Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American Rebel
The "James Dean - The Complete Collection" is a must-have for all James Dean fans, and for anyone who enjoys and appreciates great cinema. This terrific six-disc set, coated in gorgeous packaging, includes all three of Dean's landmark films ("East Of Eden," "Rebel Without A Cause," "Giant") and is jam-packed with extras (sit back and enjoy numerous documentaries, screen...
Published on 20 Feb 2011 by Tony

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Came broken
Im sure the films are brilliant but I couldn't get a chance to actually watch them because the box came with the cd cases broken! The whole box was rattling. Very disappointing :( Doesn't give the option to replace so I have to refund. I guess ill have to find the films elsewhere...
Published 2 months ago by Alice


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The American Rebel, 20 Feb 2011
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The "James Dean - The Complete Collection" is a must-have for all James Dean fans, and for anyone who enjoys and appreciates great cinema. This terrific six-disc set, coated in gorgeous packaging, includes all three of Dean's landmark films ("East Of Eden," "Rebel Without A Cause," "Giant") and is jam-packed with extras (sit back and enjoy numerous documentaries, screen tests, additional scenes, and behind-the-scenes footage). All three features have been remastered and are now brought to you in a new digital transfer, ultimately revitalizing the James Dean experience for the viewer. Picture quality is truly spectacular. The fuzzy VHS transfer is a thing of the past, now replaced with a clean, crisp image that is full of detail and bursting with color. Put simply, folks, picture of this clarity, given its era, is too good to pass up.

With the completion of just three feature films before his tragic and untimely death, James Byron Dean, a charming and eccentric young actor, is now a cultural icon; the man who formulated a new level of movie star. He was a remarkable talent, and it's time for you to witness that talent like never before!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Film At Its Best, 27 Aug 2011
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bought this DVD collection on impulse whilst browsing amazon one day, having never seen any James Dean movies I guess I was a little curious and I have to say I really enjoyed all three movies. Suprisingly they each addressed all kinds of controversial issues at such a conservative time (gang culture, juvenile delinquency, fixed gender roles, racial intolerance, single parenthood), James Deans raw talent, charisma and impossibly perfect good looks brings so much to the characters he portrays. The tragic circumstances surrounding his death before the release of the movies adds a touch of mysticism. Each DVD also contains special features including documentries, casting footage and deleated scenes giving you more for your money. I no longer need to question who James Dean was and why he is such a cultural icon. I strongly recommend this hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New James Dean fan., 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a great box set and well worth the money I might add. James Dean tragically only lived long enough to make three films but they show what a talented actor he was, we can only guess as to what great things he might have gone on to.
Some see Dean as a Marlon Brando imitator, whilst Dean was heavily influenced by great Brando he is much more than an imitator, he had a style of his own full of emotion and subtle rage.

East of Eden was my favorite of the three films, Rebel Without a Cause is a classic which I also enjoyed. Giant, in my opinion was a good film but not as good as the other two, Dean only plays a bit part and at over three hours the film can get a bit boring. However it does show that Dean could convincingly play a more mature part and wasn't just fit for playing teenage rebels. As his character ages Dean's performace becomes no less convincing.
Also the box set contains many extras such as screen tests, deleted scenes and two very good documentaries on James Dean.
Before I bought the box set I didn't quite get James Dean but now I would call myself a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you are a huge James Dean fan - or just a true fan of everything that goes into the world of movies, this set is a must have. It's my new pride when it comes to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cult hero, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Js Macdonald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you like old films then James Dean is the one to watch, such heart rendering stories played by a young who's own personal life was so tragic, which is probably why he played the characters with such emotion, well worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good recording, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Excellent movies with supreme picture quality considering the year of production.
James Dean will always live in peoples memories.
East of Eden touches the hearts of many who have been misunderstood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars James Dean, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
there will be always one James Dean, the star who left us at the beginning of his professional life and only God knows what would happen if he was to continue and star in films that will prove a landmark for Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars iconic movies, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
great collection of iconic movie stars and short life of american idol jimmy dean,all his classic movies as not made that many as his untimely death in car crash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Dean, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Very GOOD set of films a shame he only got to make so few, a good watch for any generation, standing the test of time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 6 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Richard Evans (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Refreshingly cuss free, classic performances by some of the " Hollywood Greats". Ideal cold wet, can't be bothered to go out Sunday afternoon entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

James Dean: The Complete James Dean Collection [DVD] [2005]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews