Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss this brilliant film
I too only have the Korean edition & would love to see this out on an international DVD as this story should be made known & kept alive. It's a true story of courageous Czech freedom fighters attempting to assassinate Hitler's chosen lieutenant,Reinhard Heydrich, who was a truly evil man (known as the Butcher of Prague). I visited the church that plays a large part in...
Published on 17 Jan 2009 by Katie

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Operation Daybreak
The only disappointment with the copy I received was that it was produced for the Taiwan market and as such some scenes (spoken in German language) were subtitled in Taiwanese !!
Published on 6 Jan 2010 by Mark Woodward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars for the film but....., 30 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beggars cant be choosers. This is currently your only option for seeing one of the most memorable war films every made. But note what you are getting here is off the TV, VHS quality, 4:3 transfer with no decent english subtitiles for the German dialogue. Dont let this put you off though. If you havent seen this , and for some reason youve ended up here, then get it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb film, 27 Oct 2013
Have just seen this on TV, Saturday afternoon Ch 5 for the first time, No, I really can honestly say I have never seen it before on the tele, but how I wish now that I had recorded it, because it was so good I thought I would buy it for someone for Christmas. But can I get it on DVD? Can I heckers like! Except a poor foreign copy. For goodness sake why is this superb film not available for the English market? OK, its an old film, but so is the Great Escape! and thats widely available and probably shown once a year on the tele too. But not so "Operation Daybreak" and it is also a true story, and wonderfully acted. Cannot understand the makers of this film not getting it out on a proper British DVD version (the American version is no good, we can't play it!) You are missing a lot of sales over here in Britain! We British like a good WW2 film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving reconstruction of tragic events, 29 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful film that should have been widely available years ago. We are lucky enough to have this 'archive' version, but reviewers have already noted that there are no subtitles - which is quite something, considering that there are long scenes in German. It doesn't pose too great a problem, surprisingly, since it's pretty clear what's being said, but it does represent poor value.

That said, this is easily one of the most absorbing and moving WW2 films I've seen, ever. Everything works well - script, acting, photography (all at the real locations), no-nonsense direction and a great score. And above all, there's no adding to a tragic story for the sake of effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Korean dvd better than no dvd, 29 May 2011
By 
S. Ambrose "la_femme_gentil" (Southampton, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review refers as much to the DVD available from Amazon as to the movie.

I am surprised that so many reviewers, who have been quite glowing (with good reason) about the movie, have complained so harshly about the fact that the only DVD now available is a version produced in Korea and that it is of such poor quality.

Yes, it is, but unless this version existed there would be no DVD available at all which would be a great pity given the movie's excellence. Because of its historic content, its superb cast, storyline and acting, I recommend that people give it a try, warts and all. Better, I think, a Korean DVD of the original movie than any attempt to re-make it Hollywood style. There are actually very few movies from the 1970s which remain so interesting and watchable.

It's true that there are no English subtitles available for the German spoken sections of the movie, but these are fairly short and hardly plot-spoiling. There is not one light moment in the movie. It is a sad and sobering account of a dark period in history, but anyone who watches this version with the English sub-titles will probably find the translation quite entertaining in its own right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not an English Version, 19 Nov 2010
I too like many other reviewers cannot understand why we had to have the Far East sub titles for the German speech.
I bought this DVD because my wife saw the film on Channel 5 (I was out) last week (13 Nov 2010), and the sub titles of German were in English
We visited Prague this year and went to the church where the men sought refuge. Witnessing the bullet holes on the wall etc.
The exhibition inside is well worth a visit even though the items on sale were expensive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Film great but DVD is awful quality, 18 Mar 2014
This review is from: Operation Daybreak~region all import Timothy Bottoms~Martin Shaw~Joss Acland.. (DVD)
Amazon don't specify (no surprise there) but although the soundtrack is fine all the writing on the box is in Korean and the subtitles aren't even done well anyway with poor grammar. Half of it is in German and to understand it you need to put the subtitles on which appear also with the English bits too so there's no way to watch it with no subtitles except for the German bits. The quality especially is piss-poor. In this day and age it should be illegal to sell a DVD which hasn't had the film cleaned to an acceptable standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars operation daybreak, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Daybreak~region all import Timothy Bottoms~Martin Shaw~Joss Acland.. (DVD)
This is a good film/dvd however the quality of the dvd is very poor. This film was on tv last weekend and the quality of the picture was superior to that of the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why not re-issued, re-made, more seen?, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Operation Daybreak~region all import Timothy Bottoms~Martin Shaw~Joss Acland.. (DVD)
This film is superb. I first saw in over 30 years ago on TV. One of those fimls that gives you that lump in the throat and stays with you long after a viewing. Cannot believe its not availbale on a high quality DVD. This is a Korean import so quality is a bit grainy. When you consider the reissuing of so much drivel these days- this just has to be seen ...and while I am at it Why no big budget hollywood remake yet???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Gripping and Close to Historical Fact, 8 Sep 2012
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first saw this film when it was released in the 1970's on BBC1 and was fascinated. I then saw it again in the 80's on TV and was hooked on the story it told. Today as a student of modern history and University Lecturer of International Relations, I have a fascination with this period of history. Having studied in Prague and having listened to the tales of what the Nazis did to the peoples of what is now Czech Republic and Slovakia I wanted to buy this film to watch the killing of Heydrick one more time. I also have a historical fascination with Heydrick, as he was probably the man most likely to have replaced Hitler if the Nazi State had succeeded in its ambitions and had not collapsed in 1945. I searched for many years to try and get a copy of this film and finally bought it on Amazon.

This film tells the fascinating story of the assassination of one of the key men in the Nazi regime. It starts in England and follows the story of the brave Czech soldiers who were airlifted into the Czech Protectorate with the one aim of assassination. The story it tells is one of bravery and then mass murder, as the Nazi regime systematically goes about terrorising the nation until it finds the killers. There are some factual errors but they do not detract from the story.

The film itself was obviously shot on a low budget and filmed predominantly in Prague itself. The acting of Anton Diffring is suburb and you do feel he is Heydrick. Despite its low budget the film tells a fascinating story and is worth watching.

One word of advice, as stated by other reviewers, I bought a Korean copy where the German is not translated into English and there are no subtitles, which does distract from the film, as large swathes of Diffring's dialogue is not translated.

Great historically based film which does stick closely to the facts. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Dissapointment, 20 April 2012
By 
P. Aj Smith "book 1984" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb film based on true events, when I saw it on Cinema release I couldn't wait to have it in my collection. The Warner label have produced some excellent retrospective releases and this disc in picture quality and sound is as good as any of them. There is however one major problem with this disc, there are no English subtitles in the German speaking scenes which robs the charachter of Heydrich of any depth or perspective, Anton Differing is superb in this role, and Ronald Harwood's dialogue for Heydrich does so much to reveal his arrogance, charm,and magnetism, this is a major flaw in the enjoyment of this excellent film, one which mars the Korean DVD release as well. It is time for someone to release a DVD with the missing subtitles to do full justice to this excellent production,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews