, 8 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
To simply view this as a videogame soundtrack is not to do it justice. Anyone who has even a passing interest in classical music, Final Fantasy or even just videogames in general, owes it to themselves to listen to this amazing collection of music. Nobuo Uematsu is one of the best composers of our time, and the fact he dedicates his music to videogame soundtracks is simply a gift that us gamers have been blessed with. It goes without saying that perhaps Final Fantasy fans will get more out of this CD, but I would advice anybody who has an appreciation for music to purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it wonderful (Suteki Da Ne)?, 17 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
I have been a collector of the Final Fantasy soundtracks ever since I played FFVII. As such I have an affinity to the works of Nobuo Uematsu who just seems to have this incredible ability to evoke the perfect emotion and memory associated with each track he composes. Thus, every track on this album produced vivid recollections of the each part of each game that these tracks are scored from. Of course, since this is Distant Worlds, where Maestro Uematsu can really let himself take full advantage of the Orchestra, so every piece is even better than when they were first played.

My favourite track, without doubt, is "Zanarkand" as I think it represents the ultimate musical metaphor. I am sure most listeners will either fall or have fallen in love with this track because it is just so beautiful. Every time I hear it, I sometimes cannot help but shed a tear since it represents both the enduring romance theme and the heartbreaking pyrrhic victory of Final Fantasy X of Yuna and Tidus. But what I mean by the musical metaphor for this track is when you listen to this track is that it has been re-scored so well, that it also represents the different aspects of water, which was the main elemental theme of this game: it starts as a slow trickle, eventually accompanied by the gentle pitter-patter of rain, which builds up into a stream, then a river and eventually leading out to the ocean, that becomes the emotional tsunami which sweeps you into its overpowering melody. I might be slightly(!) melodramatic here, but by far, the best track is Zanarkand, and there can be no questions about it.

However, all the other tracks such as "Man with the Machine Gun", "Prelude", "Melodies of Life", "Terra's Theme", "JENOVA", (and the others) can't help but also stir up your heart-strings! When it comes to Video Game Music, the fact that there is only the one original "Game Composer" being Nobuo Uematsu, you cannot help but be impressed by this album. Sure, there are other famous tunes and other famous composers out there producing music for games, but this soundtrack needs to be in your collection if you have any desire to call yourself an aficionado of this genre of music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful.., 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
Having seen Distant Worlds twice, this was a pleasant reminder of their events. Just brilliant.. there isn't a bad song on here and it is has a nice variation over several of the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
This really is a quality piece of musical masterpiece...as a big final fantasy fan (you know bar the not so good ones) it has kind of nostalgia to me...but even if you haven't played final fantasy you will enjoy this...I gave it to a workmate to listen to and he enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
Anyone who love Final Fantasy would love their music, and now hear it in glorious powerful orchestra, especially emotion when you regconise all the tunes when you were playing the games. A must-have for all FF fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
This album follow on from Distant Worlds - volume 1, just a real pleasure for your ears. Listen it and enjoy this beautiful music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
If you are reading this, you are probably already aware of how amazing the Fianl Fantasy music is. I bought this for my boyfriend who has followed the game and loved yhe music since FF7. It brough back a lot of memories for him plus we both really enjoyed listening to the fantastic orchestral music. Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful CD!, 9 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
I brought this CD along with Distant Worlds: Music From Final Fantasy. As with the other CD, the arrangements are beautiful and sound incredible played by a full orchestra. The sound quality is excellent and provides a real treat for any Final Fantasy fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice selection, 3 Sept. 2014
By 
Catherine Stapleton (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
I preferred the first one of these but this one has some great songs.
If you enjoyed the Final Fantasy games you will love this CD.
Even non fans might enjoy my mother and boyfriend love this music too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Sound, 12 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy (Audio CD)
Bought this CD in conjunction with the first Distant Worlds.
Superb sound quality and will be a great Christmas gift for a lover of the Final Fantasy franchise.
Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy
Distant Worlds II: More Music From Final Fantasy by Nobuo Uematsu (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews