Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and efficient
This device is small enough to slip into your pocket and will provide you with plenty of light when you need it.

Winding the charging handle is quite easy, always wind it clockwise. Doing this will charge the internal battery which means you don't need to wind to produce light. You can charge the batteries by winding and then use the light at a later point. Be...
Published 17 months ago by John Smith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wind-up LED torch, while it works that is
At first: Does what it says, 3 brilliant white LEDs and runs on wind-up power. Bought to replace a 15 year old maglite which has seen better days. Interestingly, it only seems to reach full brightness if you wind it while switched on, then the light level dips when you stop winding, but still plenty bright.

BUT THEN: Unfortunately, the handle broke off after a...
Published on 4 Feb. 2013 by IamCustomer


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wind-up LED torch, while it works that is, 4 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
At first: Does what it says, 3 brilliant white LEDs and runs on wind-up power. Bought to replace a 15 year old maglite which has seen better days. Interestingly, it only seems to reach full brightness if you wind it while switched on, then the light level dips when you stop winding, but still plenty bright.

BUT THEN: Unfortunately, the handle broke off after a couple of months moderate use, hence have dropped my rating and I no longer recommend this for this reason of a poor design of handle (plastic). Also, the drop-off in light output over time switched on is too high really. I can only regard this item as a novelty or as a emergency use item for eg. car breakdowns, and not suitable for regular use.

NB. You can also get side lever press versions of these, which at least should be more durable and actually easier to charge up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bought 2- both had different faults, 21 Dec. 2011
By 
L. M. Hayes (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought a pink one and a black one as part of the bundle deal. The pink one did not get very bright or keep it's charge for longer than 30 seconds after winding for a minute and the crank was very LOUD and raspy.

The black one had a faulty switch so sometimes it would not turn off and sometimes it would not turn on- but when it was on it was nice and bright and the winder crank was much better than the pink one and sounded right when it was being wound up.

I think it would be a good little torch if you were lucky enough to get one with both a working switch and a good winder crank. In my case, 2 out of 2 were faulty, so I asked for a refund rather than replacement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and efficient, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
This device is small enough to slip into your pocket and will provide you with plenty of light when you need it.

Winding the charging handle is quite easy, always wind it clockwise. Doing this will charge the internal battery which means you don't need to wind to produce light. You can charge the batteries by winding and then use the light at a later point. Be warned that the batteries don't hold a massive amount of charge, so I'd recommend winding the device every few months or so if you're not going to use it.

The light that is produced is surprisingly bright for something that only has 3 LEDs. Keeping the batteries fully charged up will definitely help keep the brightness up.

The only slight problem I've found is that the on/off switch is somewhat difficult to move. It has to be pushed along the body of the device, not up and down like a button switch. It's pretty stiff and necessitates the use of getting one's thumbnail behind it, making it unsuitable for use by someone with arthritis or such conditions. That said, it's very cheap and it does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little item that does its job well., 17 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Im not sure why there are bad reviews about this product. It does exactly what it is supposed to do and with ease. It isn't a large torch but it packs a powerful light source. Obviously it isn't as bright as larger torches but it is certainly doing well for its size. It fits nicely into your pocket and the strap is useful. You can tie it to your belt or use it around your wrist in-case you drop it. The winder is easy to use and you get a lot of power for your work. The on off switch is again easy to use. The whole product seems durable and has withstood cold weather and spitting. Its as bright as a good head torch I have so its really more effective for jobs where you just need a bit of light, not for lighting up a whole dark alley. This seems obvious to me because it is after all small and pocket sized. The obvious big bonus is that its wind up so no batteries. Save the planet, save your money and give your wrist a mini work out. Definitely worth splashing out for. A great secret santa or small gift. A perfect gift for dads, who said they were hard to buy for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Id buy them again (only one down side), 8 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
First off, i would get this again, they are nice and small, easy to fit in any bag or pocket and dont feel cheap to hold!
There is One downside to them, and its the switch, It is very hard to push up (turn on) you need to stick you nail in to it, easy for a guy, dont see the lady's been so happy with this though! Will it loosen up? (i dont think so) Why.. well its more the lay out of the switch i would think, im not an expert at this though but i will say id buy one first and try it out, i got 4 and all are the same btw.

Last point is the light leaves, for 3 small LEDs, im very happy with it, beam will go across a mid sized room and there is a good spread on it, perfect for if the lights go out or if you walking home somewhere there is poor light levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Up until then it served as a very helpful occasional-use torch which was perfect. The problem with the handle seems to be ..., 27 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
The handle snapped off after I used it just a few times. Up until then it served as a very helpful occasional-use torch which was perfect. The problem with the handle seems to be an unfortunate design flaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Handle Snapped, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Literally opened the product from a plastic bag that it was posted in and the handle snapped off at the first turn.
It is a shame as the torch is actually pretty good. Smaller than expected though.
Have asked for a replacement or refund.

Edit: seller gave a refund. This could be a great item if they made the handle a little stronger.
Packaging of the item may not have helped in this case as i think it weakened it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good if you can find a working one, 14 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Quality control does not seem to be high on this companies agenda judging from the other comments. I bought mine at Asda but I had to go through 8 until I found one that the switch was working and all the LED's were working. It loooks nice and feels great amd I am very happy but I should not have had to go through so many to find a working one.
Update Jan 2013
Had it a year now and it's generally been sitting in the car doing not a lot. But I did use it on a 2 mile walk in total darkness to a firework show and it performed fine and lit the way for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 22 July 2013
By 
G. RC M. Esq (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought one of these and one of "SuperLED Wind Up Micro Dynamo LED Torch Flashlight".

Both very similar and probably made in the same factory. Both work as intended, which is good - I've bought a few more.

The Rolson one is marginally better because the dynamo handle is flat, whereas the "SuperLED" one is not, making winding (especially for children) a bit harder.

Giving it 4 stars instead of 5 as the buttons feel pretty flimsy. Why can't the quality be just a little higher?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Works well but the the sliding on/off switch is stiff, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a good torch that is easy to wind, has a nice 'soft touch' grip, and is bright.

I bought this as a fun little gift for my young kids. The problem with this torch is the on/off switch is a slider and is a bit stiff to operate. It's not easy to switch on with one hand - I need to hold the torch in one hand and slide the switch on using the thumb on my other hand.

My kids struggle with it so I'll keep this around the house and get one with a push button switch for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black
Rolson 61702 3 LED Dyno Torch Black by ROLSON QUALITY TOOLS
£3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews