Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got an Ipad & a Digital Camera? Then you MUST get one of these!!!
I picked up one of these from the airport, prior to a safari in Kenya.

The box comes complete with 2 "dongles" that you plug into the Ipad - 1 that has connection for USB lead & the other which supports SD cards.

The USB dongle is probably the more useful of the 2 if you have a digital SLR, as it lets you connect up to your camera and copy the photos...
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by smartyPants

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ipad connector
This doesn't work on my ipad. The ipad says that there is not enough power to transfer a photo of 4mb over, either from a camera direct(powered on), or from a USB stick with one jpg photo file on it Whether it needs a powered USB connector or not I don't know, but the effect is that this gadget doesn't always work for everyone.
Published on 7 Jun 2011 by Freeforall


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got an Ipad & a Digital Camera? Then you MUST get one of these!!!, 18 Jan 2012
By 
smartyPants "Smartypants" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
I picked up one of these from the airport, prior to a safari in Kenya.

The box comes complete with 2 "dongles" that you plug into the Ipad - 1 that has connection for USB lead & the other which supports SD cards.

The USB dongle is probably the more useful of the 2 if you have a digital SLR, as it lets you connect up to your camera and copy the photos from the memory card directly onto the Ipad. It also creates a specific folder with the date of the import.

To have had the ability to view photos at the end of each day on an Ipad was marvellous - after dinner we would sit around and flick through the days snaps and delete any we didn't like there and then. Sure, you can do this with the camera display, but it is so much easier on an Ipad as you can see so much more of the detail! This meant when we got home, we had a perfect set of pictures to upload to our collection on the PC, without having to spend hours and hours checking over the photos (which, lets be honest about it, rarely gets done because when you get back from holiday you have a million other distractions that mean it gets left!!!)

I was very pleased with Apples own device, but please note, there are 3rd party connectors available on Amazon etc, which are a lot cheaper, so it may be worth looking at the reviews that other people have contributed, before you decide which to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the official Apple Product, 2 April 2012
By 
J. W. B. Waddell "jimmyboy1" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
Some reviewers have said this is not the official Apple Camera Connection Kit. It is. It comes in white Apple packaging, with the silver Apple logo on the side, and is sealed in the clear plastic bags that all Apple connectors are packaged in. It also has the minimal Apple documentation as all Apple products have. On one side of each connector is printed "Designed by Apple in California" This kit is definitely made by Apple.

The product is superb. I have the new iPad (March 2012) and the connectors work a treat. The SD card reader is blindingly fast and it all just works. Plug it in, pop in the SD card, and your iPad automatically opens a window to transfers whichever photos you want into the iPad. So simple, so easy, so Apple.

The kit does not work with iPhone 4 but then it is designed for iPad. And with the advent of iCloud, iPhone functionality is not an option that most people require.

Excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takes the iPad into a bigger world, 3 Dec 2010
By 
Martin Turner "Martin Turner" (Marlcliff, Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
This is an important bit of kit for the iPad, because it lets you plug in a serious camera such as a Nikon D3, download the pictures, email them, upload them, or whatever else you want to do, and get on with shooting. For a professional photo shoot on location, it means you can check the images for focus and other flaws on a bigger screen without having to pack a laptop. Nikon used to sell a dedicated device for that, at several times the price of an iPad.

Since the advent of iOS 4.2 you can also use the USB connector for midi connection, with the appropriate app, and it can also (again, with the appropriate app) be used for getting sound in and out. Other uses are bound to follow, since Apple has obviously left some of the protocols open for this device.

All in all I'm very pleased to have this, though I would quite happily accept the USB port only, since I don't use SD cards. This appears to be priced at the bottom of Apple's range, though, and they may have decided that users wouldn't want it if it were just the USB.

When you see how small it is, you may baulk at the price. When you begin to use it and discover how useful it is, that price begins to seem irrelevant.

Recommended to all serious photographers who use an iPad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of Imitations, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
Be cautious of non-Apple camera connection kits.
======================================
I was very careful before purchasing this product. I searched Amazon and found cheaper products, however many of the reviews showed that customers were having problems. The main issue appeared to be that later versions IOS on the iPad would not allow data to be read from these products.

Compatibility and Import
===================
I can confirm that as of 14th of May 2012 with an iPad 3 with the IOS 5.1.1 update, the Apple connection kit works perfectly.

When I inserted the SD card adapter I was not quite sure of what I was going to be met with on screen. Immediately the iPad recognised the SD card and brought up an import screen so that I could bring in either my pictures or videos.

Price
====
In my opinion the price of this product is high, however unless you want to gamble with incompatibility issues I think it is a price that you have to pay to be sure. Also this product saves a lot of aggravation in having to always connect up to your main computer to transfer pictures and videos from cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works exactly as it should, 30 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
Like many other reviewers I feel that Apple should have included a SD card slot on the ipad2, and preferably a USB connector. However they didn't, and although the omission is irritating, this over-priced kit does the job well. I have tried it with SDHC cards and SD cards and it works fine. It does not work with SDXC cards however.
As far as the USB connector is concerned it works with my Canon 7D together with the Canon supplied USB cable, but so it should!
For other users of cameras that use Compact Flash cards, a worthwhile investment would be a CF Card/SDHC card adaptor, as this enables SDHC cards to be used in the camera, and then used in the Apple SD card part of this kit - otherwise you have to take both parts of the kit with you, together with the USB cable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect accessory to upload your photos whilst on holiday, 27 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
Very good item. You can upload your photos all in one go (and skip duplicates), and have the choice to keep them or delete them from the camera afterwards. The photos can then be sorted by date or upload, and be accessed directly on the iPad as a mass storage device to be copied or deleted (this is the only files you'll be able to access directly from your iPad in Windows XP without going through iTunes).

So all in all very useful piece of kit.

PS: I've got the iOS4.3 upgrade and this works no problem with my Canon camera...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 12 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
I agree with some other reviews that the iPad should really have an sd card reader as standard, but it doesn't so stop moaning. This adaptor works really well either with an sd card or just by hooking up your camera. I have a nikon D40 ( which uses SD ) and a Nikon D300 that uses CF cards. The D40 works just by inserting the card, the D300 works well by connecting up the USB cable. The interface is very good ( although it would be nice to zoom on the thumbnails, and it would also be nice to be able to specify album names ). Ignoring those minor issues I would say that if you ar a professional photographer and want to be able to review your pictures with a client or if you are, like me, a keen amateur then this is an absolute essential. NB it's only £26 directly from apple, with free delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars holiday essentials, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (melton mowbray leicester england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
Perfect for taking on holiday as they take up no room at all and it is only a two minute job to download pictures onto my ipad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good when available!, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
Well these little gadgets are absolutely fab, plug in your DSLR stick it n your IPad and off you go, pictures all downloaded quick smart!

Used it once, and as they are quite small units, I put them in a safe place and now can't remember where they are or find them.

It's not great being old and senile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ipad connector, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit (Personal Computers)
This doesn't work on my ipad. The ipad says that there is not enough power to transfer a photo of 4mb over, either from a camera direct(powered on), or from a USB stick with one jpg photo file on it Whether it needs a powered USB connector or not I don't know, but the effect is that this gadget doesn't always work for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

APPLE iPad Camera Connection Kit
£25.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews