Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trojan mod
excellent CD,40 tracks.
30% unknown to me
30% known
30% wanted to hear.
a few northen soul tracks also,which is not my style
but i quite enjoyed them.
best track is the very expensive VENIS-w.Francis
Published on 21 Aug 2010 by sta-press

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mod-reggae
Not a good start, when the first track on disc one skipped and kept on skipping.
Starting with track two works and there are some great tracks but rather more mod than reggae - which is a shame.
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by garth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars trojan mod, 21 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
excellent CD,40 tracks.
30% unknown to me
30% known
30% wanted to hear.
a few northen soul tracks also,which is not my style
but i quite enjoyed them.
best track is the very expensive VENIS-w.Francis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sounds and pressure mod reggae, 7 Aug 2010
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
well when i first heard it ,i thought this is what i have been waiting for from trojan ,,had all the other box sets (mod,skinhead.rock steady)but this is great and lot better music than the others ,really enjoying the great sounds i give this 8 out of 10 ,because there is still some great stuff that trojan can release but this is a one step in the right direction ,really glad i have bought it ,and really a great set of tracks for anybody in to ska ,,,buy it !!buy it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Sounds & Pressure Drop, 10 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
A real treat for early Ska, Soul and Trojan connoisseurs. Like previous reviewer, I have many of the original mod, skin etc box sets and wondered what this would actually have to offer when I first saw the title and cover. Plenty and then some is the answer. Unlike the three disc sets, which whilst offering great value in terms of quantity are often let down with their fair share of throwaway filler, this is real SELECTION with some real gems. The digital mastering is also superb and done in a tasteful way that hasn't digitised the very soul and raw dynamics out of it all. Compared to the sometimes muddy sounding quality of some of the earlier compilations all of this just sounds really full with all of the instrumentation crystal clear. Worth having in CD format when as usual, nice notes and inner mini book sleeve which you won't get as a download - does exactly what it says on the tin 'a musical feast for hipsters of all ages.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae CD, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Nicholas J. Bonett "Shipwright" (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
A great compendium of 60' and 70's Reggae music - reminds me of my youth in south London. Definitely recommended to all ex-Mods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Shook, Shimmy & Shake, 14 July 2010
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
Excellent selection of sounds - great value - 40 tracks covering various styles .... just right for summer parties
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars '69-'71 nostalgia, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
Brought back skinhead / suedehead days, "power to the people" and all that! Pity though that the movement got taken over by swastika-wearing biker-fascists!! Highly recommended:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, good delivery, 10 Jun 2013
By 
M. Zambellini (varese, italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
the roots of mod music in UK, a lot of rocksteady and jamaican rhythms pre-reggae. Pump the volume, listen and drink a pint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars trojan music, 15 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
this is another excellent cd from trojan a good cross over from mod to ska/rocksteady and for the price its a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile purchase, 5 Jun 2012
By 
C. Lomas "c lomas" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
An interesting selection of music from some (for me at least) lesser-known artists as well as some more familiar names. Some excellent, punchy numbers, although as you would expect from a 40-item selection, not every track is a stand-out. It is also correct to say that several tracks are not what could be called ska, rock steady or reggae, but soul. No matter though, the good stuff on this is really good, and it's worth buying for Llans Thewell & the Celestials' kicking version of 'The Good, The Bad & The Ugly'alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mod-reggae, 1 Nov 2010
This review is from: Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae (Audio CD)
Not a good start, when the first track on disc one skipped and kept on skipping.
Starting with track two works and there are some great tracks but rather more mod than reggae - which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae
Trojan Sounds & Pressure: Mod-Reggae by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews