Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant
These films are brilliant veiwing for the whole family my two daughters one ten and the other eleven loved them. if you like Indianna Jones type films you will love these.
Published on 21 Jun 2010 by S. Wood

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The librarian trilogy blu-ray
Beware : this boxet only include the short version of the first episode : 15 minutes are lacking from the american extended version dvd, and I was very unhappy of this.

No bonuses, no interactive menue, no chapter index : only the short version of the tv movies, in english, with optional subtitles in nederland language.

The transfer image is not as...
Published on 15 Aug 2010 by SicÚ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The librarian trilogy blu-ray, 15 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beware : this boxet only include the short version of the first episode : 15 minutes are lacking from the american extended version dvd, and I was very unhappy of this.

No bonuses, no interactive menue, no chapter index : only the short version of the tv movies, in english, with optional subtitles in nederland language.

The transfer image is not as good as I expect. It looks HD to me, but the little details are not striking and there is a little noise that I could have done without. But it's a little better than the dvds.

The tv movies by themselves are very good, very funny, for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 21 Jun 2010
By 
S. Wood (Bedfordshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
These films are brilliant veiwing for the whole family my two daughters one ten and the other eleven loved them. if you like Indianna Jones type films you will love these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Entertainment, 13 Jan 2011
By 
B. C. Smith (Fressingfield, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
I was slightly worried when I saw the boxes of these DVDs as all the descriptiobs are in Dutch! However the DVDs play in English. The Librarian Trilogy provides great escapist entertainment, fun and just enough excitement for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noah Wyle in his best role, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
Flynn Carsen (Noah Wyle) is some kind of eternal student, he is curious, clever, motivated, permanently seeking for new wisdom... BUT he is totally blind for the realization that people want him to finally move on, getting a girl friend and move out (his mothers greatest wish), stop studying around and get a job (his supervisors and his student colleagues trying to get rid of their senior student). So finally he gets kicked out of university and faces himself thrown on the job market. He applies for the position of The Librarian, a very unusual post as he quickly finds out - when the sword Excalibur starts playing jokes on him and he is told by his boss to keep Pandoras Box better closed at all times - there is more than books in this library. Flynn the new Librarian has to accomplish missions to protect seldom artefacts and occassionally safe mankind, while a beautiful lady at his side usually has to save his (clumsy) back side from all sorts of trouble - And Flynn, you keep your travel expenses for the library low, of course, we will otherwise deduct it from your salary.
Each one of the 3 Librarian missions is worth it! Excitement and fun in a great balance, decorated with some history and mystery elements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for money, 9 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
You do need to select the english version of audio but other than that great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There's more to the Librarian than Dewey decimals, 5 Oct 2010
By 
A. Allen "allyboo" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
This set of made for TV films was recommended to me as simple mindless escapism, on a Book arts listserv I frequent. Starring Noah Wyle late of ER, as a geeky, multi degree, masters and doctorate holder, dragged kicking and screaming from the groves of academe into the awful situation of having to get a job.

If you haven't already done so, prepare to suspend your disbelief. Our plucky nerd finds a job as Librarian at the Metropolitan Library. The Job Description is eclectic, but seems to be part Harry Potteresque guardian of mythical objects: Spear of destiny, (not the 70's band of that name)Holy Grail, Unicorn, Excalibur and so on. And partly Indiana Jones "light". leaping out of planes, abseiling, and generally acting as unlikely action hero.

Luckily someone writing definately kept it played for laughs, and some of the in-jokes and literary or film references are great. I don't know who it's aimed at but tweenies would probably think it's lame. My husband appreciated the spoofiness, I liked some of the jokes, but no part of any of the films flew or in anyway kept us on the edge of our seats.

If you're looking for harmless mindless escapism, these are probably for you. other than that, other films are available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the librarian trilogy, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
its a copy, sound is rubbish,not in dolby picture is one size to big cant reduce it not happy with it at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars re: the librarian saga, TV films, 14 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
really enjoyed these films, did read a review that they were filming a 4th story, last year.. if you like myths mixed with comedy these films are a must. Noah Wyle plays the "hero" who gets things right even though he gets it wrong, love his mother, but sad that he never gets the girl for long...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
Excellent family fun filled movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable trilogy, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE LIBRARIAN TRILOGY - 3 DVD Box Set: QUEST FOR THE SPEAR / RETURN TO KING SOLOMON'S MINES / THE CURSE OF THE JUDAS CHALICE [IMPORT] (DVD)
Got these because of the upcoming series which is based on these three films and I enjoyed watching them, as such am now looking forward to seeing what they do with the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews