Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hawkwind - blood of earth
After last years concert I was looking forward to hearing this new album. The snippets I'd heard of the tracks didn't disappoint. A great album, with a varied feel to the tracks. Its the first Hawkwind album I've bought for years & in my humble opinion its a real return to form. The packaging is excellent as well :-)
Published on 15 Sep 2010 by stevek

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...another spacerock curate's egg...
It's been a long time since a new Hawkwind release had me shivering in anticipation. I still remember the massive disappointment when Distant Horizons arrived, and their limited output since then has been a pale shadow of what had gone before.

First things first. The marketing is pure evil. It's out as a single CD and as a limited edition double CD. Fair...
Published on 12 July 2010 by Mr. H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hawkwind - blood of earth, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
After last years concert I was looking forward to hearing this new album. The snippets I'd heard of the tracks didn't disappoint. A great album, with a varied feel to the tracks. Its the first Hawkwind album I've bought for years & in my humble opinion its a real return to form. The packaging is excellent as well :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood of Hawkwind, 18 July 2010
By 
Ms. M. A. Cameron (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
I'm not going to elaborate too much as regards this recent release, other Hawkwind fans have already contributed very worthy reviews so I just want to tell it as it is, brief and to the point.

I bought both CD releases as I've always tried to be very supportive of the band in every little way I can, they deserve it. Apart from having to practically fight to open the box on the double disc issue, the packaging/art is top notch, full marks there.

I was slightly disappointed with the studio effort at first...but wait for it, it's a real grower and I think they have delivered with this and rediscovered their vigour, just give it a chance. Personal favourite has to be 'Comfy Chair', it's got Dave Brock written all over it and has that acoustic/hot electronic feel that dominates earlier classics like 'Space is Deep'/'Demented Man'/We took the wrong step years ago', builds beautifully. 'Wraith' is a real stomper, it has that traditional 'Magnu'/'Angels of Death' kick in the guts feel about it.

It's the 'Live' disc that really has balls and doesn't let up enough to allow the listener to take a breath, it's outstanding, I was in awe the first time I listened to this, it really blew me away. I'd like to say the drive here washes over you, but it's more like being flattened by a steamroller, they actually play with the hard enthusiasm of a band far far younger.

It's a bloody good buy, fab in every way, ten out of ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood, beauty, boldness and blanga, 16 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
Although I've reviewed the single CD version the addition of the live CD in this version gives me a chance to witter away again and consider the value of the live material.

I'm not going to exactly repeat myself but I've now listened to the studio album numerous times. The standout tracks are the heavy rock of Wraith, with it's more techno rock central section, the beautiful instrumental Green Machine, Tim Blake's Inner Vision, Comfey Chair where more beauty lies, You'd Better believe It which really pounds along with great style although the quiet middle doesn't join so well with the rest, and the even more beautiful Sentinel which for me is the best track. All the band members are throwing themselves into the mix with great boldness. Prometheus seems to be getting good reviews but I find it a bit of a heavy rock plodder and my least favourite of the new songs. However the very messy rework of Sweet Obsession is by far the worst track on the album. It's true that Seahawks and Blood of the Earth are not the strongest openers but it's pounding beat and bass and ambient finish leading into the short ambient Blood of The Earth gives both tracks merit.

As I write the MP3 download includes the bonus track from the single CD, Starshine although Amazon have called it Sunship (a bonus on the vinyl version).

For the live CD we get a short spoken version of Space is Deep over ambient synths, an extremely heavy version of Angels of Death, a good live version of Wraith, Tim Blake's more restrained Tide of the Century which is pretty decent, the best part with more very heavy rock of Magnu leading into a rather splendid version of the mid section of Brainbox Pollution, more heaviness with Levitation, a cover of Syd Barret's Long Gone and Interview which is not really an interview. It's a collection sound snippets, voices and the band talking now and again. Very bizarre. Very pointless. The sound quality on the live tracks is fine, the band are playing with gusto and I think Hawkwind fans will like this a lot. Levellers violin man John Sevink is apparently guesting on the live tracks though I could only detect violin on Angels of Death. Overall a very worthwhile live CD backing a largely excellent studio album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 16 July 2010
By 
Joolz (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Audio CD)
Recent Hawkwind albums have tended to be patchy and inconsistent affairs but Blood Of The Earth sounds more coherent, though still containing a healthy mix of styles from atmospheric beauty [Green Machine], through techno [Inner Vision], to powerhouse blanga [Wraith], with the opening 4 tracks sounding as if they were conceived as a self-contained suite. My favourites are the slow-paced space ballad Sentinel, and especially Prometheus, a superb heavier ballad with some wonderful guitar work.

One or two negative issues: I feel Dibs' singing voice is merely adequate [3 tracks]; 2 old songs re-recorded is really 2 too many, even if they are both pretty good; the bonus track Starshine is a rambling ambient instrumental that does nothing for me.

Overall, though, it is a good album, with a family resemblance to Distant Horizons and definitely a return to form after a couple of disappointments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmistakeably Hawkwind, 13 July 2010
By 
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
After a five year wait I was looking forward to this album, and overall I think there's plenty here to show Hawkwind still have the inventiveness that has made them one of the great maverick bands. Whilst not in the same league as the incomparable 73 Space Ritual album, this is still very listenable. Track One and the title track are perhaps a little abstract, in places being slightly 'Krautrock'. Wraith is stronger and Green Machine is a very nice slice of Hawkwind's often lesser known melodic side. Inner Visions is a little darker with some nice riffing and synth. Sweet Obsession is a lighter,faster and catchier number with classic Brock vocals. Comfy Chair has a Syd Barrett-esque opening which leads in to a spacy latter half. Prometheus has an arabic flavour with a definite prog feel. The reworking of You Better Believe it is, in my mind, well worthwhile - not better but different. The studio disc closes with Sentinel, a strong track with 70s overtones.
The bonus Live CD is a good taste of the band's live prowess, with an excellent version of Angels of Death and Levitation. The reworking of Magnu is also rather good. The only criticism of the live CD is the Interview 2010 track - would have been better to have a straight interview video or some band footage if space was available
All in all a decent album and I look forward to more new material from this incarnation of the band/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Needed more sweat and tears, 14 July 2010
By 
Tony Jones "Tony" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
First off, if you are a Hawk fan (and I assume you must be) then you buy this version with the live (un-attributed but recent) CD and (maybe) download Starshine from the single-CD from Amazon as an MP3, job done; or if you are very serious buy both albums (not recommended).

The studio album is a mix of a couple of old bits, some ambient stuff and some material by Mr Dibs. A lot of this has been heard in 2008/2009 gigs, incuding Porchester Hall (which gets a mention in the booklet). Of these three every time I hear Wraith I become more certain that it is very influenced by Paul Wheller in his Jam days. Similarly the Blake track I have heard.

The material as a whole is ok, covers a range and whilst this isn't up to say Black Sword what we have is the whole ensemble (as they are when they recorded) having a go and adding to the mix. A bit more direction and this might have been a memorable album apart from well played and worth a listen.

The live set ranges across the new and the old and benefits from the violinist and all the synth / keyboard.

Sound quality is nothing special, packaging is nice and the boys are still going (ok Dave) more than 40 years later!

You know you're going to buy it, so get on with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Amazon Review is quite frankly wrong!!!, 28 July 2010
By 
Andrew M. Davies (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
I dont know what the reviewer was listening to or if he has odd shaped ears (Vulcan?) but he cant have listened to the same album as me!
This is a great album, how much more rocking can you get than Wraith? This is the classic Riff track that makes you drive too fast and can certainly match some of the classic Hawkwind Tracks. The album has a slow start with Seahawks and then gets even slower with Blood of the Earth ( this type of track really needs to be either put in a concept album or the bin and is the only reason I couldnt give 5 stars) but then Wraith explodes through the speakers. Green machine gives us a chance to catch our breath with a great chill out sound before Inner visions starts moving us up a gear again. Sweet Obsession keeps us trundling along with a chorus that sticks in your mind for hours afterwards. Time to calm down again with Comfy chair but this is deceptive as it really builds. I love this track. Prometheus gives us some classic steady rock with Sitar's, before we get the updated version of You Better Believe it. Others seem to be critical of reworks but I think they did a great job here. Finaly we end with another stonking track in Sentinal. Then as a bonus you get the live album. Terrific!
This is the best Hawkind Album in years, buy it you wont be dissapointed.

Great job done

Oh BTW Mr BBC reviewer, get your ears tested
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great album!!!, 19 July 2010
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
bought the single CD version of this album and i have to say it is great! i am only 24 so do not know about the older material and this is my first new hawkwind album, but i have bot been disappointed. i do however think that some of the vocals could have been a tiny bit better(every song is sung well but some are only good rather than excellent) the bonus track is an instrumental which is played brilliantly and 'prometheus' is superb!!!(i played that track three times!!!) all in all aside from some slightly under par vocals this album is great!- by the way if anyone wants to know this album made number 22 in the UK Indie charts and has been in that chart for 4 weeks now!(it hit it's peak position this week) well done lads!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vintage hawkwind, 24 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
I'm driven to write a review partly because i have listened to this virtually non stop since its release, and partly because i'm just a bit miffed at the Amazon review, grrr!
I cant give it 5 stars because Space Ritual will always be their masterpiece and also Warriors, In search of Space, and Doremi also well deserving of 5 star status. So... on that basis this new release gets 4, but this is only because i am comparing it with other classic hawkwind. But let the truth be known, this is vintage stuff, and a very good album indeed. But sorry, Amazon, but to suggest this is this sign of a band running out of steam and grounding to the halt is not on. So to any true Hawkwind fan (they are my favourite band of all time- and yes they have done some crap) who is left with second thoughts on buying this, I say go buy and don't be put off by the amazon review. Its all there, there are moments of vintage 70's Hawkwind, but interestingly it sits very comfortably with Alien4 as a companion piece, listening to those 2 albums back to back is, er well, quite a trip man! Hawkwind return with an excellent album, its beautiful in places, dark and forbidding in others, and true to any Hawkwind album theres plenty of mind melting riffs to send shivers up your spine. I was worried that they were loosing it, I wasnt impressed with their Knights in Space release last year, but now i am a happy man again. The Hawks are flying high again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...another spacerock curate's egg..., 12 July 2010
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Blood Of The Earth (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
It's been a long time since a new Hawkwind release had me shivering in anticipation. I still remember the massive disappointment when Distant Horizons arrived, and their limited output since then has been a pale shadow of what had gone before.

First things first. The marketing is pure evil. It's out as a single CD and as a limited edition double CD. Fair enough, apart from the fact that there's a bonus track on the single CD version. So if Hawkwind fanatics (and let's face it, every Hawkwind fan is a fanatic) want a complete collection of songs, they have to pony up for that version as well. Oh, and the vinyl version also has an exclusive track. Evil.

It's also been five years since they last released a studio album - Take Me To Your Leader - so you would have hoped that they might have managed to come up with enough music to fill out an album. Well they haven't, so 12 minutes of studio time are taken up revisiting "You'd Better Believe It" from its 1974 album Hall Of The Mountain Grill and "Sweet Obsession," which was originally on the Dave Brock solo album Earthed To The Ground, released in 1984.

So far, unimpressive. And album opener "Seahawks" does little to change that view. A generic piece of synth-rock, the kind of thing that Hawkwind have been punting out for eons now, it really is dull and uninteresting. Strange to relate then, that once the title track is over and done with, things start to get a whole lot more interesting. And I'm sure it's no coincidence that it's also the first track where new guitarist Niall Hone, formerly of Tribe Of Cro, gets credited alongside all the other members, apart from sole remaining member and founder Dave Brock. It's the first suggestion that maybe, just maybe, Hawkwind have remembered that they invented space rock.

It's back to the synthesiser for "Green Machine," as former Gong man Tim Blake adds the swooshes to the ambient guitar lines in fine fashion before the obligatory bleeps turn up in "Inner Visions," along with the de rigeur Hawkwind Middle Eastern influences. Then there are three tracks in a row without a Dave Brock writing credit, and all the better for it.

The album highlight is "Prometheus," another band co-written track which mines Middle Eastern influences. This one has a style and panache too often missing from Hawkwind releases over the last fifteen years.

On the downside, the production leaves something to be desired, as it's far too muddy, especially on the largely unlistenable rerun of "You'd Better Believe It." But when the newish band are allowed to stretch out and investigate their potential on their own material, then it's very much a return to form.

Over on the live CD, you won't be surprised to learn that no recording details are given. After all, this is Hawkwind, where shoddy is a lifestyle. There's only a cardboard box, a foldout digipack and a 24-page booklet included, so how could you expect pesky details to get in the way? It's also not a full-length live CD, as you're getting a studio cover version of the Syd Barrett tune "Long Gone," which was given away free with Mojo magazine earlier in the year, and a band interview that's barely discernible amongst the 'wacky' special effects.. The live material is good enough, and a lot better than some of the archive material that's been spewed out over the last decade, with a pretty good version of "Angels Of Death" being the standout.

It's very much a curate's egg, as there is a good album lurking in here somewhere. If they'd had the courage of their convictions, dumped the old songs, and allowed the new band to have their head, who knows? This could have been a contender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews